Armor (shield), very rare (requires attunement)
While holding this Shield, you can take a Bonus Action to cause it to animate. The Shield leaps into the air and hovers in your space to protect you as if you were wielding it, leaving your hands free. The Shield remains animate for 1 minute, until you take a Bonus Action to end this effect, or until you die or have the Incapacitated condition, at which point the Shield falls to the ground or into your hand if you have one free.
Shields require the Utilize action to Don or Doff. You gain the Armor Class benefit of a Shield only if you have training with it.
Notes: Utility, Warding







-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 18, 2018Wonder if this would work while being a Druid and Wild Shaped.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 6, 2018I would say, almost the same rules as those for spells apply, meaning, you can activate the shield and it remains animated even if you transform, for up to 1 min, or until you are incapacitated:
You can't cast spells, and your ability to speak or take any action that requires hands is limited to the capabilities of your beast form. Transforming doesn't break your concentration on a spell you've already cast, however, or prevent you from taking actions that are part of a spell that you've already cast.
If you wish to activate it after you have transformed, your form needs to be able to speak for you to use a bonus action speaking its command word.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 9, 2018Unless you make the command word a roar or a sound of an animal you take the shape of most?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 10, 2018:D
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 10, 2018Yeah, sorry I was assuming you speak the command word before transforming unless you're high enough to where you can cast your druid spells while in Wild Shape form.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 14, 2019How would this interact with the Cleric's/Paladin's use of a Shield as their Holy Symbol for spell casting? Would you, then, be able to wield a 2 hand weapon and still cast spells?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 1, 2019Good question. I would like to know too.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 30, 2019Short answer: no. You need to be holding the shield to use the holy symbol on it. If you want to be able to wield a two-handed weapon and still cast spells, you should see if you can get a ruby of the war mage.
See the Sage Advice Compendium: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium#Spellcasting
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 22, 2019What happens after the 1 minute and the effect ends? I dont see a recharge... can you pick it up and animate it again?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 24, 2020This is my question as well, Doesn't say you can't so I imagine after a minute you can just use it again as long as you spend a bonus action to do so?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Feb 18, 2020I would say yes, it doesn't give any charges so in limited as long as you keep using a bonus action
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 8, 2020my dm said yes on this ,,not sure what your dm would go with but it sounds like it in the summary
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 12, 2020What's the command word?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 21, 2020Does anyone know how much weight an Animated Shield could support? Like if I was wielding the shield, and "held" it over my head so that a teammate could leap off of it and into the air to do a cool maneuver, could it actually support their body weight? And if so, what's the limit? Could it protect me from a falling building's debris?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 21, 2020Usually you as a character get to decide it's command word/phrase and you can attune it as so:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/magic-items#Attunement
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 6, 2020that's up to your DM since there are no rules on the matter
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 12, 2020@TheMuffinMan919
It can probably carry however much you can carry, since you're still 'wielding' the shield. It isn't intended to be a better Tenser's Floating Disk.
RAW, it likely won't protect you from falling debris, as those tend to be Dexterity Saving Throws.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 14, 2020I would agree unless said character has the Shield Master feat
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 6, 2020I’m trying to pick random magic items to describe as daelkyr creations so I’m better at that if I ever get to run an Eberron campaign. In this case, it’s a symbiont.
“Valaara, the Crawling Queen, has imbued the vermin in this container with a malign intelligence. To attune to it, you must pour out the contents of the container onto your arm, allowing the maggots within to burrow in. At your command, swarms of flies spill forth from your empty hand, creating a barrier that perverts the very concept of a shield to protect you. It can hover on its own or form a massive structure of flies upon your arm.
Symbiotic Nature. The shield can’t be removed from you while you’re attuned to it, and you can’t voluntarily end your attunement to it. If you’re targeted by a spell that ends a curse, your attunement ends, and flies and maggots spill from your skin all across your body until they’re gone”
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 10, 2020@ClericalKenku
If I were playing my Swarm Master character, I'd totally want that. The fly-shield's difficult de-attunement just creates more incentive to make the most of his first attunement, to Tattoos.