Hey guys, amazing effort on the post! Thanks to everyone who collaborated, this was really eye opening.
I have something to add to the discussion regarding Defense.*
Q11: Can an Echo use class features of the Knight, for instance could it use Rogueish evasion to save against an AOE spell? A: No, because Echo's themselves cannot take Reactions, and the Knight wouldn't be the target of the attack that triggers those reactions, the Echo is. The only reaction the Echo can "take" is allowing the Knight to make an opportunity attack from its position. (thanks @LeviRocks)
The example mentioned in the question (Evasion) does not require a rogue's reaction. (This has some comic interactions with evasion still triggering while a rogue is unconscious, but that's beside the point.)
The text for a rogue's evasion states: "Beginning at 7th level, you can nimbly dodge out of the way of certain area effects, such as a red dragon's fiery breath or an ice storm spell. When you are subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you instead take no damage if you succeed on the saving throw, and only half damage if you fail."
So I would still rule that evasion does not apply for a Knight's Echo since the Manifest Echo feature mentions that "If it [the echo] has to make a saving throw, it uses your saving throw bonus for the roll." But nowhere does it mention additional features/traits/items/effect/etc. that would alter the saving throw in other ways for the Knight also affecting the Echo (similarly for evasion, it does not mention it extending to magical objects the rogue may control). And for all intents and purposes the Echo is a magical object that has a bonus for certain saving throws.
Now this does pose an additional question.
Q: Does a feature like a Paladin's Aura of Protection (bonus to saving throws) extend to the Echo? What if the Knight is in range of the aura? My humble answer would be that the aura itself does not protect the Echo since it only affects "friendly creatures", but if the Knight is in range of the aura (regardless of the position of the Echo) the Echo would also gain that same bonus to its saving throw. This works whether the Knight themselves is also paladin, or just in range of a Paladin's Aura of Protection.
*Disclaimer: I've read through the entirety of the original FAQ and some (but not all) of the comments so if this was already discussed, my apologies.
0
Hey guys, amazing effort on the post! Thanks to everyone who collaborated, this was really eye opening.
I have something to add to the discussion regarding Defense.*
The example mentioned in the question (Evasion) does not require a rogue's reaction. (This has some comic interactions with evasion still triggering while a rogue is unconscious, but that's beside the point.)
The text for a rogue's evasion states: "Beginning at 7th level, you can nimbly dodge out of the way of certain area effects, such as a red dragon's fiery breath or an ice storm spell. When you are subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you instead take no damage if you succeed on the saving throw, and only half damage if you fail."
So I would still rule that evasion does not apply for a Knight's Echo since the Manifest Echo feature mentions that "If it [the echo] has to make a saving throw, it uses your saving throw bonus for the roll." But nowhere does it mention additional features/traits/items/effect/etc. that would alter the saving throw in other ways for the Knight also affecting the Echo (similarly for evasion, it does not mention it extending to magical objects the rogue may control). And for all intents and purposes the Echo is a magical object that has a bonus for certain saving throws.
Now this does pose an additional question.
Q: Does a feature like a Paladin's Aura of Protection (bonus to saving throws) extend to the Echo? What if the Knight is in range of the aura?
My humble answer would be that the aura itself does not protect the Echo since it only affects "friendly creatures", but if the Knight is in range of the aura (regardless of the position of the Echo) the Echo would also gain that same bonus to its saving throw. This works whether the Knight themselves is also paladin, or just in range of a Paladin's Aura of Protection.
*Disclaimer: I've read through the entirety of the original FAQ and some (but not all) of the comments so if this was already discussed, my apologies.