Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'can’t was reaction'.
Other Suggestions:
cast was reaction
can't was reaction
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
reactions. If you’re unsure when a reaction occurs in relation to its trigger, here’s the rule: the reaction happens after its trigger, unless the description of the reaction explicitly says otherwise. Once you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn.
4. Reaction Timing Certain game features let you take a special action, called a reaction, in response to an event. Making opportunity attacks and casting the shield spell are two typical uses of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
reactions. If you’re unsure when a reaction occurs in relation to its trigger, here’s the rule: the reaction happens after its trigger, unless the description of the reaction explicitly says otherwise. Once you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn.
4. Reaction Timing Certain game features let you take a special action, called a reaction, in response to an event. Making opportunity attacks and casting the shield spell are two typical uses of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
can do so even if you also take an action, a Bonus Action, or both. Once you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn. The Opportunity Attack is a Reaction available to all creatures. See also “Opportunity Attacks” and chapter 1 (“Actions”).
Reaction A Reaction is a special action taken in response to a trigger defined in the Reaction’s description. You can take a Reaction on another creature’s turn, and if you take it on your turn, you
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
can do so even if you also take an action, a Bonus Action, or both. Once you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn. The Opportunity Attack is a Reaction available to all creatures. See also “Opportunity Attacks” and chapter 1 (“Actions”).
Reaction A Reaction is a special action taken in response to a trigger defined in the Reaction’s description. You can take a Reaction on another creature’s turn, and if you take it on your turn, you
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
can do so even if you also take an action, a Bonus Action, or both. Once you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn. The Opportunity Attack is a Reaction available to all creatures. See also “Opportunity Attacks” and “Playing the Game” (“Actions”).
Reaction A Reaction is a special action taken in response to a trigger defined in the Reaction’s description. You can take a Reaction on another creature’s turn, and if you take it on your turn, you
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
can do so even if you also take an action, a Bonus Action, or both. Once you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn. The Opportunity Attack is a Reaction available to all creatures. See also “Opportunity Attacks” and “Playing the Game” (“Actions”).
Reaction A Reaction is a special action taken in response to a trigger defined in the Reaction’s description. You can take a Reaction on another creature’s turn, and if you take it on your turn, you
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
turn or on someone else’s. The Opportunity Attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of Reaction. When you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your
Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a Reaction. A Reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
turn or on someone else’s. The Opportunity Attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of Reaction. When you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your
Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a Reaction. A Reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
turn or on someone else’s. The Opportunity Attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of Reaction. When you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your
Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a Reaction. A Reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
turn or on someone else’s. The Opportunity Attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of Reaction. When you take a Reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your
Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a Reaction. A Reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Incapacitated [Condition] While you have the Incapacitated condition, you experience the following effects. Inactive. You can’t take any action, Bonus Action, or Reaction. No Concentration. Your
Concentration is broken. Speechless. You can’t speak. Surprised. If you’re Incapacitated when you roll Initiative, you have Disadvantage on the roll.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
Incapacitated [Condition] While you have the Incapacitated condition, you experience the following effects. Inactive. You can’t take any action, Bonus Action, or Reaction. No Concentration. Your
Concentration is broken. Speechless. You can’t speak. Surprised. If you’re Incapacitated when you roll Initiative, you have Disadvantage on the roll.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Incapacitated [Condition] While you have the Incapacitated condition, you experience the following effects. Inactive. You can’t take any action, Bonus Action, or Reaction. No Concentration. Your
Concentration is broken. Speechless. You can’t speak. Surprised. If you’re Incapacitated when you roll Initiative, you have Disadvantage on the roll.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
Incapacitated [Condition] While you have the Incapacitated condition, you experience the following effects. Inactive. You can’t take any action, Bonus Action, or Reaction. No Concentration. Your
Concentration is broken. Speechless. You can’t speak. Surprised. If you’re Incapacitated when you roll Initiative, you have Disadvantage on the roll.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
use this bonus action, you can’t do so again until you finish a long rest. Reactive Resistance. When you take acid, cold, fire, lightning, or poison damage, you can use your reaction to give yourself
