Can a creature be stunned twice at once from two different sources?
For instance, if a creature is stunned by Mind Flayer A, can Mind Flayer B still blast him to apply the stunned condition? And if so, would the creature have to repeat the saving throws to recover from both stuns?
Escaping a grapple requires two different checks, for example.
This applies to other effects. What if a creature is affected by two Hold Monster spells?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Blood Frenzy. The quipper has advantage on melee attack rolls against any creature that doesn't have all its hit points.
Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 1 piercing damage.
Can a creature be stunned twice at once from two different sources?
For instance, if a creature is stunned by Mind Flayer A, can Mind Flayer B still blast him to apply the stunned condition? And if so, would the creature have to repeat the saving throws to recover from both stuns?
Escaping a grapple requires two different checks, for example.
This applies to other effects. What if a creature is affected by two Hold Monster spells?
You can only be under the same effect/condition once. So, if one person casts Hold Person/Monster on you and another casts Hold Person/Monster on you - while they all still have to maintain concentration, you make only one saving throw and on success end the effect - ending both spells.
The only condition that applies more than once is Exhaustion as a special case as it has multiple levels of effect.
Grappling does not require two different checks. It's a special attack, - to apply or escape grapple there is a Skill Contest of the grappler's Strength (Athletics) against the target's choice of either Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
No you can not be effected by the same condition twice. you have to take the higher of the effect ratings.
The rules say: "If multiple effects impose the same condition on a creature, each instance of the condition has its own duration, but the condition’s effects don’t get worse."
No you can not be effected by the same condition twice. you have to take the higher of the effect ratings.
The rules say: "If multiple effects impose the same condition on a creature, each instance of the condition has its own duration, but the condition’s effects don’t get worse."
Right. So in the Mind Flayer example, looks like that'd be two saving throws to end the Stunned condition.
Brutal.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Blood Frenzy. The quipper has advantage on melee attack rolls against any creature that doesn't have all its hit points.
Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 1 piercing damage.
While you can definitely be subjected to the same condition by two separate effects, I think two effects with the same name generally do not stack. That is at least how it works with spells. If a second copy of the same effect lands on the same target, then the "stronger" of the two takes precedence.
So a second Mind Blast from a mind flayer would just extend the duration, not require another save to shake off. If a higher level mind flayer hit you, then the DC to end the effect would come from the stronger enemy.
However, if some different spell or effect was also applying the Stunned condition, then you could indeed need to make two saving throws to end the effect(s). But the two copies of the Stunned condition do not combine in any way - it is the same as a single Stunned condition.
While you can definitely be subjected to the same condition by two separate effects, I think two effects with the same name generally do not stack. That is at least how it works with spells. If a second copy of the same effect lands on the same target, then the "stronger" of the two takes precedence.
With spells, the condition doesn't stack but the two spells have their own durations.
From PHB: "The effects of different spells add together while the durations of those spells overlap. The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine, however. lnstead, the most potent effect-such as the highest bonus-from those castings applies while their durations overlap. For example, if two clerics cast bless on the same target, that character gains the spell's benefit only once; he or she doesn't get to roll two bonus dice."
So a second Mind Blast from a mind flayer would just extend the duration, not require another save to shake off. If a higher level mind flayer hit you, then the DC to end the effect would come from the stronger enemy.
But the durations are both ongoing? Why not two saves?
However, if some different spell or effect was also applying the Stunned condition, then you could indeed need to make two saving throws to end the effect(s). But the two copies of the Stunned condition do not combine in any way - it is the same as a single Stunned condition.
That doesn't make sense to me given your previous statement. After all, the Stunned condition doesn't stack but the durations do. So it shouldn't make a difference if it comes from the same named ability or not.
After all, one can be grappled with two instances of ongoing grappling, but the effects of the grapple don't get worse even if it is then harder to break out of the grappled condition. Same thing with nets.
So this has been helpful, but the way I read it is that a creature would need to make two separate saves to break out of the Stunned condition.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Blood Frenzy. The quipper has advantage on melee attack rolls against any creature that doesn't have all its hit points.
Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 1 piercing damage.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can a creature be stunned twice at once from two different sources?
For instance, if a creature is stunned by Mind Flayer A, can Mind Flayer B still blast him to apply the stunned condition? And if so, would the creature have to repeat the saving throws to recover from both stuns?
Escaping a grapple requires two different checks, for example.
This applies to other effects. What if a creature is affected by two Hold Monster spells?
Blood Frenzy. The quipper has advantage on melee attack rolls against any creature that doesn't have all its hit points.
Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 1 piercing damage.
No you can not be effected by the same condition twice. you have to take the higher of the effect ratings.
You can only be under the same effect/condition once. So, if one person casts Hold Person/Monster on you and another casts Hold Person/Monster on you - while they all still have to maintain concentration, you make only one saving throw and on success end the effect - ending both spells.
The only condition that applies more than once is Exhaustion as a special case as it has multiple levels of effect.
Grappling does not require two different checks. It's a special attack, - to apply or escape grapple there is a Skill Contest of the grappler's Strength (Athletics) against the target's choice of either Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics).
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
The rules say: "If multiple effects impose the same condition on a creature, each instance of the condition has its own duration, but the condition’s effects don’t get worse."
Right. So in the Mind Flayer example, looks like that'd be two saving throws to end the Stunned condition.
Brutal.
Blood Frenzy. The quipper has advantage on melee attack rolls against any creature that doesn't have all its hit points.
Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 1 piercing damage.
While you can definitely be subjected to the same condition by two separate effects, I think two effects with the same name generally do not stack. That is at least how it works with spells. If a second copy of the same effect lands on the same target, then the "stronger" of the two takes precedence.
So a second Mind Blast from a mind flayer would just extend the duration, not require another save to shake off. If a higher level mind flayer hit you, then the DC to end the effect would come from the stronger enemy.
However, if some different spell or effect was also applying the Stunned condition, then you could indeed need to make two saving throws to end the effect(s). But the two copies of the Stunned condition do not combine in any way - it is the same as a single Stunned condition.
With spells, the condition doesn't stack but the two spells have their own durations.
From PHB: "The effects of different spells add together while the durations of those spells overlap. The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine, however. lnstead, the most potent effect-such as the highest bonus-from those castings applies while their durations overlap.
For example, if two clerics cast bless on the same target, that character gains the spell's benefit only once; he or she doesn't get to roll two bonus dice."
But the durations are both ongoing? Why not two saves?
That doesn't make sense to me given your previous statement. After all, the Stunned condition doesn't stack but the durations do. So it shouldn't make a difference if it comes from the same named ability or not.
After all, one can be grappled with two instances of ongoing grappling, but the effects of the grapple don't get worse even if it is then harder to break out of the grappled condition. Same thing with nets.
So this has been helpful, but the way I read it is that a creature would need to make two separate saves to break out of the Stunned condition.
Blood Frenzy. The quipper has advantage on melee attack rolls against any creature that doesn't have all its hit points.
Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 1 piercing damage.