I need clarity on mechanics for a game I'm running. One of my players, who currently has a Rod of Security in possession, poised a hypothetical question:
If a creature who is inside the paradise plane of aRod of Security has Dimensional Shackles on, does that creature get stuck in the Rod of Security's plane?
an excerpt from each:
Dimensional Shackles: the shackles prevent a creature bound by them from using any method of extradimensional movement, including teleportation or travel to a different plane of existence. They don't prevent the creature from passing through an interdimensional portal.
Rod of Security: While holding this rod, you can use an action to activate it. The rod then instantly transports you and up to 199 other willing creatures you can see to a paradise that exists in an extraplanar space.You choose the form that the paradise takes. It could be a tranquil garden, lovely glade, cheery tavern, immense palace, tropical island, fantastic carnival, or whatever else you can imagine. ... ... When the time runs out or you use an action to end it, all visitors reappear in the location they occupied when you activated the rod, or an unoccupied space nearest that location. The rod can't be used again until ten days have passed
There are a few specific questions that this brings up:
1) Does the paradise plane of a Rod of Security disappear when the spell ends?
2) Does the Dimensional Shackles act like a Dimensional Anchor or does it simply disable the bound creature from using spells?
3) Can one bound by dimensional shackles be the target of a planar-transportation spell such as banish?
4) Can the Rod of Security create magic items within its plane? IE: if the Dimensional Shackles don't already exist, but you imagine that the paradise plane has the shackles in it does that technically work with the written mechanics of Rod of Security?
The way I interpret what is written: the shackled creature can't use any teleportation, but the rod of security pushes all creatures out at the end of the spell without their consent. The creature is ejected from the paradise plane while still shackled.
The way my player interprets it: the shackles don't allow any interplaner travel, thus they can't be pushed out of the pocket plane - either trapping or destroying the creature.
I ultimately have the decision as DM, but I'm trying to settle this dispute fairly.
I need clarity on mechanics for a game I'm running. One of my players, who currently has a Rod of Security in possession, poised a hypothetical question:
If a creature who is inside the paradise plane of aRod of Security has Dimensional Shackles on, does that creature get stuck in the Rod of Security's plane?
an excerpt from each:
Dimensional Shackles: the shackles prevent a creature bound by them from using any method of extradimensional movement, including teleportation or travel to a different plane of existence. They don't prevent the creature from passing through an interdimensional portal.
Rod of Security: While holding this rod, you can use an action to activate it. The rod then instantly transports you and up to 199 other willing creatures you can see to a paradise that exists in an extraplanar space.You choose the form that the paradise takes. It could be a tranquil garden, lovely glade, cheery tavern, immense palace, tropical island, fantastic carnival, or whatever else you can imagine. ... ... When the time runs out or you use an action to end it, all visitors reappear in the location they occupied when you activated the rod, or an unoccupied space nearest that location. The rod can't be used again until ten days have passed
There are a few specific questions that this brings up:
1) Does the paradise plane of a Rod of Security disappear when the spell ends?
2) Does the Dimensional Shackles act like a Dimensional Anchor or does it simply disable the bound creature from using spells?
3) Can one bound by dimensional shackles be the target of a planar-transportation spell such as banish?
4) Can the Rod of Security create magic items within its plane? IE: if the Dimensional Shackles don't already exist, but you imagine that the paradise plane has the shackles in it does that technically work with the written mechanics of Rod of Security?
The way I interpret what is written: the shackled creature can't use any teleportation, but the rod of security pushes all creatures out at the end of the spell without their consent. The creature is ejected from the paradise plane while still shackled.
The way my player interprets it: the shackles don't allow any interplaner travel, thus they can't be pushed out of the pocket plane - either trapping or destroying the creature.
I ultimately have the decision as DM, but I'm trying to settle this dispute fairly.
as far as I can tell....
they would be trapped in the rod of security place. But they’d have to be bound there with the shackles. They can walk through portals while shackles but that’s the ONLY method they can do so to move between planes and dimensions.
I don't think the rules and mechanics give very clear answers to these. I'd go with:
1) Does the paradise plane of a Rod of Security disappear when the spell ends?
