In our campaign, our sorcerer cast polymorph on herself and our bard, using twinned spell. Shortly after, an enemy plane shifted the Bard to the feywild. We rolled on the table and time for the Bard is minutes on the material plane become days in the feywild. The sorcerer ended polymorph about 1 minute later. Would the polymorph on the Bard last 1 hour or 1 day? How would you rule the duration of an effect when the caster is on a different plane with a different time function?
The rules do not discuss this situation specifically, and the rules on spell duration don’t draw any distinction between “time as experienced by the object of a concentration spell” and “time as experienced by the concentrator,” so I think by RAW we just have to take the duration of Polymorph at face value. It is concentration, up to one hour, so it ends after it has persisted for one hour or when concentration is broken, whichever comes first, and this determination is made for each object individually. Once the bard has been polymorphed for one hour, as experienced by the bard, the spell ends for the bard.
Ergo, the bard spends 23 hours in the Feywild unpolymorphed before the sorcerer breaks concentration on her own polymorph.
In our campaign, our sorcerer cast polymorph on herself and our bard, using twinned spell. Shortly after, an enemy plane shifted the Bard to the feywild. We rolled on the table and time for the Bard is minutes on the material plane become days in the feywild. The sorcerer ended polymorph about 1 minute later. Would the polymorph on the Bard last 1 hour or 1 day? How would you rule the duration of an effect when the caster is on a different plane with a different time function?
The rules do not discuss this situation specifically, and the rules on spell duration don’t draw any distinction between “time as experienced by the object of a concentration spell” and “time as experienced by the concentrator,” so I think by RAW we just have to take the duration of Polymorph at face value. It is concentration, up to one hour, so it ends after it has persisted for one hour or when concentration is broken, whichever comes first, and this determination is made for each object individually. Once the bard has been polymorphed for one hour, as experienced by the bard, the spell ends for the bard.
Ergo, the bard spends 23 hours in the Feywild unpolymorphed before the sorcerer breaks concentration on her own polymorph.
I'd go with what Saga said. Other factors can end a spell early besides concentration, so threat it like that.