If a person has their hands tied with a rope and they are teleported - does the person remain tied where they go, or, because the rope isn't one of their items, does the rope stay behind and they are no longer bound?
All my druids have ruled it that way, but one today thought maybe no. I don't think there are any raw rules for that, and before anyone says - the DM's choice, - yes of course always. But is there something listed somewhere that I can't find, that states a clear 'correct' answer?
I'd say that the rope doesn't teleport with, but I can't really point to a rule that backs that up. The rules for teleportation should probably be more centralized and explained. I think it's worth pointing out, though, that all Druids have a different (and definitely effective) way of getting out of bindings: Wildshape.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Dimension Door makes mention that you can bring objects as long as they don't exceed what you can carry. You can also bring one willing creature your size or smaller and their gear and equipment up to what they can carry. But that is the only example I can find that bothers to make note of objects that are worn or carried. So if we use what is described in Dimension Door then it is up to the caster.
I am not aware of any general rules regarding teleportation movement that indicate one way or the other. The Grappled condition ends when the grappled creature is removed from the reach of the grappling creature or effect. But typically with bindings we are dealing with the Restrained condition which makes no note one way or the other.
In my game, I'd rule that the character/creature stays tied up, and the rope will teleport along - unless the rope is also fixed to a wall, tree etc. because that makes it not only part of what they "wear" and prevents it from being moved along.
The Sage Advice Compendium says that the caster's worn and carried equipment is intended to go with them when they misty step and I would expect the wildfire druid teleport to work the same.
It does not say whether worn or carried equipment belonging to someone else is teleported though I would tend to think it does, if only to avoid debate about who womething belongs to. If the PC had just picked up a magical great sword does that mean it is theirs? Does it matter whether they are proficient in using it or whether they plan to use it themselves, give it to another party member or sell it? I think there are three ways it can be ruled.
The character doing the teleporting decides items being worn or carried is teleported. In this case the wildfire spirit under the instruction of the druid. While this would be OK in this case applying the same logic to Vortex Warp would be way overpowered because you could teleport the bad guy and leave his armor and weapons where he was.
The character being teleported decides items being worn or carried is teleported. Most of the posts above seem to go with this. I do think it makes the feature a bit too powerful especially with regards to getting in and out of armor
Everything they are wearing or carrying it teleported this is my preferred option.
The other question is what is classed as being worn or carried. Here I would say saying that is moving with them but is not fixed to another object or also being carried by another creature. So for example if two characters are carrying a heavy chest and one is teleported the chest remains. In the case of rope if their hands are together but not attached to anything else thet are wearing it in the same way to could wear a pair of handcuffs so would be teleported with the rope, but if the rope was tying them to a fixed object the rope would remain.
I think either of the 2nd or 3rd options can work but the same rules should apply to PCs and NPCs. If the party knock an evil mage unconcious tke their component pouch, tie them up and then wake the up for questioning the mage is able to misty step (next to their component pouch if the party left it in range) to escape their bonds (Misty step only has a verbal component) if the party are able to do the same.
I would say they stay tied up. Teleporting might not specify items worn or carried but unless you want the target naked at the new destination I think items would go. And I don’t think the items worn or carried has to be yours, otherwise grabbing the McGuffin (that isn’t yours) and trying to teleport it away from the BBEG wouldn’t work.
It’s on your person, it goes with you. Unless, like mentioned, it’s anchored somewhere like manacles chained to a wall.
So I have a twist on this question. Say a character is being grappled or restrained. Could the Wildfire Spirit teleport that willing player and thus get them out of the grappled or restrained condition?
So I have a twist on this question. Say a character is being grappled or restrained. Could the Wildfire Spirit teleport that willing player and thus get them out of the grappled or restrained condition?
Yup.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
So I have a twist on this question. Say a character is being grappled or restrained. Could the Wildfire Spirit teleport that willing player and thus get them out of the grappled or restrained condition?
Maybe.
It really depends on why. Because teleports don't really have a coherently described or structured effect on items. We presume that when a creature is teleported so is their equipment but to what extent?
If someone is shackled to a wall, thus restrained, can you teleport then without the shackles? Is this even something that teleporting allows? Can you selectively choose what a creature brings or leaves? Can you vortex warp a guard out of his armor and weapons? Or do items need to come with them despite your wishes? And if so, how muich can you also teleport? The shackles and the wall? The entire dungeon? The town that dungeon is carved and built into? Were is the limit?
None of these things are specifically covered by the rules, so your DM is going to need to start just making it up. And it is perfectly within the normal rules to say you cannot teleport a creature out of shackles that are causing the restrained condition.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Well, the general rule I have seen DMs use is, how does other equivalent spells, abilities, etc that is similar work? Second level Misty Step Spell would allow a self to teleport 30ft away out of restraints and being grappled. Given that, the Wild Fire Spirit can only move people 15ft, but take someone with them. So while in one way it is weaker than Misty Step (15ft vs 30ft), it has an advantage that it takes an other. So in that I would be fine saying it can. Still there are ways around this. Say the restraints or area blocks spells and abilities for teleportation or there are monsters or spells protecting the area that will cause damage to the Wild Fire Spirit.
But you cannot choose to leave items behind when you misty step. Can you? If your DM allows you to misty step and leave behind shackles, ropes, or other restraints, then why not armor? Or acid you got splashed with? Or the magical fire on you? Or the filth fever running through your veins after fighting in the sewers?
