I didn't pick these spells intending it to be a combo, but... am I missing something? I suppose a DM could rule "make a melee spell attack for the hand" means it isn't actually you making the attack, but that seems like an awfully tiny hair to split
1) cast arcane hand 2) cast absorb elements as a reaction, make the concentration check to keep the hand up 3) use the melee spell attack option on the hand next turn, add in damage from absorb elements
The spell captures some of the incoming energy, lessening its effect on you and storing it for your next melee attack. You have resistance to the triggering damage type until the start of your next turn. Also, the first time you hit with a melee attack on your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 damage of the triggering type, and the spell ends.
Clenched Fist. The hand strikes one creature or object within 5 feet of it. Make a melee spell attack for the hand using your game statistics. On a hit, the target takes 4d8 force damage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I’m not sure that it would work. On one hand, the Hand is the one making the attack. On the other hand, it “uses your statistics”. It seems like it shouldn’t work RAW.
However, it’s not quite clear, and there’s no real balance issue for this being allowed, so you might as well ask/allow it if you’re ever the DM in this scenario.
This is interesting... I hadn't thought of it before, but it does make sense that Absorb Elements can be combined with Melee Spell Attacks as well as Melee Weapon Attacks.
That said... the Arcane Hand, although it uses your stats to determine its effectiveness, still has the wording "For the Hand", which, to me, says that it's still The Hand itself making the attack. Functionally, the Hand is an Object that you command... similar to, say... pulling levers to trigger a trap. You're doing something that causes something to deal damage, but you're not the one actually making the attack.
Melee spell attacks definitely work with Absorb Elements, but I could imagine a DM not allowing it with a lingering spell effect that you'd already cast and that's acting at a distance, like Arcane Hand or Spiritual Weapon. They could certainly allow you to mystically channel the elemental energy to your Hand or Weapon if they want, though!
But an extra 1d6 damage is tiny. Especially for a 9th level party.
Yeah, it's not a huge deal either way -- if I'm using absorb elements it's for the resistance -- but it would be a nice little bonus if I have arcane hand already out
Really it would be the difference between using a 1st level slot or a 2nd level slot on the casting
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
But no, I would not allow the arcane hand to get the absorbed element in damage. As it says in the description, "Make a melee spell attack for the hand ..." The hand is making the melee attack, not you (as in the caster). The hand is just using the caster's bonus.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I didn't pick these spells intending it to be a combo, but... am I missing something? I suppose a DM could rule "make a melee spell attack for the hand" means it isn't actually you making the attack, but that seems like an awfully tiny hair to split
1) cast arcane hand
2) cast absorb elements as a reaction, make the concentration check to keep the hand up
3) use the melee spell attack option on the hand next turn, add in damage from absorb elements
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I’m not sure that it would work. On one hand, the Hand is the one making the attack. On the other hand, it “uses your statistics”. It seems like it shouldn’t work RAW.
However, it’s not quite clear, and there’s no real balance issue for this being allowed, so you might as well ask/allow it if you’re ever the DM in this scenario.
This is interesting... I hadn't thought of it before, but it does make sense that Absorb Elements can be combined with Melee Spell Attacks as well as Melee Weapon Attacks.
That said... the Arcane Hand, although it uses your stats to determine its effectiveness, still has the wording "For the Hand", which, to me, says that it's still The Hand itself making the attack. Functionally, the Hand is an Object that you command... similar to, say... pulling levers to trigger a trap. You're doing something that causes something to deal damage, but you're not the one actually making the attack.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
Melee spell attacks definitely work with Absorb Elements, but I could imagine a DM not allowing it with a lingering spell effect that you'd already cast and that's acting at a distance, like Arcane Hand or Spiritual Weapon. They could certainly allow you to mystically channel the elemental energy to your Hand or Weapon if they want, though!
Interesting, I use both spells, but never thought of that.
RAW I can’t see that working. The Arcane Hand isn’t your hand.
But an extra 1d6 damage is tiny. Especially for a 9th level party.
Professional computer geek
Yeah, it's not a huge deal either way -- if I'm using absorb elements it's for the resistance -- but it would be a nice little bonus if I have arcane hand already out
Really it would be the difference between using a 1st level slot or a 2nd level slot on the casting
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I've used absorb elements and shocking grasp together quite well. It makes for an interesting come-back.
But no, I would not allow the arcane hand to get the absorbed element in damage. As it says in the description, "Make a melee spell attack for the hand ..." The hand is making the melee attack, not you (as in the caster). The hand is just using the caster's bonus.