It's possible that this has been addressed but I have a question about undead fortitude. So when a zombie or whatever has undead fortitude has 1 hp left and an attack hits and the player rolls 6 damage, is the 6 damage added to the saving throw DC or is it 1 that is added to the saving throw DC since it took only 1 damage to hit 0. I've played with two different DM's and one did it with the damage roll added to the saving throw DC and the other did only the damage taken as of 1 hp of damage reducing the creature's hp to 0 in this scenario. I'm assuming that the damage rolled is the correct calculation but I am still not sure.
I can see where the confusion comes from. The text for undead fortitude does not say 5+ damage rolled. It says 5+damage taken.
"Undead Fortitude. If damage reduces the zombie to 0 hit points, it must make a Constitution saving throw with a DC of 5 +the damage taken, unless the damage is radiant or from a critical hit. On a success, the zombie drops to 1 hit point in stead."
However, there are other references in the rules which indicate that it is possible to take damage that brings you below zero.
1) "Massive damage can kill you instantly. When damage reduces you to 0 hit points and there is damage remaining, you die if the remaining damage equals or exceeds your hit point maximum." - if you take enough damage in one hit to
2) "Damage at 0 Hit Points. If you take any damage while you have 0 hit points, you suffer a death saving throw failure."
Both of these indicate that it is possible to take damage when you are at zero or that there is damage remaining after reaching zero. Based on that I would think that the intention is that creatures apply all of the damage rolled and if that amount takes them below zero then various other things occur. The damage is not capped at the amount needed to reduce the creature to zero hit points. So, I think the intent is that the DC be 5+damage rolled as mentioned above.
Hey everyone,
It's possible that this has been addressed but I have a question about undead fortitude. So when a zombie or whatever has undead fortitude has 1 hp left and an attack hits and the player rolls 6 damage, is the 6 damage added to the saving throw DC or is it 1 that is added to the saving throw DC since it took only 1 damage to hit 0. I've played with two different DM's and one did it with the damage roll added to the saving throw DC and the other did only the damage taken as of 1 hp of damage reducing the creature's hp to 0 in this scenario. I'm assuming that the damage rolled is the correct calculation but I am still not sure.
You are correct. DC = 5 + damage rolled. It says as much in the zombie stat block.
I can see where the confusion comes from. The text for undead fortitude does not say 5+ damage rolled. It says 5+damage taken.
"Undead Fortitude. If damage reduces the zombie to 0 hit points, it must make a Constitution saving throw with a DC of 5 +the damage taken, unless the damage is radiant or from a critical hit. On a success, the zombie drops to 1 hit point in stead."
However, there are other references in the rules which indicate that it is possible to take damage that brings you below zero.
1) "Massive damage can kill you instantly. When damage reduces you to 0 hit points and there is damage remaining, you die if the remaining damage equals or exceeds your hit point maximum." - if you take enough damage in one hit to
2) "Damage at 0 Hit Points. If you take any damage while you have 0 hit points, you suffer a death saving throw failure."
Both of these indicate that it is possible to take damage when you are at zero or that there is damage remaining after reaching zero. Based on that I would think that the intention is that creatures apply all of the damage rolled and if that amount takes them below zero then various other things occur. The damage is not capped at the amount needed to reduce the creature to zero hit points. So, I think the intent is that the DC be 5+damage rolled as mentioned above.
Good catch. It's not as straightforward as I thought.