You can't selectively choose what comes with you. It all does.
But, then, if you try to teleport someone chained to the stone wall... then what?
This topic reminds me of the Jumper movie.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
There's an ancient tweet by J-Craw saying that it's "up to the DM." Not much of an answer, but DM fiat is a often the go-to response when there are grey areas in the rules.
If a person has their hands tied with a rope and they are teleported - does the person remain tied where they go, or, because the rope isn't one of their items, does the rope stay behind and they are no longer bound?
All my druids have ruled it that way, but one today thought maybe no. I don't think there are any raw rules for that, and before anyone says - the DM's choice, - yes of course always. But is there something listed somewhere that I can't find, that states a clear 'correct' answer?
I'd say that the rope doesn't teleport with, but I can't really point to a rule that backs that up. The rules for teleportation should probably be more centralized and explained. I think it's worth pointing out, though, that all Druids have a different (and definitely effective) way of getting out of bindings: Wildshape.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
it wasn't me that was teleported
Dimension Door makes mention that you can bring objects as long as they don't exceed what you can carry. You can also bring one willing creature your size or smaller and their gear and equipment up to what they can carry. But that is the only example I can find that bothers to make note of objects that are worn or carried. So if we use what is described in Dimension Door then it is up to the caster.
I am not aware of any general rules regarding teleportation movement that indicate one way or the other. The Grappled condition ends when the grappled creature is removed from the reach of the grappling creature or effect. But typically with bindings we are dealing with the Restrained condition which makes no note one way or the other.
In my game, I'd rule that the character/creature stays tied up, and the rope will teleport along - unless the rope is also fixed to a wall, tree etc. because that makes it not only part of what they "wear" and prevents it from being moved along.
The Sage Advice Compendium says that the caster's worn and carried equipment is intended to go with them when they misty step and I would expect the wildfire druid teleport to work the same.
It does not say whether worn or carried equipment belonging to someone else is teleported though I would tend to think it does, if only to avoid debate about who womething belongs to. If the PC had just picked up a magical great sword does that mean it is theirs? Does it matter whether they are proficient in using it or whether they plan to use it themselves, give it to another party member or sell it? I think there are three ways it can be ruled.
The other question is what is classed as being worn or carried. Here I would say saying that is moving with them but is not fixed to another object or also being carried by another creature. So for example if two characters are carrying a heavy chest and one is teleported the chest remains. In the case of rope if their hands are together but not attached to anything else thet are wearing it in the same way to could wear a pair of handcuffs so would be teleported with the rope, but if the rope was tying them to a fixed object the rope would remain.
I think either of the 2nd or 3rd options can work but the same rules should apply to PCs and NPCs. If the party knock an evil mage unconcious tke their component pouch, tie them up and then wake the up for questioning the mage is able to misty step (next to their component pouch if the party left it in range) to escape their bonds (Misty step only has a verbal component) if the party are able to do the same.
I would say they stay tied up. Teleporting might not specify items worn or carried but unless you want the target naked at the new destination I think items would go. And I don’t think the items worn or carried has to be yours, otherwise grabbing the McGuffin (that isn’t yours) and trying to teleport it away from the BBEG wouldn’t work.
It’s on your person, it goes with you. Unless, like mentioned, it’s anchored somewhere like manacles chained to a wall.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
I'd rule the rope are worn or carried by the creature and teleports with it.
Thanks everyone for the input!
So I have a twist on this question. Say a character is being grappled or restrained. Could the Wildfire Spirit teleport that willing player and thus get them out of the grappled or restrained condition?
Yup.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Thank you Quar1on!
Maybe.
It really depends on why. Because teleports don't really have a coherently described or structured effect on items. We presume that when a creature is teleported so is their equipment but to what extent?
If someone is shackled to a wall, thus restrained, can you teleport then without the shackles? Is this even something that teleporting allows? Can you selectively choose what a creature brings or leaves? Can you vortex warp a guard out of his armor and weapons? Or do items need to come with them despite your wishes? And if so, how muich can you also teleport? The shackles and the wall? The entire dungeon? The town that dungeon is carved and built into? Were is the limit?
None of these things are specifically covered by the rules, so your DM is going to need to start just making it up. And it is perfectly within the normal rules to say you cannot teleport a creature out of shackles that are causing the restrained condition.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Well, the general rule I have seen DMs use is, how does other equivalent spells, abilities, etc that is similar work? Second level Misty Step Spell would allow a self to teleport 30ft away out of restraints and being grappled. Given that, the Wild Fire Spirit can only move people 15ft, but take someone with them. So while in one way it is weaker than Misty Step (15ft vs 30ft), it has an advantage that it takes an other. So in that I would be fine saying it can. Still there are ways around this. Say the restraints or area blocks spells and abilities for teleportation or there are monsters or spells protecting the area that will cause damage to the Wild Fire Spirit.
But you cannot choose to leave items behind when you misty step. Can you? If your DM allows you to misty step and leave behind shackles, ropes, or other restraints, then why not armor? Or acid you got splashed with? Or the magical fire on you? Or the filth fever running through your veins after fighting in the sewers?
You can't selectively choose what comes with you. It all does.
But, then, if you try to teleport someone chained to the stone wall... then what?
This topic reminds me of the Jumper movie.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
There's an ancient tweet by J-Craw saying that it's "up to the DM." Not much of an answer, but DM fiat is a often the go-to response when there are grey areas in the rules.