Is there a way to roll the correct amount of dice for a spell that changes due to the level it is casted at. Included in this is Magic Missile it only rolls one dice when rolled no matter that it should be 3 at first level and increases at higher levels? Thanks for any help.
I believe RAW it is one roll and use the same damage for every dart. My DM is used to old editions/PF and asks me to roll on each missile like EB. So I just use the “display as attack” on the spell customization and click the damage 3 times.
I believe RAW it is one roll and use the same damage for every dart. My DM is used to old editions/PF and asks me to roll on each missile like EB. So I just use the “display as attack” on the spell customization and click the damage 3 times.
I would push back on this personally. We are not playing 3.5 or Pathfinder, this is 5th. I will admit that in 9 out of 10 cases it doesn't matter, but in the case of an Evoker wizard. It does. As confirmed by Jeremy Crawford, Magic Missile is ONE roll.
RAW states "a dart is 1d4+1" you have three darts which you can direct to different targets, or the same. The rules don't say that each dart does the same damage, so that point is really up to how your DM rules it.
RAW states "a dart is 1d4+1" you have three darts which you can direct to different targets, or the same. The rules don't say that each dart does the same damage, so that point is really up to how your DM rules it.
If a spell or other effect deals damage to more than one target at the same time, roll the damage once for all of them. For example, when a wizard casts fireball or a cleric casts flame strike, the spell's damage is rolled once for all creatures caught in the blast.
This is confirmed to apply to Magic Missile, as per RAW, by Jeremy Crawford, D&D 5th Edition Rules Designer, via Twitter(back when it was considered official Sage Advice):
The RAW is therefore 1d4+1 is rolled once, and all darts do this damage. You're free to play it how you want at your table but doing it differently will be a bad thing for Evoker wizards.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Is there a way to roll the correct amount of dice for a spell that changes due to the level it is casted at. Included in this is Magic Missile it only rolls one dice when rolled no matter that it should be 3 at first level and increases at higher levels? Thanks for any help.
Billy
I believe RAW it is one roll and use the same damage for every dart. My DM is used to old editions/PF and asks me to roll on each missile like EB. So I just use the “display as attack” on the spell customization and click the damage 3 times.
I would push back on this personally. We are not playing 3.5 or Pathfinder, this is 5th. I will admit that in 9 out of 10 cases it doesn't matter, but in the case of an Evoker wizard. It does. As confirmed by Jeremy Crawford, Magic Missile is ONE roll.
I agree but I need to go with rule 0. It is the DM's call. On a transmuter wizard, it comes out as a wash.
RAW states "a dart is 1d4+1" you have three darts which you can direct to different targets, or the same. The rules don't say that each dart does the same damage, so that point is really up to how your DM rules it.
RAW is roll once, apply to all targets.
Rules - Damage Rolls
This is confirmed to apply to Magic Missile, as per RAW, by Jeremy Crawford, D&D 5th Edition Rules Designer, via Twitter (back when it was considered official Sage Advice):
The RAW is therefore 1d4+1 is rolled once, and all darts do this damage. You're free to play it how you want at your table but doing it differently will be a bad thing for Evoker wizards.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.