Yes. Wouldn't make sense to me if there's literally a plane with anything you can imagine in existence, and it wouldn't make sense for Rod of Security to just generate endless permanent extraplanar spaces, so I would interpret that as an extraplanar space being created and then removed from existence when the rod of security is used.
2) Does the Dimensional Shackles act like a Dimensional Anchor or does it simply disable the bound creature from using spells?
I would interpret it as the former. It prevents interplanar travel, not spellcasting - so the creature could still cast a spell on someone *else*, but that same spell would fail if cast on the creature wearing the shackles.
3) Can one bound by dimensional shackles be the target of a planar-transportation spell such as banish?
I would go with no.
4) Can the Rod of Security create magic items within its plane? IE: if the Dimensional Shackles don't already exist, but you imagine that the paradise plane has the shackles in it does that technically work with the written mechanics of Rod of Security?
I would go with no. This one is from a balance perspective - I don't think being able get a Rod of Security means you get to raise all your stats as high as you want by generating paradises filled with Tomes of various kinds (Tome of Understanding, Tome of Leadership and Influence, etc.), spy on everyone in the world by generating a paradise filled with "Wand Of (divination spell of your choice)", or hell, reshape the entire universe to your whims by generating a paradise with a million Ring of Three Wishes. The simplest way to avoid that is by saying the rod of security generates a paradise of the form you imagine, but doesn't follow your exact specs and does not generate magic items for you.
The way I interpret what is written: the shackled creature can't use any teleportation, but the rod of security pushes all creatures out at the end of the spell without their consent. The creature is ejected from the paradise plane while still shackled.
The way my player interprets it: the shackles don't allow any interplaner travel, thus they can't be pushed out of the pocket plane - either trapping or destroying the creature.
I ultimately have the decision as DM, but I'm trying to settle this dispute fairly.
I would say that the extraplanar space ceases to exist, so the shackled creature HAS to leave it one way or the other, regardless of what the shackles say. There's no way for it to stay in that space. So where would it go? Well, I'd say it reappears "in the location [it] occupied when you activated the rod, or an unoccupied space nearest that location."
It's like shackling someone to a wall. It physically prevents the person from leaving that wall! But if the wall ceases to exist, there's nothing left to be shackled to.
I don't think the rules and mechanics give very clear answers to these. I'd go with:
1) Does the paradise plane of a Rod of Security disappear when the spell ends?
Yes. Wouldn't make sense to me if there's literally a plane with anything you can imagine in existence, and it wouldn't make sense for Rod of Security to just generate endless permanent extraplanar spaces, so I would interpret that as an extraplanar space being created and then removed from existence when the rod of security is used.
2) Does the Dimensional Shackles act like a Dimensional Anchor or does it simply disable the bound creature from using spells?
I would interpret it as the former. It prevents interplanar travel, not spellcasting - so the creature could still cast a spell on someone *else*, but that same spell would fail if cast on the creature wearing the shackles.
3) Can one bound by dimensional shackles be the target of a planar-transportation spell such as banish?
I would go with no.
4) Can the Rod of Security create magic items within its plane? IE: if the Dimensional Shackles don't already exist, but you imagine that the paradise plane has the shackles in it does that technically work with the written mechanics of Rod of Security?
I would go with no. This one is from a balance perspective - I don't think being able get a Rod of Security means you get to raise all your stats as high as you want by generating paradises filled with Tomes of various kinds (Tome of Understanding, Tome of Leadership and Influence, etc.), spy on everyone in the world by generating a paradise filled with "Wand Of (divination spell of your choice)", or hell, reshape the entire universe to your whims by generating a paradise with a million Ring of Three Wishes. The simplest way to avoid that is by saying the rod of security generates a paradise of the form you imagine, but doesn't follow your exact specs and does not generate magic items for you.
The way I interpret what is written: the shackled creature can't use any teleportation, but the rod of security pushes all creatures out at the end of the spell without their consent. The creature is ejected from the paradise plane while still shackled.
The way my player interprets it: the shackles don't allow any interplaner travel, thus they can't be pushed out of the pocket plane - either trapping or destroying the creature.
I ultimately have the decision as DM, but I'm trying to settle this dispute fairly.
I would say that the extraplanar space ceases to exist, so the shackled creature HAS to leave it one way or the other, regardless of what the shackles say. There's no way for it to stay in that space. So where would it go? Well, I'd say it reappears "in the location [it] occupied when you activated the rod, or an unoccupied space nearest that location."
It's like shackling someone to a wall. It physically prevents the person from leaving that wall! But if the wall ceases to exist, there's nothing left to be shackled to.
They go the way of some of the traps in ToA.
dont get dimensionally shackled in time limited fictional planes if you want to live a long life.
edit: if they wanted people dimensionally trapped there to be juxtaposed out when it ended... and not just disappear into oblivion forever, they’d of put it in as a clause.
I need clarity on mechanics for a game I'm running. One of my players, who currently has a Rod of Security in possession, poised a hypothetical question:
If a creature who is inside the paradise plane of a Rod of Security has Dimensional Shackles on, does that creature get stuck in the Rod of Security's plane?
an excerpt from each:
There are a few specific questions that this brings up:
1) Does the paradise plane of a Rod of Security disappear when the spell ends?
2) Does the Dimensional Shackles act like a Dimensional Anchor or does it simply disable the bound creature from using spells?
3) Can one bound by dimensional shackles be the target of a planar-transportation spell such as banish?
4) Can the Rod of Security create magic items within its plane? IE: if the Dimensional Shackles don't already exist, but you imagine that the paradise plane has the shackles in it does that technically work with the written mechanics of Rod of Security?
I ultimately have the decision as DM, but I'm trying to settle this dispute fairly.
as far as I can tell....
they would be trapped in the rod of security place. But they’d have to be bound there with the shackles. They can walk through portals while shackles but that’s the ONLY method they can do so to move between planes and dimensions.
Blank
Yes. Wouldn't make sense to me if there's literally a plane with anything you can imagine in existence, and it wouldn't make sense for Rod of Security to just generate endless permanent extraplanar spaces, so I would interpret that as an extraplanar space being created and then removed from existence when the rod of security is used.
I would interpret it as the former. It prevents interplanar travel, not spellcasting - so the creature could still cast a spell on someone *else*, but that same spell would fail if cast on the creature wearing the shackles.
I would go with no.
I would go with no. This one is from a balance perspective - I don't think being able get a Rod of Security means you get to raise all your stats as high as you want by generating paradises filled with Tomes of various kinds (Tome of Understanding, Tome of Leadership and Influence, etc.), spy on everyone in the world by generating a paradise filled with "Wand Of (divination spell of your choice)", or hell, reshape the entire universe to your whims by generating a paradise with a million Ring of Three Wishes. The simplest way to avoid that is by saying the rod of security generates a paradise of the form you imagine, but doesn't follow your exact specs and does not generate magic items for you.
I would say that the extraplanar space ceases to exist, so the shackled creature HAS to leave it one way or the other, regardless of what the shackles say. There's no way for it to stay in that space. So where would it go? Well, I'd say it reappears "in the location [it] occupied when you activated the rod, or an unoccupied space nearest that location."
It's like shackling someone to a wall. It physically prevents the person from leaving that wall! But if the wall ceases to exist, there's nothing left to be shackled to.
They go the way of some of the traps in ToA.
dont get dimensionally shackled in time limited fictional planes if you want to live a long life.
edit: if they wanted people dimensionally trapped there to be juxtaposed out when it ended... and not just disappear into oblivion forever, they’d of put it in as a clause.
Blank
This is a bit of a tricky interaction. The rod doesn't suggest the space is temporary. And the shackles allow the use of portals.
It is up to you as a DM. I wouldn't want it used as a prison dimension, so I would have them forced out, but that is just me and not based on rules.
We now solved what happened to the prisoners from Krypton in Superman.
Blank
I mean, you could just have it jettison them into the Astral Plane. Fun for everyone involved.
Partway through the quest for absolute truth.