resistance to that instance of damage. You can use this reaction a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
feet, and you have advantage on Dexterity (Stealth) checks. Shadowy Defense. When you take damage, you can use your reaction to become insubstantial for a moment, halving the damage you take. Then the reaction can’t be used again until the next sunset.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
use this bonus action, you can’t do so again until you finish a long rest. Reactive Resistance. When you take acid, cold, fire, lightning, or poison damage, you can use your reaction to give yourself
resistance to that instance of damage. You can use this reaction a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
feet, and you have advantage on Dexterity (Stealth) checks. Shadowy Defense. When you take damage, you can use your reaction to become insubstantial for a moment, halving the damage you take. Then the reaction can’t be used again until the next sunset.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
Casting Time Most spells require the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell’s Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required
. One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Casting Time Most spells require the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell’s Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required
. One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
Casting Time Most spells require the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell’s Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required
. One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
of 20. When a creature you can see hits you with an attack roll, you can use your reaction to force that creature to reroll. Once you use this ability, you can’t use it again until you roll initiative at the start of combat or until you finish a short or long rest.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
, which can occur on your turn or on someone else’s. The opportunity attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of reaction. When you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until
can’t decide what to do on your turn, consider taking the Dodge or Ready action, as described in "Actions in Combat." Bonus Actions Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Casting Time Most spells require the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell’s Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required
. One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
, which can occur on your turn or on someone else’s. The opportunity attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of reaction. When you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until
can’t decide what to do on your turn, consider taking the Dodge or Ready action, as described in "Actions in Combat." Bonus Actions Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
of 20. When a creature you can see hits you with an attack roll, you can use your reaction to force that creature to reroll. Once you use this ability, you can’t use it again until you roll initiative at the start of combat or until you finish a short or long rest.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
include a melee attack roll isn’t eligible to be chosen for an Opportunity Attack. Additionally, a monster can’t use its Multiattack when making an Opportunity Attack, because the use of Multiattack specifically predicates on taking the Attack action, and an Opportunity Attack takes a Reaction.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
your reaction to let the ally reroll the die. The ally must use the new roll. When you use this ability, you can’t use your Lucky racial trait before the end of your next turn.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
your reaction to let the ally reroll the die. The ally must use the new roll. When you use this ability, you can’t use your Lucky racial trait before the end of your next turn.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
your Dexterity or Intelligence score by 1, to a maximum of 20. Immediately after you take damage, you can use a reaction to magically become invisible until the end of your next turn or until you
attack, deal damage, or force someone to make a saving throw. Once you use this ability, you can’t do so again until you finish a short or long rest.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
doesn’t notice a threat is surprised at the start of the encounter. If you’re surprised, you can’t move or take an action on your first turn of the combat, and you can’t take a reaction until that turn ends. A member of a group can be surprised even if the other members aren’t.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
attack using a simple or martial weapon, you can roll one of the weapon’s damage dice an additional time and add it as extra damage of the weapon’s damage type. Once you use this ability, you can’t use it
again until you finish a short or long rest. Immediately after you use your Relentless Endurance trait, you can use your reaction to make one weapon attack.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Hold Back The Dead
to 10 feet directly away from yourself. If the creature is your size or smaller, you can also knock it down, giving it the Prone condition. Protective Field. As a Reaction, when you or an ally you can
Emanation appears, any creatures or objects not fully contained within it are pushed into the nearest unoccupied spaces outside it. The attack or area of effect that triggered the Reaction has no effect on
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Hold Back The Dead
to 10 feet directly away from yourself. If the creature is your size or smaller, you can also knock it down, giving it the Prone condition. Protective Field. As a Reaction, when you or an ally you can
Emanation appears, any creatures or objects not fully contained within it are pushed into the nearest unoccupied spaces outside it. The attack or area of effect that triggered the Reaction has no effect on
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast.
Bonus Action A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a
bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting