A spell scroll bears the words of a single spell, written in a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without providing any material components. Otherwise, the scroll is unintelligible. DMG p.200
Any creature that can understand a written language can read the arcane script on a scroll and attempt to activate it. DMG p.139
How can one read the unintelligible arcane script?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Semper in faecibus sumus, solum profundum variat" playing since 1986
The rule that you quoted from page 139 is the more general rule that describes the entire category of magic items called "scrolls". There are 9 such categories including armor, potions, rings, rods, scrolls, staffs, wands, weapons and wonderous items. This section is simply describing these categories and generally how items within these categories function. Armor is worn, potions are consumables that are drunk, administered or applied, rings are worn, weapons are held in hand and wielded, and so on. This section explains that in general for any consumable magical item in the scroll category the user must be intelligent enough to be able to read a written language and has already learned at least one written language in order to properly interact with that scroll as a magical item in an attempt to activate it.
Page 200 describes the more specific rules (specific beats general) for a specific magical item called a "spell scroll" which belongs to the scroll category of magic items. This particular item "bears the words of a single spell". Interacting with this item is more difficult -- there is a higher prerequisite than what is required to interact with any old scroll. The spell on the spell scroll must be on your class's spell list in order to properly interact with that scroll as a magical item in an attempt to activate it.
I'm not even sure if "specific beats general" is the best way to view this. The more general rule is not overwritten in this case -- it still applies since that is a rule for all scrolls. If the particular scroll in question is a spell scroll then the rule for spell scrolls also applies. So in this case, you would have to understand a written language AND the spell must be on your class's spell list.
Any creature that can understand a written language can read the arcane script on a scroll and attempt to activate it. DMG p.139
How can one read the unintelligible arcane script?
"It's magic!"
I've always taken this to mean you don't have to understand it (or comprehend it) to read it. The magic takes over and carries you into it as a part of the spells release.
Just as I can attempt to read and speak (activate) a document in German. I won't have any clue what I'm actually saying - but in D&D the magic of the scroll carries me along for the ride.
This approach removes a rule conflict, keeps to the spirit of the function of scrolls, and the game (not a reality simulator).
Any creature who can understand a written language can read and use a scroll of protection.
Not anyone can read and use a spell scroll of cure wounds. It has to be on your spell list to even understand what it is, let alone cast cure wounds from it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Not all those who wander are lost"
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
A spell scroll bears the words of a single spell, written in a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without providing any
material components. Otherwise, the scroll is unintelligible.
DMG p.200
Any creature that can understand a written language can read the arcane script on a scroll and attempt to activate it.
DMG p.139
How can one read the unintelligible arcane script?
playing since 1986
The rule that you quoted from page 139 is the more general rule that describes the entire category of magic items called "scrolls". There are 9 such categories including armor, potions, rings, rods, scrolls, staffs, wands, weapons and wonderous items. This section is simply describing these categories and generally how items within these categories function. Armor is worn, potions are consumables that are drunk, administered or applied, rings are worn, weapons are held in hand and wielded, and so on. This section explains that in general for any consumable magical item in the scroll category the user must be intelligent enough to be able to read a written language and has already learned at least one written language in order to properly interact with that scroll as a magical item in an attempt to activate it.
Page 200 describes the more specific rules (specific beats general) for a specific magical item called a "spell scroll" which belongs to the scroll category of magic items. This particular item "bears the words of a single spell". Interacting with this item is more difficult -- there is a higher prerequisite than what is required to interact with any old scroll. The spell on the spell scroll must be on your class's spell list in order to properly interact with that scroll as a magical item in an attempt to activate it.
I'm not even sure if "specific beats general" is the best way to view this. The more general rule is not overwritten in this case -- it still applies since that is a rule for all scrolls. If the particular scroll in question is a spell scroll then the rule for spell scrolls also applies. So in this case, you would have to understand a written language AND the spell must be on your class's spell list.
"It's magic!"
I've always taken this to mean you don't have to understand it (or comprehend it) to read it. The magic takes over and carries you into it as a part of the spells release.
Just as I can attempt to read and speak (activate) a document in German. I won't have any clue what I'm actually saying - but in D&D the magic of the scroll carries me along for the ride.
This approach removes a rule conflict, keeps to the spirit of the function of scrolls, and the game (not a reality simulator).
Any creature who can understand a written language can read and use a scroll of protection.
Not anyone can read and use a spell scroll of cure wounds. It has to be on your spell list to even understand what it is, let alone cast cure wounds from it.
"Not all those who wander are lost"