Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'convert release giant to have reaction'.
Other Suggestions:
confers release giant to have reaction
concept released giant to have relation
concept relate giant to have relation
covers release giant to have reaction
cover released giant to have reaction
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
. The target must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or have the Restrained condition. You can release the target by letting go of your end of the rope (causing the rope to coil up in the target
a Reaction to command the rope to coil up in your hand; otherwise, the rope coils up in the target’s space.
The rope has AC 20, HP 20, and Immunity to Poison and Psychic damage. It regains 1
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
While holding this rod, you can take a Reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting only you and doesn’t create an area of effect. The absorbed spell’s effect is canceled, and the spell
existence and how many levels of spell energy it currently has stored.
If you are a spellcaster holding the rod, you can convert energy stored in it into spell slots to cast spells you have prepared or
Monsters
Storm King's Thunder
Amphibious. The giant can breathe air and water.Multiattack. The giant makes two greatsword attacks.
Greatsword. Melee Weapon Attack: +14;{"diceNotation":"1d20+14","rollType":"to hit","rollAction
":"Rock","rollDamageType":"bludgeoning"} bludgeoning damage.
Lightning Strike (Recharge 5–6);{"diceNotation":"1d6","rollType":"recharge","rollAction":"Lightning Strike"}. The giant hurls a magical
Magic Items
Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica
.
Annihilation. If the dagger holds five souls, you can use this property: As a reaction immediately after you hit a creature with the dagger and deal damage to that target, you can release all five souls. If the
dagger has the following additional properties.
Siphon Vitality. As a bonus action, you can release any number of stored souls from the dagger to regain 1d10 hit points per soul released
Monsters
Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
Frost Rune. The giant has a frost rune inscribed on a chunk of ice or some other object in its possession. While holding or wearing the object bearing the rune, the giant can use its Ice Wolves
action and Ice Armor reaction.
The object bearing the rune has AC 16; 40 hit points; and immunity to necrotic, poison, and psychic damage. The object regains all its hit points at the end of every turn
Monsters
Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
Hill Rune. The giant has a hill rune inscribed on a rock or some other object in its possession. While holding or wearing the object bearing the rune, the giant can use its Stone Avalanche action and
Hill Rebuff reaction.
The object bearing the rune has AC 15; 20 hit points; and immunity to necrotic, poison, and psychic damage. The object regains all its hit points at the end of every turn, but
Monsters
Mythic Odysseys of Theros
Reactive. The giant can take one reaction on every turn in a combat.
Vigilant. The giant can't be surprised.Multiattack. The giant makes four longsword attacks or two rock attacks.
Longsword. Melee
saving throw or be knocked prone.Deflect Attack. The giant adds 5 to its AC against one weapon attack that would hit it. To do so, the giant must see the attacker and be wielding a melee weapon.Extra pairs
Monsters
Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
Cloud Rune. The giant has a cloud rune inscribed on a mask in its possession. While holding or wearing the mask bearing the rune, the giant has truesight within a range of 30 feet and can use its
Thunderous Clap action and Negate Spell reaction.
The mask bearing the cloud rune has AC 15; 45 hit points; and immunity to necrotic, poison, and psychic damage. The mask regains all its hit points at
Monsters
Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
the target is pushed to within 5 feet of a creature friendly to Jarund, that creature can make an attack against the target as a reaction.
Javelin. Melee or Ranged Weapon Attack: +7;{"diceNotation
","rollDamageType":"piercing"} piercing damage.The Elk King is Jarund Elkhardt, a terse yet thoughtful giant of a man who is nearly fifty years old—ancient by tribal standards. He has led the Elk Tribe for over half
Monsters
Monstrous Compendium Vol. 4: Eldraine Creatures
points for each head regrown this way.
Reactive Heads. For each head the hydra has beyond one, it gets an extra reaction that can be used only for opportunity attack;opportunity attacks.
Wakeful. While
reactions.A rare variety of hydra native to the wilds of Eldraine, snapping hydras resemble giant, many-headed turtles. Snapping hydras dwell at the bottom of the wild’s largest lakes, or along
Magic Items
Storm King's Thunder
another means of staying aloft.
Comforting Wind. You can’t suffocate.
Wind’s Grasp. As a reaction when you fall, you can cause yourself to take no damage from the fall. Once you use this
the item, you can convert up to 20 feet of your movement on each of your turns into flight. If you don’t land at the end of this flight, you fall unless you have another means of staying aloft
Monsters
Monstrous Compendium Vol. 4: Eldraine Creatures
an extra reaction that can be used only for opportunity attack;opportunity attacks.
Wakeful. While the Goose Mother sleeps, at least one of its heads is awake.Multiattack. The Goose Mother makes as
, you can use the Goose Egg Trinket table to determine the contents of one of the Goose Mother’s eggs that isn’t destined to hatch into a goose or a giant goose (also described in that book).
Magic Items
Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage
) check recognizes it as an uven (“enemy” in Giant) rune that confers great power.
While holding the shield, you benefit from the following properties.
Winter’s Friend. You are immune to
cold damage.
Deadly Rebuke. Immediately after a creature hits you with a melee attack, you can use your reaction to deal 3d6 necrotic damage to that creature.
Bane. You can cast the bane spell from
Monsters
Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
they can enter residences without invitation. When a gnoll vampire needs to travel quickly, it adopts the form of a giant, emaciated hyena. When it wants to catch its prey by surprise, it takes the
create a passage through the glacier unknowingly release the starving gnoll vampire from its icy sepulcher. For more information about Tekeli-li’s lair, the Caves of Hunger, see chapter 6.
