hey quick question: if the target of an spell ceases to be an valid target of the spell, does the spell end by default? For instance, if i target an door with arcane lock and then the door ceases to be an door, will it still have the benefits of arcane lock? if i cast polymorph to turn an target into an beast, and then cast awaken on the beast, will the charm effect created by awaken persist once the target has turned back into its original form?
and must an valid target of an spell only be an valid target while you start casting an spell, or does the spell "check" wheter an target is valid for the spell once the casting is complete, or must an taget be valid during the entire casting, getting interupted as soon as the target ceases to be valid?
And if my spell save DC changes between me casting a spell and an spell forcing an saving throw, does it use my current spell save or the spell save at the time of casting? (this is important for feeble mind and glyph of warding)
and lets say i cast true polymorph on my familiar, turning it into an fully grown human commoner, will my familliar still be forced to do my bidding? have i not in that case created an slave? And while we are talking about that, how does human rights work in the forgotten realsm, the primary setting of dnd? does summoned creatures and creatures created by transmutation spell have any rights? does wizards academies have to have an entire course on etics to assure themselves than no wizard goes to far, just like psychologists and doctors irl? might this perhaps worsen the stigma arround sorcerers and warlocks, since they did not have to swear oaths and are thrust into the world with their magical powers in place?
also if i cast warding bond via my familliar, does the familliar take damage or does i take damage when the target of the spell is hurt?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
i am soup, with too many ideas (all of them very spicy) who has made sufficient homebrew material and character to last an thousand human lifetimes
hey quick question: if the target of an spell ceases to be an valid target of the spell, does the spell end by default? For instance, if i target an door with arcane lock and then the door ceases to be an door, will it still have the benefits of arcane lock? if i cast polymorph to turn an target into an beast, and then cast awaken on the beast, will the charm effect created by awaken persist once the target has turned back into its original form?
These questions don't seem to be covered in the rules, so it is up to DM. Feats and magic item prerequisites require that you always meet them in order to keep their effects, I would say the effects of the spell (if they can still be applied i.e. hold person) are suppressed.
and must an valid target of an spell only be an valid target while you start casting an spell, or does the spell "check" wheter an target is valid for the spell once the casting is complete, or must an taget be valid during the entire casting, getting interupted as soon as the target ceases to be valid?
They must be a valid target when the spell is cast. This occurs at the end of the casting time. You can simply stop concentrating on casting to not use a spell slot.
And if my spell save DC changes between me casting a spell and an spell forcing an saving throw, does it use my current spell save or the spell save at the time of casting? (this is important for feeble mind and glyph of warding)
Also not covered in rules thus DM discretion. I would say the spell's use the spell save at time of casting.
and lets say i cast true polymorph on my familiar, turning it into an fully grown human commoner, will my familliar still be forced to do my bidding? have i not in that case created an slave? And while we are talking about that, how does human rights work in the forgotten realsm, the primary setting of dnd? does summoned creatures and creatures created by transmutation spell have any rights? does wizards academies have to have an entire course on etics to assure themselves than no wizard goes to far, just like psychologists and doctors irl? might this perhaps worsen the stigma arround sorcerers and warlocks, since they did not have to swear oaths and are thrust into the world with their magical powers in place?
True polymorph says the creature keeps its alignment and personality so it would still be servile to you. I would also say that it is still beholden to the rules of find familiar and can't attack.
Slavery is not uncommon (for those who can afford it). It is allowed in most planes and nations, though there may be laws regarding treatment (laws are mostly left to the DM). The lowest caste of humanoids (the poor and slaves) have very few if any rights or protections granted by the law (again mostly up to DM).
Summoned and created creatures would not normal have (or need) rights, they are an effect of a spell, fireballs don't have rights. I'm not sure if there is a magic ethics lesson in Wizard school or not. I honestly don't think anyone cares how summons are treated. And I doubt it contributes to stigma against sorcerers and warlocks (that mostly stems from fear of the unknown).
also if i cast warding bond via my familliar, does the familliar take damage or does i take damage when the target of the spell is hurt?
I would say the caster (you) are the one who takes damage, not the familiar.
hey quick question: if the target of an spell ceases to be an valid target of the spell, does the spell end by default? For instance, if i target an door with arcane lock and then the door ceases to be an door, will it still have the benefits of arcane lock? if i cast polymorph to turn an target into an beast, and then cast awaken on the beast, will the charm effect created by awaken persist once the target has turned back into its original form?
There is a simple answer to this question: a spell does what it says it does. Really, bottom line.
Arcane Lock ceases to function if the door is broken. If the door is altered, but not broken, it is still presumably covered as an "other entryway" by the spell.
Polymorph & Awaken: no, the charm affect does not persist, and not for the reason you'd think. You literally cannot cast both of these spells on the same target. Polymorph is a concentration spell, and Awaken has an 8 hour casting time. Any spell requiring more than 1 action requires concentration; your concentration on Polymorph breaks when you start casting Awaken. Further, you cannot have two different casters attempt to chain these spells either. Polymorph only lasts up to one hour, so it will end before the other caster would finish casting Awaken. You can't Polymorph right before finishing Awaken either as the target needs to be a beast/plant before Awaken can even be started.
and must an valid target of an spell only be an valid target while you start casting an spell, or does the spell "check" wheter an target is valid for the spell once the casting is complete, or must an taget be valid during the entire casting, getting interupted as soon as the target ceases to be valid?
A target must be valid at all times per the specific requirements of individual spells. They do what they say they do.
And if my spell save DC changes between me casting a spell and an spell forcing an saving throw, does it use my current spell save or the spell save at the time of casting? (this is important for feeble mind and glyph of warding)
At the time of casting. Whether the effect causing a creature to make a saving throw is instantaneous/delayed/repeated, the DC is set at the time of the spell being cast.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
hey quick question: if the target of an spell ceases to be an valid target of the spell, does the spell end by default? For instance, if i target an door with arcane lock and then the door ceases to be an door, will it still have the benefits of arcane lock? if i cast polymorph to turn an target into an beast, and then cast awaken on the beast, will the charm effect created by awaken persist once the target has turned back into its original form?
and must an valid target of an spell only be an valid target while you start casting an spell, or does the spell "check" wheter an target is valid for the spell once the casting is complete, or must an taget be valid during the entire casting, getting interupted as soon as the target ceases to be valid?
And if my spell save DC changes between me casting a spell and an spell forcing an saving throw, does it use my current spell save or the spell save at the time of casting? (this is important for feeble mind and glyph of warding)
and lets say i cast true polymorph on my familiar, turning it into an fully grown human commoner, will my familliar still be forced to do my bidding? have i not in that case created an slave? And while we are talking about that, how does human rights work in the forgotten realsm, the primary setting of dnd? does summoned creatures and creatures created by transmutation spell have any rights? does wizards academies have to have an entire course on etics to assure themselves than no wizard goes to far, just like psychologists and doctors irl? might this perhaps worsen the stigma arround sorcerers and warlocks, since they did not have to swear oaths and are thrust into the world with their magical powers in place?
also if i cast warding bond via my familliar, does the familliar take damage or does i take damage when the target of the spell is hurt?
i am soup, with too many ideas (all of them very spicy) who has made sufficient homebrew material and character to last an thousand human lifetimes
"Quick question" my tail. These are hard.
These questions don't seem to be covered in the rules, so it is up to DM. Feats and magic item prerequisites require that you always meet them in order to keep their effects, I would say the effects of the spell (if they can still be applied i.e. hold person) are suppressed.
They must be a valid target when the spell is cast. This occurs at the end of the casting time. You can simply stop concentrating on casting to not use a spell slot.
Also not covered in rules thus DM discretion. I would say the spell's use the spell save at time of casting.
True polymorph says the creature keeps its alignment and personality so it would still be servile to you. I would also say that it is still beholden to the rules of find familiar and can't attack.
Slavery is not uncommon (for those who can afford it). It is allowed in most planes and nations, though there may be laws regarding treatment (laws are mostly left to the DM). The lowest caste of humanoids (the poor and slaves) have very few if any rights or protections granted by the law (again mostly up to DM).
Summoned and created creatures would not normal have (or need) rights, they are an effect of a spell, fireballs don't have rights. I'm not sure if there is a magic ethics lesson in Wizard school or not. I honestly don't think anyone cares how summons are treated. And I doubt it contributes to stigma against sorcerers and warlocks (that mostly stems from fear of the unknown).
I would say the caster (you) are the one who takes damage, not the familiar.
There is a simple answer to this question: a spell does what it says it does. Really, bottom line.
Arcane Lock ceases to function if the door is broken. If the door is altered, but not broken, it is still presumably covered as an "other entryway" by the spell.
Polymorph & Awaken: no, the charm affect does not persist, and not for the reason you'd think. You literally cannot cast both of these spells on the same target. Polymorph is a concentration spell, and Awaken has an 8 hour casting time. Any spell requiring more than 1 action requires concentration; your concentration on Polymorph breaks when you start casting Awaken. Further, you cannot have two different casters attempt to chain these spells either. Polymorph only lasts up to one hour, so it will end before the other caster would finish casting Awaken. You can't Polymorph right before finishing Awaken either as the target needs to be a beast/plant before Awaken can even be started.
A target must be valid at all times per the specific requirements of individual spells. They do what they say they do.
At the time of casting. Whether the effect causing a creature to make a saving throw is instantaneous/delayed/repeated, the DC is set at the time of the spell being cast.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.