While the ring of spell storing is undoubtably an extremely useful item I have run into some issues when it comes to how certain spells are affected by using this item.
As such my questionsare two fold:
1: regarding concentration spells.
Does the ring of spell storing actually store these spell or simply give the user spell specific spell slots? For example if a concentration spell such as melf’s mini meteors is stored in the ring of spell storing does the user still have to maintain concentration as if they have cast the spell normally, or does it last for the duration? Furthermore does this open the door to composite Magic for concentration spells? For example having the parties mage cast embiggen/reduce into the ring of spell storing and giving it to another party member to have them cast it on one of the mages conjuration/concentration spells such as watery sphere in order to increase the size/power of the spell. Although that also dips into wether or not composite magic is even possible. which I would argue might have to be decided on a case to case basis, as my player’s have used a combination similar to this to embiggen the druid’s Wall of stone. But I would not allow them to do the same to the hero’s feast in order to have it feed more people when they were raising a rebellion.
2: regarding spells with long cast times.
While this only becomes a problem on occasion, I would like clarification as to wether spells with minute to hour long casting times stored in the ring of spell storing require the casting time to be expended at the time of storing the spell or the time of releasing it. I ask because this has the potential to drastically shorten the casting time of certain spells allowing a player to utilize the spell in combat when they otherwise shouldn’t have been able to. A good example of this is the glyph of warding spell, which is meant to act as a ward that behaves somehat akin to a land mine. Usually this spell requires an hour to cast, but if it is cast into a ring of spell storing is the hour expended before it enters the ring or after as the discrepancy in casting time could potentially, alter the way the spell could be used.
I think the key to both questions is this sentence in the item description: "The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell." That is the full list of things that are replaced by the spell coming out of the ring; concentration is not replaced/removed, and nor is casting time. A spell which took an hour to cast into the ring would take an hour to cast out of it. Concentration would be needed as usual from the person casting using the ring.
The other question also seems to involve the effect of Enlarge/Reduce on other magical effects, which is sort of outside the normal rules. I might allow the enlargement of some spell effects that resemble objects, but would not give them an increase in power of any sort.
I agree. In my opinion, a Ring of Spell Storing is more useful when it's worn by someone who isn't a spell caster than when it's worn by a spell caster so that the person who normally can't cast spells can cast spells that require Concentration.
I agree. In my opinion, a Ring of Spell Storing is more useful when it's worn by someone who isn't a spell caster than when it's worn by a spell caster so that the person who normally can't cast spells can cast spells that require Concentration.
Indeed. also, think of the 5th level spells with semi-permanent effects you can put in there, to have your non-magic Rogue have, for the right situations.
I'm playing a paladin, and while I understood the divine smite limitation, the frustration I have is the casting time requirement. Casting time is essentially doubled for each spell in the ring. Someone has to cast it in, and then it takes the casting time again to get it out. I guess that's the tradeoff, but being able to bonus action a steed into battle would have been super sweet.
While the ring of spell storing is undoubtably an extremely useful item I have run into some issues when it comes to how certain spells are affected by using this item.
As such my questionsare two fold:
1: regarding concentration spells.
Does the ring of spell storing actually store these spell or simply give the user spell specific spell slots? For example if a concentration spell such as melf’s mini meteors is stored in the ring of spell storing does the user still have to maintain concentration as if they have cast the spell normally, or does it last for the duration? Furthermore does this open the door to composite Magic for concentration spells? For example having the parties mage cast embiggen/reduce into the ring of spell storing and giving it to another party member to have them cast it on one of the mages conjuration/concentration spells such as watery sphere in order to increase the size/power of the spell. Although that also dips into wether or not composite magic is even possible. which I would argue might have to be decided on a case to case basis, as my player’s have used a combination similar to this to embiggen the druid’s Wall of stone. But I would not allow them to do the same to the hero’s feast in order to have it feed more people when they were raising a rebellion.
2: regarding spells with long cast times.
While this only becomes a problem on occasion, I would like clarification as to wether spells with minute to hour long casting times stored in the ring of spell storing require the casting time to be expended at the time of storing the spell or the time of releasing it. I ask because this has the potential to drastically shorten the casting time of certain spells allowing a player to utilize the spell in combat when they otherwise shouldn’t have been able to. A good example of this is the glyph of warding spell, which is meant to act as a ward that behaves somehat akin to a land mine. Usually this spell requires an hour to cast, but if it is cast into a ring of spell storing is the hour expended before it enters the ring or after as the discrepancy in casting time could potentially, alter the way the spell could be used.
I think the key to both questions is this sentence in the item description: "The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell." That is the full list of things that are replaced by the spell coming out of the ring; concentration is not replaced/removed, and nor is casting time. A spell which took an hour to cast into the ring would take an hour to cast out of it. Concentration would be needed as usual from the person casting using the ring.
The other question also seems to involve the effect of Enlarge/Reduce on other magical effects, which is sort of outside the normal rules. I might allow the enlargement of some spell effects that resemble objects, but would not give them an increase in power of any sort.
I agree. In my opinion, a Ring of Spell Storing is more useful when it's worn by someone who isn't a spell caster than when it's worn by a spell caster so that the person who normally can't cast spells can cast spells that require Concentration.
Professional computer geek
Indeed. also, think of the 5th level spells with semi-permanent effects you can put in there, to have your non-magic Rogue have, for the right situations.
Blank
I'm playing a paladin, and while I understood the divine smite limitation, the frustration I have is the casting time requirement. Casting time is essentially doubled for each spell in the ring. Someone has to cast it in, and then it takes the casting time again to get it out. I guess that's the tradeoff, but being able to bonus action a steed into battle would have been super sweet.
There are lots of wonderful uses for this item: