AC
12
Initiative
+2 (12)
HP
19
(3d8 + 6)
Speed
30 ft., climb 30 ft.
Mod | Save | ||
---|---|---|---|
STR | 16 | +3 | +3 |
DEX | 14 | +2 | +2 |
CON | 14 | +2 | +2 |
Mod | Save | ||
---|---|---|---|
INT | 6 | -2 | -2 |
WIS | 12 | +1 | +1 |
CHA | 7 | -2 | -2 |
Actions
Multiattack. The ape makes two Fist attacks.
Fist. Melee Attack Roll: +5, reach 5 ft. Hit: 5 (1d4 + 3) Bludgeoning damage.
Rock (Recharge 6). Ranged Attack Roll: +5, range 25/50 ft. Hit: 10 (2d6 + 3) Bludgeoning damage.
I love the artwork on this guy.
Really gets the whole "murder ape" vibe going.
15 apes are considered deadly, meaning you can make a encounter of 15 apes to make a army.
Being a druid, shape shifting to an ape or baboon, wouldn't that allow one to still use a simply light weapon (specifically thinking of two hand axes)? I am referring to the description of the shape shifting rule:
Objects. Your ability to handle objects is determined by the form’s limbs rather than your own. In addition, you choose whether your equipment falls in your space, merges into your new form, or is worn by it. Worn equipment functions as normal, but the DM decides whether it’s practical for the new form to wear a piece of equipment based on the creature’s size and shape. Your equipment doesn’t change size or shape to match the new form, and any equipment that the new form can’t wear must either fall to the ground or merge with the form. Equipment that merges with the form has no effect while you’re in that form.
If this was to be allowed what would the stats be for this?
*Game Statistics*. Your game statistics are replaced by the Beast’s stat block, but you retain your creature type; Hit Points; Hit Point Dice; Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores; class features; languages; and feats. You also retain your skill and saving throw proficiencies and use your Proficiency Bonus for them, in addition to gaining the proficiencies of the creature. If a skill or saving throw modifier in the Beast’s stat block is higher than yours, use the one in the stat block.
So depending on your proficiency you would wield the weapon as normal
Thanks, that was probably basic knowledge I should have known (I admit I am a newbie player).
What about the use of the hand axes? Have anyone done that before or is it a complete no-go? If allowed, would the use of the hand axes mean that the damage on a hit is the same as for a humanoid using it (1d6 + STR. modifier)?
Recharge on Rock is new. I am just a bit concerned what they may throw at you while Rock is recharging.
monke
I found this very helpful, thank you
Yep. Since the ape has hands similar to a human, it could hold and use tools and such. And yeah, it would be normal damage, just using the ape's strength.
i play as a druid and i must say that the ape has been very helpful. i never expected such a low down animal to surprise me so much. it may not be the best at combat but it is quite fast and can clime that can be helpful at times
😨
You and 99 other men see an ape. Roll initiative