No on both counts. Empty means "containing nothing, not filled or occupied" if it contains a small creature it is containing something and is occupied. I would rule that a creature does not die until the spell is completed but even if the DM decides you are trying to teleport into a space occupied by a corpse it is still not empty. If the DM chooses to allow it where does it stop? You can move into an allies space as long as you do not remain there.
Common sense means it is allowed if a speck of dust is in the space and as a DM I wouild allow it for all tiny objects as an easy definition of "empty".
The teleport spell has a Mishap column. This is what you are describing. It definitely would not be death.
For spells where you teleport to a seen location, this should not happen.
I Do not think what he is describing is like a mishap. The Eladrin Summer Fey step allows you to harm creatures within 5ft of you immediately after you teleport, the OP is wanting to know if they can teleport into a space occupied by a creature if immediately after the teleport the damage caused will result in their death. (The answer being no)
For clarification it should not happen because you should know if a space you can see is unoccupied.
If you attempt to do something which is not possible using the spell (eg try to misty step 200ft or to an occupied space) the spell fails because of that it is normally not attempted. There are exceptions for example you might try to teleport into a space you think is unoccupied but has an invisible creature in it, in the case the spell fails.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Question, does it count as an "unocupied space" a space where there's a creature small or lower an you are medium or more?
If not, could you do it if the creature dies with that teleport (Example, the Eladrin Summer Fey Step ability)?
No on both counts. Empty means "containing nothing, not filled or occupied" if it contains a small creature it is containing something and is occupied. I would rule that a creature does not die until the spell is completed but even if the DM decides you are trying to teleport into a space occupied by a corpse it is still not empty. If the DM chooses to allow it where does it stop? You can move into an allies space as long as you do not remain there.
Common sense means it is allowed if a speck of dust is in the space and as a DM I wouild allow it for all tiny objects as an easy definition of "empty".
The teleport spell has a Mishap column. This is what you are describing. It definitely would not be death.
For spells where you teleport to a seen location, this should not happen.
For other spells, such as Dimension Door, they should explicitly tell you what happens (4d6 and failed spell for Dim Door)
I Do not think what he is describing is like a mishap. The Eladrin Summer Fey step allows you to harm creatures within 5ft of you immediately after you teleport, the OP is wanting to know if they can teleport into a space occupied by a creature if immediately after the teleport the damage caused will result in their death. (The answer being no)
For clarification it should not happen because you should know if a space you can see is unoccupied.
If you attempt to do something which is not possible using the spell (eg try to misty step 200ft or to an occupied space) the spell fails because of that it is normally not attempted. There are exceptions for example you might try to teleport into a space you think is unoccupied but has an invisible creature in it, in the case the spell fails.