Just want to get some more opinions on this. Would the extra 1d6 from Giant's Might be affected by Great Weapon Fighting? The way I read it, the extra damage die is considered part of the weapon's damage, which would make it affected by GWF. Would this be the case or is the extra d6 considered something not associated with the weapon?
The extra damage comes from you, not the weapon, so I would say no.
EDIT: That was, maybe a little too quick. Let's go with what we do know, for certain, and then find an apt comparison.
The use of the additional damage die is consistent with the spell enlarge/reduce, even if the size of the damage die isn't. However, unlike the spell, the additional damage die is added to both weapon attacks and unarmed strikes.
On a Critical Hit, the number of damage dice are doubled; meaning that +1d6 would become +2d6. We also know the damage listed is untyped; which is to say no damage type is listed. This is consistent with the rogue's Sneak Attack feature. The consistent interpretation here is that the additional damage is of the same type as the weapon.
The above conversation with Jeremy Crawford is limited in scope, and I do not believe it applies here. In those examples, he discusses magical weapons (namely the flame tongue and frost brand) which deal an additional +Xd6 damage of a prescribed damage type. This is fundamentally different from affecting the character.
I'm not convinced it's permitted, and I wouldn't permit it at my table, but It's only +1d6. I doubt it would break anything if allowed.
Giant Might says "Once on each of your turns, one of your attacks with a weapon or an unarmed strike can deal an extra 1d6 damage to a target on a hit." So in my opinion you could make a case either way. I wouldn't be surprised if officially you couldn't use GWF to re-roll the Giant Might damage. However, given that we're talking about one die re-roll per turn, I doubt it would break anything to allow it.
I can certainly see an argument that it shouldn't be allowed. I think using Enlarge/Reduce is a good comparison, and the way that I would read that spell is that the extra die is affected by GWF, so I don't see why Giant's Might wouldn't be affected as well. However, it sounds like unless some Errata comes out, it, like many ambiguous rules, will fall to the DM. Lucky, it isn't a game breaking mechanic either way.
I decided to go looking through the SAC and found this:
If you use Great Weapon Fighting with a feature like Divine Smite or a spell like hex, do you get to reroll any 1 or 2 you roll for the extra damage? The Great Weapon Fighting feature—which is shared by fighters and paladins—is meant to benefit only the damage roll of the weapon used with the feature. For example, if you use a greatsword with the feature, you can reroll any 1 or 2 you roll on the weapon’s 2d6. If you’re a paladin and use Divine Smite with the greatsword, Great Weapon Fighting doesn’t let you reroll a 1 or 2 that you roll for the damage of Divine Smite.
I hope it helps.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Just want to get some more opinions on this. Would the extra 1d6 from Giant's Might be affected by Great Weapon Fighting? The way I read it, the extra damage die is considered part of the weapon's damage, which would make it affected by GWF. Would this be the case or is the extra d6 considered something not associated with the weapon?
Jeremy Crawford Tweets relevant to conversation: https://twitter.com/TasAthorell/status/988292424484061186
The extra damage comes from you, not the weapon, so I would say no.
EDIT: That was, maybe a little too quick. Let's go with what we do know, for certain, and then find an apt comparison.
I'm not convinced it's permitted, and I wouldn't permit it at my table, but It's only +1d6. I doubt it would break anything if allowed.
Giant Might says "Once on each of your turns, one of your attacks with a weapon or an unarmed strike can deal an extra 1d6 damage to a target on a hit." So in my opinion you could make a case either way. I wouldn't be surprised if officially you couldn't use GWF to re-roll the Giant Might damage. However, given that we're talking about one die re-roll per turn, I doubt it would break anything to allow it.
I can certainly see an argument that it shouldn't be allowed. I think using Enlarge/Reduce is a good comparison, and the way that I would read that spell is that the extra die is affected by GWF, so I don't see why Giant's Might wouldn't be affected as well. However, it sounds like unless some Errata comes out, it, like many ambiguous rules, will fall to the DM. Lucky, it isn't a game breaking mechanic either way.
Thanks all for offering your analysis!
I decided to go looking through the SAC and found this:
I hope it helps.