So I'm playing a Paladin of redemption and over looking future abilities I had a thought about concentration and aura of the Guardian. Say the paladin is concentrating on Bless and both the druid and paladin get hit with a Fireball and it does 20 per target and the paladin uses aura of the guardian, what is the DC for the concentration check to maintain bless? Is it two checks at a DC 10 or one check at DC 20?
My initial thought is its one source of damage and its technically happening at the same time so it should be DC 20 however, what if both the paladin and druid are at 10 hp. The feat says the paladin must be conscious for it to work and I read on another forum of DM's ruling that because the damage the paladin would take alone would drop them to 0hp they can not use aura of the guardian which would mean its the same instance happening at slightly separate times aka would be two checks(if they didn't drop unconscious)? If not and since I'm a half-orc I would essentially have a once per long rest stop two pc from lethal damage(I take the full 40 dmg go to 0hp and then magically pop back up to 1hp instead)?
A Druid and Paladin of Redemtion with 10 hit point each getting damaged by an instantaneous Fireball for 20 fire damage would resolve as follow;
The Paladin would take 40 fire damage would be reduced to 0 hit point and would be reduced to 1 hit point instead due to Relentless Endurance. It would make a Bless concentration check DC 20.
The Druid would have 10 hit points having never taken fire damage due to Aura of the Guardian.
An AoE applies is damage simultaneously. While the paladin uses their reaction from Aura of the Guardian in response to the Druid taking damage, it is resolved before the damage is applied. So Aura of the Guardian is resolved before the Paladin drops to 0 from the fireball regardless of what race they are.
Just be careful, Relentless Endurance won't save you from instant death from massive damage.
Yeah if the Paladin's maximum hit point is 25 or lower, Relentless Endurance won't be usable and thus using Aura of the Guardian would kill it outright so it would be judicious not to use it unless the Paladin want to sacrifice hhimself somehow.
As the others said, because the aura is a reaction it's pretty straightforward that it resolves before the damage and everything else falls neatly into place. If it actually mattered in which order the simultaneous damage were applied, the person whose turn it is determines that.
So I'm playing a Paladin of redemption and over looking future abilities I had a thought about concentration and aura of the Guardian. Say the paladin is concentrating on Bless and both the druid and paladin get hit with a Fireball and it does 20 per target and the paladin uses aura of the guardian, what is the DC for the concentration check to maintain bless? Is it two checks at a DC 10 or one check at DC 20?
My initial thought is its one source of damage and its technically happening at the same time so it should be DC 20 however, what if both the paladin and druid are at 10 hp. The feat says the paladin must be conscious for it to work and I read on another forum of DM's ruling that because the damage the paladin would take alone would drop them to 0hp they can not use aura of the guardian which would mean its the same instance happening at slightly separate times aka would be two checks(if they didn't drop unconscious)? If not and since I'm a half-orc I would essentially have a once per long rest stop two pc from lethal damage(I take the full 40 dmg go to 0hp and then magically pop back up to 1hp instead)?
A Druid and Paladin of Redemtion with 10 hit point each getting damaged by an instantaneous Fireball for 20 fire damage would resolve as follow;
The Paladin would take 40 fire damage would be reduced to 0 hit point and would be reduced to 1 hit point instead due to Relentless Endurance. It would make a Bless concentration check DC 20.
The Druid would have 10 hit points having never taken fire damage due to Aura of the Guardian.
An AoE applies is damage simultaneously. While the paladin uses their reaction from Aura of the Guardian in response to the Druid taking damage, it is resolved before the damage is applied. So Aura of the Guardian is resolved before the Paladin drops to 0 from the fireball regardless of what race they are.
Just be careful, Relentless Endurance won't save you from instant death from massive damage.
Yeah if the Paladin's maximum hit point is 25 or lower, Relentless Endurance won't be usable and thus using Aura of the Guardian would kill it outright so it would be judicious not to use it unless the Paladin want to sacrifice hhimself somehow.
As the others said, because the aura is a reaction it's pretty straightforward that it resolves before the damage and everything else falls neatly into place. If it actually mattered in which order the simultaneous damage were applied, the person whose turn it is determines that.
Thank You
thank you!