Additional note: This is because the condition is part of the spell Banishment. Being on another plane doesn't automatically drop your concentration, such as if you're hit with Plane Shift.
Correction: banishment is only incapacitating for creatures native to the plane they were on before they were banished. Creature from other planes are sent to their native plane and not incapacitated (this is relevant to a PC if they were on another plane when the spell was cast).
If a PC was banished, would a spell requiring concentration fail when banished? The spell in mind is Moonbeam. (5E) https://run3online.pro
When a creature is banished, it is sent to a harmless demiplane for the duration of the spell. During this time, the banished creature is essentially removed from the current plane of existence. As a result, any ongoing effects or spells that require concentration would end, including spells like Moonbeam.
If a PC was banished, would a spell requiring concentration fail when banished? The spell in mind is Moonbeam. (5E) https://run3online.pro
When a creature is banished, it is sent to a harmless demiplane for the duration of the spell. During this time, the banished creature is essentially removed from the current plane of existence. As a result, any ongoing effects or spells that require concentration would end, including spells like Moonbeam.
Spells requiring concentration end because the banished creature is incapacitated for the duration of their banishment and unable to maintain concentration not because they are “essentially removed from the current plane of existence.”
If a PC was banished, would a spell requiring concentration fail when banished? The spell in mind is Moonbeam. (5E) https://run3online.pro
When a creature is banished, it is sent to a harmless demiplane for the duration of the spell. During this time, the banished creature is essentially removed from the current plane of existence. As a result, any ongoing effects or spells that require concentration would end, including spells like Moonbeam.
Spells requiring concentration end because the banished creature is incapacitated for the duration of their banishment and unable to maintain concentration not because they are “essentially removed from the current plane of existence.”
These answers are not entirely correct.
A concentration spell cast by a creature native to the current plane will end when the creature is Banished because the banished creature is "incapacitated" and the incapacitated condition will end concentration on a spell.
However, a creature that is native to a different plane will be Banished but will NOT be incapacitated. In this case, concentration on the spell would not end.
For example, for an encounter with a fiend occurring on the Prime Material plane - if the fiend cast Heat Metal on a character's armor, then the fiend was Banished, the Heat Metal spell would NOT end and the fiend could continue to cause damage to the affected creature for the duration of the spell (assuming that they continue to use their bonus action every turn to inflict the damage).
Here are the rules for reference:
1) Banishment spell:
"If the target is native to the plane of existence you’re on, you banish the target to a harmless demiplane. While there, the target is incapacitated. The target remains there until the spell ends, at which point the target reappears in the space it left or in the nearest unoccupied space if that space is occupied.
If the target is native to a different plane of existence than the one you’re on, the target is banished with a faint popping noise, returning to its home plane. If the spell ends before 1 minute has passed, the target reappears in the space it left or in the nearest unoccupied space if that space is occupied. Otherwise, the target doesn’t return."
2) Concentration:
"Concentration
Some spells require you to maintain concentration in order to keep their magic active. If you lose concentration, such a spell ends.
If a spell must be maintained with concentration, that fact appears in its Duration entry, and the spell specifies how long you can concentrate on it. You can end concentration at any time (no action required).
Normal activity, such as moving and attacking, doesn’t interfere with concentration. The following factors can break concentration:
Casting another spell that requires concentration. You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can’t concentrate on two spells at once.
Taking damage. Whenever you take damage while you are concentrating on a spell, you must make a Constitution saving throw to maintain your concentration. The DC equals 10 or half the damage you take, whichever number is higher. If you take damage from multiple sources, such as an arrow and a dragon’s breath, you make a separate saving throw for each source of damage.
Being incapacitated or killed. You lose concentration on a spell if you are incapacitated or if you die.
The DM might also decide that certain environmental phenomena, such as a wave crashing over you while you’re on a storm-tossed ship, require you to succeed on a DC 10 Constitution saving throw to maintain concentration on a spell."
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If a PC was banished, would a spell requiring concentration fail when banished? The spell in mind is Moonbeam. (5E)
Charles P. Morris II
Yes; a banished creature is incapacitated, which automatically ends concentration.
Additional note: This is because the condition is part of the spell Banishment. Being on another plane doesn't automatically drop your concentration, such as if you're hit with Plane Shift.
Correct
Correction: banishment is only incapacitating for creatures native to the plane they were on before they were banished. Creature from other planes are sent to their native plane and not incapacitated (this is relevant to a PC if they were on another plane when the spell was cast).
When a creature is banished, it is sent to a harmless demiplane for the duration of the spell. During this time, the banished creature is essentially removed from the current plane of existence. As a result, any ongoing effects or spells that require concentration would end, including spells like Moonbeam.
Spells requiring concentration end because the banished creature is incapacitated for the duration of their banishment and unable to maintain concentration not because they are “essentially removed from the current plane of existence.”
These answers are not entirely correct.
A concentration spell cast by a creature native to the current plane will end when the creature is Banished because the banished creature is "incapacitated" and the incapacitated condition will end concentration on a spell.
However, a creature that is native to a different plane will be Banished but will NOT be incapacitated. In this case, concentration on the spell would not end.
For example, for an encounter with a fiend occurring on the Prime Material plane - if the fiend cast Heat Metal on a character's armor, then the fiend was Banished, the Heat Metal spell would NOT end and the fiend could continue to cause damage to the affected creature for the duration of the spell (assuming that they continue to use their bonus action every turn to inflict the damage).
Here are the rules for reference:
1) Banishment spell:
"If the target is native to the plane of existence you’re on, you banish the target to a harmless demiplane. While there, the target is incapacitated. The target remains there until the spell ends, at which point the target reappears in the space it left or in the nearest unoccupied space if that space is occupied.
If the target is native to a different plane of existence than the one you’re on, the target is banished with a faint popping noise, returning to its home plane. If the spell ends before 1 minute has passed, the target reappears in the space it left or in the nearest unoccupied space if that space is occupied. Otherwise, the target doesn’t return."
2) Concentration:
"Concentration
Some spells require you to maintain concentration in order to keep their magic active. If you lose concentration, such a spell ends.
If a spell must be maintained with concentration, that fact appears in its Duration entry, and the spell specifies how long you can concentrate on it. You can end concentration at any time (no action required).
Normal activity, such as moving and attacking, doesn’t interfere with concentration. The following factors can break concentration:
The DM might also decide that certain environmental phenomena, such as a wave crashing over you while you’re on a storm-tossed ship, require you to succeed on a DC 10 Constitution saving throw to maintain concentration on a spell."