So if I am a Bugbear with a +5 to reach, and I am using a Glaive which gives me +5 reach I would then have a reach of 15. But when I rage and grow large does my weapon grow large with me? The subclass would increase my range by 5 making it 20ft, but the DMG says;
"Big monsters typically wield oversized weapons that deal extra dice of damage on a hit. Double the weapon dice if the creature is Large, triple the weapon dice if it’s Huge, and quadruple the weapon dice if it’s Gargantuan. For example, a Huge giant wielding an appropriately sized greataxe deals 3d12 slashing damage (plus its Strength bonus), instead of the normal 1d12."
So would the glaive gain extra reach since it is increasing in size, and since the subclass is increasing my reach to 10ft because of my size then shouldn't the bugbear long limbed trait increase my reach by 10 as well since my arms are bigger and thus longer?
What would be my overall reach as a Bugbear Barbarian Path of Giants wielding a Glaive?
The DMG rule on larger monsters isn't really a rule. It's a guideline for determining weapon damage when homebrewing monsters. And anyways, even if it were a rule, it's specifically talking about monsters, which PCs are, by definition, not.
There's no reason for the reach from Long Limbed to be multiplied as well. It gives you an extra 5 feet of reach.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
So if I am a Bugbear with a +5 to reach, and I am using a Glaive which gives me +5 reach I would then have a reach of 15. But when I rage and grow large does my weapon grow large with me? The subclass would increase my range by 5 making it 20ft, but the DMG says;
"Big monsters typically wield oversized weapons that deal extra dice of damage on a hit. Double the weapon dice if the creature is Large, triple the weapon dice if it’s Huge, and quadruple the weapon dice if it’s Gargantuan. For example, a Huge giant wielding an appropriately sized greataxe deals 3d12 slashing damage (plus its Strength bonus), instead of the normal 1d12."
So would the glaive gain extra reach since it is increasing in size, and since the subclass is increasing my reach to 10ft because of my size then shouldn't the bugbear long limbed trait increase my reach by 10 as well since my arms are bigger and thus longer?
What would be my overall reach as a Bugbear Barbarian Path of Giants wielding a Glaive?
You would have a 20 foot reach.
The DMG rule on larger monsters isn't really a rule. It's a guideline for determining weapon damage when homebrewing monsters. And anyways, even if it were a rule, it's specifically talking about monsters, which PCs are, by definition, not.
There's no reason for the reach from Long Limbed to be multiplied as well. It gives you an extra 5 feet of reach.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
As Quar1on says that is a guideline for a DM homebrewing monsters, not a rule for player characters.
Even in the scope of monsters it is easy to find published examples that don't follow it, like an Ogre for example.