I have a Bard/ Sorcerer multi-classed character. Ally goes down in a cloudkill zone, tried to cast Cure wounds + distant spell(meta) but DM rules I need to see ally to cast that. Is the DM right or wrong in interpreting the rules as written? (AL table)
Cure Wounds does not specify that you need to see the target - it just specifies 'a creature you touch'. Distant Spell metamagic says if a spell has a range of Touch it becomes 30 ft - again it doesn't specify requiring sight.
Now looking at Cloudkill it produces an area 'Heavily Obscured' which only limits sight - which we already established is not needed. If it produced a form of total cover - that would be very different - but it doesn't.
All in all - I believe your DM made the wrong call. RAW it should have worked.
Cure Wounds does not specify that you need to see the target - it just specifies 'a creature you touch'. Distant Spell metamagic says if a spell has a range of Touch it becomes 30 ft - again it doesn't specify requiring sight.
Now looking at Cloudkill it produces an area 'Heavily Obscured' which only limits sight - which we already established is not needed. If it produced a form of total cover - that would be very different - but it doesn't.
All in all - I believe your DM made the wrong call. RAW it should have worked.
What about page 204 of PHB, under "Clear Path to the Target"?
EDIT: oh right, it only speaks of total cover. Nvm then.
What about page 204 of PHB, under "Clear Path to the Target"?
That talks about Total Cover which is not the same as Heavily Obscured. Unless a spell specifically says "a creature you can see" it doesn't need sight. It would be blocked by total cover unless it says "the target doesn't benefit from cover for this spell" or "can extend around cover" or words to that effect. But Heavily Obscured only blocks sight (blinded to anything inside) which wouldn't block a spell that doesn't require sight.
Your character does need to know where to aim the spell. I assume meta knowledge tells you exactly which square your ally is in, but does your character know that?
Your character does need to know where to aim the spell. I assume meta knowledge tells you exactly which square your ally is in, but does your character know that?
Why would I need to know that? If my ally is in range then it works, if not then it does not work, I watched my ally walk into the cloud and then heard chocking and thump, so I have a pretty good idea of the location, but why do I need anything more than what is prescribed by the spell and meta magic?
Your character does need to know where to aim the spell. I assume meta knowledge tells you exactly which square your ally is in, but does your character know that?
Why would I need to know that? If my ally is in range then it works, if not then it does not work, I watched my ally walk into the cloud and then heard chocking and thump, so I have a pretty good idea of the location, but why do I need anything more than what is prescribed by the spell and meta magic?
Hmm... Maybe you don't. The rules aren't as clear as they should be.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have a Bard/ Sorcerer multi-classed character. Ally goes down in a cloudkill zone, tried to cast Cure wounds + distant spell(meta) but DM rules I need to see ally to cast that. Is the DM right or wrong in interpreting the rules as written? (AL table)
DND Beyond Legendary Bundle Holder
Cure Wounds does not specify that you need to see the target - it just specifies 'a creature you touch'. Distant Spell metamagic says if a spell has a range of Touch it becomes 30 ft - again it doesn't specify requiring sight.
Now looking at Cloudkill it produces an area 'Heavily Obscured' which only limits sight - which we already established is not needed. If it produced a form of total cover - that would be very different - but it doesn't.
All in all - I believe your DM made the wrong call. RAW it should have worked.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
What about page 204 of PHB, under "Clear Path to the Target"?
EDIT: oh right, it only speaks of total cover. Nvm then.
That talks about Total Cover which is not the same as Heavily Obscured. Unless a spell specifically says "a creature you can see" it doesn't need sight. It would be blocked by total cover unless it says "the target doesn't benefit from cover for this spell" or "can extend around cover" or words to that effect. But Heavily Obscured only blocks sight (blinded to anything inside) which wouldn't block a spell that doesn't require sight.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Yeah, already edited my previous post once I realized that ;-)
Your character does need to know where to aim the spell. I assume meta knowledge tells you exactly which square your ally is in, but does your character know that?
Why would I need to know that? If my ally is in range then it works, if not then it does not work, I watched my ally walk into the cloud and then heard chocking and thump, so I have a pretty good idea of the location, but why do I need anything more than what is prescribed by the spell and meta magic?
DND Beyond Legendary Bundle Holder
Hmm... Maybe you don't. The rules aren't as clear as they should be.