I have an Assassin/Cleric with Grave Domain, the key mechanic is the 'Path to the Grave' curse which makes the target Vulnerable to the next attack. I am two-weapon fighting with Scimitars (light, finesse). So if all goes well I can attack, with advantage, with both swords, add sneak attack damage & then double the total (vulnerability)
However it was pointed out in game that it (the vulnerability) only applies to the first hit & not the entire attack. I think this is almost certainly correct, but I wanted to check what others think. With the wording Its difficult to clear about 'attack' meaning a single hit, and 'attack' meaning your entire attack action. So I ask for your help in clearing this nuance up for me.
Path to the Grave: ...The next time you or an ally of yours hits the cursed creature with an attack, the creature has vulnerability to all of that attack's damage, and then the curse ends. (XGE, 20)
I only have 1 attack; two-weapon fighting is not an extra attack, like the 5th level fighter class feature. With that in mind, the wording above it sounds like regardless of whether I successfully hit with 1 sword or both; all of the attacks damage would be doubled.
Two-Weapon Fighting: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand... (PHB, 195)
Yet in the two-weapon fighting it seems like 'attack' refers to each strike within your attack phase, (& you do roll twice to hit), so it seems to follow that only the first strike of the two-weapons applies the vulnerability. I am asking so I can be clear & satisfied that I have understood correctly.
An attack is a single attack roll. The bonus action granted by two-weapon fighting is an attack. It is a separate attack from the attack you make with your action. If you miss with your first attack, the Path to the Grave vulnerability can still apply to your second, because it triggers "the next time you or an ally of yours hits," not just the next time you or an ally makes an attack. But it can only trigger once, even if you hit with multiple attacks.
[EDIT] And to clarify, it only applies to the first hit, but it's not true to say that this means "not the entire attack." One attack roll is the entire attack. An important distinction to draw here is the one between "an attack" and "the Attack action." The Attack action is an action; not a bonus action or a reaction; and some class features let you make multiple attacks with the Attack action. The naming here isn't very helpful, but the rules are very consistent about which terminology they use where. If something triggers from any attack, just "attack" is used. When something triggers specifically off of the Attack action, that full term is used (for example, the rules for two-weapon fighting).
Agree with the above, though it might not come up often. It’s an action to apply it, and it applies to the next attack no matter who makes it, So a full round will have to go around before you get a chance to use it, and if one of your allies hits on their turn, then they get the benefit.
Yeah, just to elaborate on what Xalthu said, since it sounds like you think you can curse and benefit from the curse with your own attack (you can, but it takes 2 rounds and no one else has to hit the target):
Using Path to the Grave curse requires an action.
Two-Weapon fighting is a bonus action that requires your action be used to attack with a light melee weapon.
So if you curse with your action, you can't attack with your off-hand using Two-Weapon Fighting.
Yeah, just to elaborate on what Xalthu said, since it sounds like you think you can curse and benefit from the curse with your own attack (you can, but it takes 2 rounds and no one else has to hit the target):
Using Path to the Grave curse requires an action.
Two-Weapon fighting is a bonus action that requires your action be used to attack with a light melee weapon.
So if you curse with your action, you can't attack with your off-hand using Two-Weapon Fighting.
Yes thanks, I completely understand about this part. In particular I will use this ability when I hold my action, releasing path to the grave right before my next turn.
& thanks SAGA for your explanation. Your clarification makes me confident I have understood properly now. THANKS Everyone!! :-)
Yeah, just to elaborate on what Xalthu said, since it sounds like you think you can curse and benefit from the curse with your own attack (you can, but it takes 2 rounds and no one else has to hit the target):
Using Path to the Grave curse requires an action.
Two-Weapon fighting is a bonus action that requires your action be used to attack with a light melee weapon.
So if you curse with your action, you can't attack with your off-hand using Two-Weapon Fighting.
Yes thanks, I completely understand about this part. In particular I will use this ability when I hold my action, releasing path to the grave right before my next turn.
& thanks SAGA for your explanation. Your clarification makes me confident I have understood properly now. THANKS Everyone!! :-)
You could also use it to set up someone else’s attack too...
or hold it as an action for “before it looks like something big will hit them” (up to DM discretion)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Blank
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have an Assassin/Cleric with Grave Domain, the key mechanic is the 'Path to the Grave' curse which makes the target Vulnerable to the next attack.
I am two-weapon fighting with Scimitars (light, finesse). So if all goes well I can attack, with advantage, with both swords, add sneak attack damage & then double the total (vulnerability)
However it was pointed out in game that it (the vulnerability) only applies to the first hit & not the entire attack. I think this is almost certainly correct, but I wanted to check what others think.
With the wording Its difficult to clear about 'attack' meaning a single hit, and 'attack' meaning your entire attack action. So I ask for your help in clearing this nuance up for me.
I only have 1 attack; two-weapon fighting is not an extra attack, like the 5th level fighter class feature. With that in mind, the wording above it sounds like regardless of whether I successfully hit with 1 sword or both; all of the attacks damage would be doubled.
Yet in the two-weapon fighting it seems like 'attack' refers to each strike within your attack phase, (& you do roll twice to hit), so it seems to follow that only the first strike of the two-weapons applies the vulnerability. I am asking so I can be clear & satisfied that I have understood correctly.
Thanks for your help!
An attack is a single attack roll. The bonus action granted by two-weapon fighting is an attack. It is a separate attack from the attack you make with your action. If you miss with your first attack, the Path to the Grave vulnerability can still apply to your second, because it triggers "the next time you or an ally of yours hits," not just the next time you or an ally makes an attack. But it can only trigger once, even if you hit with multiple attacks.
[EDIT] And to clarify, it only applies to the first hit, but it's not true to say that this means "not the entire attack." One attack roll is the entire attack. An important distinction to draw here is the one between "an attack" and "the Attack action." The Attack action is an action; not a bonus action or a reaction; and some class features let you make multiple attacks with the Attack action. The naming here isn't very helpful, but the rules are very consistent about which terminology they use where. If something triggers from any attack, just "attack" is used. When something triggers specifically off of the Attack action, that full term is used (for example, the rules for two-weapon fighting).
What Saga said. Extra attack gives multiple attacks with 1 action, not multiple attacks with 1 attack (that doesn't even sound right).
Agree with the above, though it might not come up often. It’s an action to apply it, and it applies to the next attack no matter who makes it, So a full round will have to go around before you get a chance to use it, and if one of your allies hits on their turn, then they get the benefit.
Yeah, just to elaborate on what Xalthu said, since it sounds like you think you can curse and benefit from the curse with your own attack (you can, but it takes 2 rounds and no one else has to hit the target):
So if you curse with your action, you can't attack with your off-hand using Two-Weapon Fighting.
Yes thanks, I completely understand about this part.
In particular I will use this ability when I hold my action, releasing path to the grave right before my next turn.
& thanks SAGA for your explanation. Your clarification makes me confident I have understood properly now. THANKS Everyone!! :-)
You could also use it to set up someone else’s attack too...
or hold it as an action for “before it looks like something big will hit them” (up to DM discretion)
Blank