An interesting question came up about using Tomb of Levistus with the Elemental Gift flying feature of the Genie Warlock....
Tomb of Levistus says: As a reaction when you take damage, you can entomb yourself in ice, which melts away at the end of your next turn. You gain 10 temporary hit points per warlock level, which take as much of the triggering damage as possible. Immediately after you take the damage, you gain vulnerability to fire damage, your speed is reduced to 0, and you are incapacitated. These effects, including any remaining temporary hit points, all end when the ice melts.
Elemental Gift says: As a bonus action, you can give yourself a flying speed of 30 feet that lasts for 10 minutes, during which you can hover. You can use this bonus action a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest. (Keep in mind this is non-concentration flying.)
So if I trigger Tomb of Levistus while using EG Flying, I would become incapacitated, but possibly still be able to hover. So how would you rule on this? Would I fall while incapacitated? Or would the hover feature still keep me in the air?
Pretty sure you'd hover; you only fall out of the air while flying if you're knocked prone or reduced to 0 speed and don't have hover; since Tomb of Levistus doesn't remove your ability to hover you'd probably stay in place.
Since it's an unusual situation though it'd be a DM call, but it doesn't seem especially exploitable as the enemy must be able to damage you in the air if you were able to trigger it in the first place.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I see another genie using the tomb, a friend no doubt!
Like Haravikk said its a DM call. But to my RAW knowledge, (And slight interpretation :) You would hover, It sets your movement to 0 and you are incapacitated. Both of which shouldn't cause you to fall, though i've had DMs call that the weight of the ice makes you fall. But as Haravikk said, you'd hover.
Edit: As per the flying rules, located below
Flying creatures enjoy many benefits of mobility, but they must also deal with the danger of falling. If a flying creature is knocked prone, has its speed reduced to 0, or is otherwise deprived of the ability to move, the creature falls, unless it has the ability to hover or it is being held aloft by magic, such as by the fly spell.
Yes, so Haravikk and I are correct, so are you good fellow! If you tomb up you would stay in the air. Which helps both of us out because I did not know that either.
By extend of those rules interpretations, what stops you from flying? Will getting killed drop you? Being at 0 ? Will my corpse hover for 10 minutes?
Interesting question! I suppose technically once you're dead you're no longer a creature, your corpse is an object, so the normal movement rules wouldn't apply? Very much a DM's call though as it's not a case that's really covered in the rules as far as I can think of.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
An interesting question came up about using Tomb of Levistus with the Elemental Gift flying feature of the Genie Warlock....
Tomb of Levistus says: As a reaction when you take damage, you can entomb yourself in ice, which melts away at the end of your next turn. You gain 10 temporary hit points per warlock level, which take as much of the triggering damage as possible. Immediately after you take the damage, you gain vulnerability to fire damage, your speed is reduced to 0, and you are incapacitated. These effects, including any remaining temporary hit points, all end when the ice melts.
Elemental Gift says: As a bonus action, you can give yourself a flying speed of 30 feet that lasts for 10 minutes, during which you can hover. You can use this bonus action a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest. (Keep in mind this is non-concentration flying.)
So if I trigger Tomb of Levistus while using EG Flying, I would become incapacitated, but possibly still be able to hover. So how would you rule on this? Would I fall while incapacitated? Or would the hover feature still keep me in the air?
Thanks for any input!
Pretty sure you'd hover; you only fall out of the air while flying if you're knocked prone or reduced to 0 speed and don't have hover; since Tomb of Levistus doesn't remove your ability to hover you'd probably stay in place.
Since it's an unusual situation though it'd be a DM call, but it doesn't seem especially exploitable as the enemy must be able to damage you in the air if you were able to trigger it in the first place.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I see another genie using the tomb, a friend no doubt!
Like Haravikk said its a DM call. But to my RAW knowledge, (And slight interpretation :) You would hover, It sets your movement to 0 and you are incapacitated. Both of which shouldn't cause you to fall, though i've had DMs call that the weight of the ice makes you fall. But as Haravikk said, you'd hover.
Edit: As per the flying rules, located below
Yes, so Haravikk and I are correct, so are you good fellow! If you tomb up you would stay in the air. Which helps both of us out because I did not know that either.
"Anyone can smith at the cosmic anvil, yet only I can forge a weapon as good as thee."
My Homebrew Please click it, they have my family.
By extend of those rules interpretations, what stops you from flying? Will getting killed drop you? Being at 0 ? Will my corpse hover for 10 minutes?
Interesting question! I suppose technically once you're dead you're no longer a creature, your corpse is an object, so the normal movement rules wouldn't apply? Very much a DM's call though as it's not a case that's really covered in the rules as far as I can think of.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Like my mate Haravikk said its the DMs call. Yet for all the funnys in the copper dragons vault, I'd say it'd stay hovering in the air.
"Anyone can smith at the cosmic anvil, yet only I can forge a weapon as good as thee."
My Homebrew Please click it, they have my family.