They are supposed to be added to the spell lists of any spellcasting class that race becomes so they can be learned/prepared regardless of class (as long as that class has spells...). I think that functionality is still being added to DDB though.
I wish it had text that said if the spell is already on your spell list you can prepare it for free. It would make it so you don't get a wasted ability, and be flavorful that you inherently know those spells.
DxJxC is correct they just add them to your spell list.
For classes that learn the ones on their list, are they just added to what “can” be learned, or are they already considered added to Character’s known list? Or for classes that have additional, supplemental lists: More specifically, if one is playing a class like Ranger/Cleric/Palladin/Druid etc. that has additional spell lists, are the Dragonmark spells added to “those” additional spell lists as well? They are lists in the class. If so, then those additional archetype-subclass lists are known or prepared without counting against the number known or prepared. The additional Dragonmark list would then be known without counting against the totals. It sounds like they are added to the “class” list and must be known/prepared as per class. Although, each of those additional lists are within each respective class as well?
For classes that learn the ones on their list, are they just added to what “can” be learned, or are they already considered added to Character’s known list? Or for classes that have additional, supplemental lists: More specifically, if one is playing a class like Ranger/Cleric/Palladin/Druid etc. that has additional spell lists, are the Dragonmark spells added to “those” additional spell lists as well? They are lists in the class. If so, then those additional archetype-subclass lists are known or prepared without counting against the number known or prepared. The additional Dragonmark list would then be known without counting against the totals. It sounds like they are added to the “class” list and must be known/prepared as per class. Although, each of those additional lists are within each respective class as well?
Dragonmark (and guild background) spells are not automatically learned/prepared, only made available to be so regardless of class.
I've been guilty of it as well, but we should all stop using "learned" as a synonym for "known" because it causes more confusion than it saves.
Known casters know spells from their class list..
Prepared casters prepare spells from their class list every day (or, carry on day to day with the same list of prepared spells if they don't take that time).
Wizards "learn" ("write" would have been a more accurate word) from their class list into their spellbook, and then prepare spells from their spellbook every day (or, carry on day to day with the same list of prepared spells if they don't take that time).
Edit: Whelp, just noticed that known casters use the word "learn" in the body of their "Spells Known of 1st Level or Higher" block. I guess throw that distinction out the window, they've gone and used "learn" to describe two entirely separate things. Ah well.
Edit: Whelp, just noticed that known casters use the word "learn" in the body of their "Spells Known of 1st Level or Higher" block. I guess throw that distinction out the window, they've gone and used "learn" to describe two entirely separate things. Ah well.
It isn't 2 entirely separate things. You learn a spell, then you know that spell. Most classes learn spells when they level up then know those spells from then on. They are very connected almost (but not) synonymous things.
Nothing provides that a Wizard "knows" a spell, they instead simply "add them to their spellbook." But that section of their class is unhelpfully titled "Learning Spells of 1st Level and Higher," which no other class has a section titled that. If not for that heading, I would say that yes learning = knowing, but that header then causes confusion because wizards don't know spells. (other than cantrips).
Nothing provides that a Wizard "knows" a spell, they instead simply "add them to their spellbook." But that section of their class is unhelpfully titled "Learning Spells of 1st Level and Higher," which no other class has a section titled that. If not for that heading, I would say that yes learning = knowing, but that header then causes confusion because wizards don't know spells. (other than cantrips).
Ok. That is a poor choice of header wording for Wizard. But that section does not actually say a wizard learns new spells only that it writes new spells in its spellbook. So learned=know still holds up in a descriptive sense.
And we already are very aware that the writers didn't care a bit about being thorough or consistent with rules wording and interactions, thus the irrelevant header name...
do the dragonmarks give spells to choose from as a caster or do they give spells that are always prepared/known?
They are supposed to be added to the spell lists of any spellcasting class that race becomes so they can be learned/prepared regardless of class (as long as that class has spells...). I think that functionality is still being added to DDB though.
I wish it had text that said if the spell is already on your spell list you can prepare it for free. It would make it so you don't get a wasted ability, and be flavorful that you inherently know those spells.
DxJxC is correct they just add them to your spell list.
For classes that learn the ones on their list, are they just added to what “can” be learned, or are they already considered added to Character’s known list? Or for classes that have additional, supplemental lists: More specifically, if one is playing a class like Ranger/Cleric/Palladin/Druid etc. that has additional spell lists, are the Dragonmark spells added to “those” additional spell lists as well? They are lists in the class. If so, then those additional archetype-subclass lists are known or prepared without counting against the number known or prepared. The additional Dragonmark list would then be known without counting against the totals. It sounds like they are added to the “class” list and must be known/prepared as per class. Although, each of those additional lists are within each respective class as well?
Dragonmark (and guild background) spells are not automatically learned/prepared, only made available to be so regardless of class.
I've been guilty of it as well, but we should all stop using "learned" as a synonym for "known" because it causes more confusion than it saves.
Known casters know spells from their class list..
Prepared casters prepare spells from their class list every day (or, carry on day to day with the same list of prepared spells if they don't take that time).
Wizards "learn" ("write" would have been a more accurate word) from their class list into their spellbook, and then prepare spells from their spellbook every day (or, carry on day to day with the same list of prepared spells if they don't take that time).
Edit: Whelp, just noticed that known casters use the word "learn" in the body of their "Spells Known of 1st Level or Higher" block. I guess throw that distinction out the window, they've gone and used "learn" to describe two entirely separate things. Ah well.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
It isn't 2 entirely separate things. You learn a spell, then you know that spell. Most classes learn spells when they level up then know those spells from then on. They are very connected almost (but not) synonymous things.
Nothing provides that a Wizard "knows" a spell, they instead simply "add them to their spellbook." But that section of their class is unhelpfully titled "Learning Spells of 1st Level and Higher," which no other class has a section titled that. If not for that heading, I would say that yes learning = knowing, but that header then causes confusion because wizards don't know spells. (other than cantrips).
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Ok. That is a poor choice of header wording for Wizard. But that section does not actually say a wizard learns new spells only that it writes new spells in its spellbook. So learned=know still holds up in a descriptive sense.
And we already are very aware that the writers didn't care a bit about being thorough or consistent with rules wording and interactions, thus the irrelevant header name...
So does that mean playing a Dragonmarked Paladin is pointless outside of flavor? Since they autolearn their spells?
A dragon marked paladin can pick from more spells after each long rest due to the spells from their dragonmark being added to their spell list.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Thank you much.