Ring, rare
You have Resistance to one damage type while wearing this ring. The gemstone in the ring indicates the type, which the DM chooses or determines randomly by rolling on the following table.
| d10 | Damage Type | Gem |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Acid | Pearl |
| 2 | Cold | Tourmaline |
| 3 | Fire | Garnet |
| 4 | Force | Sapphire |
| 5 | Lightning | Citrine |
| 6 | Necrotic | Jet |
| 7 | Poison | Amethyst |
| 8 | Psychic | Jade |
| 9 | Radiant | Topaz |
| 10 | Thunder | Spinel |
Notes: Resistance: Acid, Resistance: Cold, Resistance: Fire, Resistance: Force, Resistance: Lightning, Resistance: Necrotic, Resistance: Poison, Resistance: Psychic, Resistance: Radiant, Resistance: Thunder, Warding, Jewelry







-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 26, 2024Is attunement no longer needed? Nice.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 20, 2024Attunement is no longer needed...and you can craft these with the new 2024 crafting rules.
10 fingers for 10 resistances, uh oh.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 7, 2025They are all technically "Rings of Resistance". The flavor text even goes so far to note that they are the same type of ring, but with different gemstones, which dictates the type of damage that is resisted.
As such, I would rule that you can only gain the benefits of ONE of them at a time, as per the standard rules regarding magic item stacking.
Just as you can't gain the benefits of (2) Rings of Protection, I'd rule that you can't gain the benefits of (2) Rings of Resistance.
Yes, it's a stretch, I get that, but this needs to be reigned in somehow...
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 10, 2025Not a stretch in my eyes, and you're absolutely correct.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 29, 2025Yeah since they have their own entries you technically could use multiples. Main barrier is cost, and time.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 22, 2025You can’t get the benefit of 2 Rings of Protection because you can’t attune to two copies of the same item, Ring of Resistance do not require attunement.
You can rule it however you want if your games, but RAW they stack
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 3, 2025You can only gain teh benefit of 2 rings at a time, IIRC.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 19, 2025Unfathomable that this has no attunement but armor of resistance does. Should be reversed.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 18, 2025In the old DMG, resistance was an automatic required attunement, and I think for a very good reason. They really shouldn't have taken it off. Regardless, I'm ruling that you can only gain the benefits from 2 rings.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 25, 2025Does D&D Beyond allow stacking multiples of these?