Necrotic; Bludgeoning, Piercing, and Slashing from Nonmagical Attacks
Monsters
Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
Blood Rune. The fomorian has a blood rune inscribed on an effigy or some other object in its possession. While holding or wearing the object bearing the rune, the giant can use its Corrupting Hex
action and Poisoning Rebuke reaction.
The object bearing the blood rune has AC 15; 30 hit points; and immunity to necrotic, poison, and psychic damage. The object regains all its hit points at the end
Monsters
Eberron: Rising from the Last War
Tulkhesh magically polymorphs into a humanoid, beast, or giant that has a challenge rating no higher than his own, or back into his true form. He reverts to his true form if he dies. Any equipment he
). Each creature within 60 feet of Rak Tulkhesh must succeed on a DC 24 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If no creatures
Monsters
Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
creature within 30 feet of it that it can see. The target must succeed on a DC 16 Wisdom saving throw or use its reaction to make a melee weapon attack against a random creature within reach. If no
creatures are within reach, or the target can’t take a reaction, it takes 5 (1d10);{"diceNotation":"1d10", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"Commanding Spores", "rollDamageType":"psychic"} psychic
Magic Items
Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything
, you can use your reaction to cause them to be hit instead. You can’t use this reaction again until you finish a short or long rest.
4
The Mill Road Murders (halfling canine)
3 green hag
(Perception) checks from constant whispers of memories and nearby minds.
9
The Disappearances of Half Hollow (vomerine tooth of a Large toad)
4 giant toad;giant toads
Your long jump is up to 30
spells
Melee weapon, you can take a Reaction to have clots form around the weapon, entrapping it. The attacker must succeed on a Strength saving throw or the weapon sticks to you. If the attacker doesn’t
release the weapon, the creature has the Grappled condition while the weapon is stuck. While stuck, the weapon can’t be used. The target can take an action to make a Strength (Athletics) check
Monsters
The Tortle Package
Keen Smell. The giant slug has advantage on Wisdom (Perception) checks that rely on smell.
Spider Climb. The giant slug can climb difficult surfaces, including upside down on ceilings, without
spellcasting ability is Wisdom (spell save DC 11; +3;{"diceNotation":"1d20+3","rollType":"to hit"} to hit with spell attacks).Multiattack. The giant slug makes two attacks: one with its tentacles and one with
Monsters
Mordenkainen's Fiendish Folio Volume 1
shouts bloodcurdling threats at the creatures that serve it. Each medium or smaller ally of the giant within 120 feet of it that can see or hear it can use its reaction to make a melee attack.The place of
Denizen of the Mist. During its turn, the fog giant ignores the effects of fog cloud spells cast by it or other allied fog giants.
Keen Smell. The giant has advantage on Wisdom (Perception) checks
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell's magic requires concentration
. If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, your concentration might be broken.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell's magic requires concentration
. If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, your concentration might be broken.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction
broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, your concentration might be broken.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction
broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, your concentration might be broken.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of an action, and holding on to the spell’s magic requires Concentration, which you can maintain up
Ready [Action] You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of an action, and holding on to the spell’s magic requires Concentration, which you can maintain up
Ready [Action] You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of an action, and holding on to the spell’s magic requires Concentration, which you can maintain up
Ready [Action] You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of an action, and holding on to the spell’s magic requires Concentration, which you can maintain up
Ready [Action] You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
glares at a character and bellows, “FREE ME!” or “BRING ME MY HAMMER!” in Giant first and Abyssal second. If that fails to garner the desired reaction, Kostchtchie resorts to using telepathy to contact the nearest character, demanding its immediate release while offering nothing in return.
the chasm.
The demon lord Kostchtchie resembles a squat hill giant with short, bandy legs and a grossly shaped head. Frost giants who forsake their gods and turn to demon worship can summon
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
glares at a character and bellows, “FREE ME!” or “BRING ME MY HAMMER!” in Giant first and Abyssal second. If that fails to garner the desired reaction, Kostchtchie resorts to using telepathy to contact the nearest character, demanding its immediate release while offering nothing in return.
the chasm.
The demon lord Kostchtchie resembles a squat hill giant with short, bandy legs and a grossly shaped head. Frost giants who forsake their gods and turn to demon worship can summon
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
Rod of Absorption Rod, Very Rare (Requires Attunement) Conceptopolis Rod of Absorption While holding this rod, you can take a Reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting only you and doesn’t create
rod has absorbed over the course of its existence and how many levels of spell energy it currently has stored. If you are a spellcaster holding the rod, you can convert energy stored in it into spell
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
Rod of Absorption Rod, Very Rare (Requires Attunement) Conceptopolis Rod of Absorption While holding this rod, you can take a Reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting only you and doesn’t create
rod has absorbed over the course of its existence and how many levels of spell energy it currently has stored. If you are a spellcaster holding the rod, you can convert energy stored in it into spell
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Rod of Absorption Rod, very rare (requires attunement) While holding this rod, you can use your reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting only you and not with an area of effect. The absorbed
spellcaster holding the rod, you can convert energy stored in it into spell slots to cast spells you have prepared or know. You can create spell slots only of a level equal to or lower than your own
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
Rod of Absorption Rod, Very Rare (Requires Attunement) While holding this rod, you can take a Reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting only you and doesn’t create an area of effect. The absorbed
of its existence and how many levels of spell energy it currently has stored. If you are a spellcaster holding the rod, you can convert energy stored in it into spell slots to cast spells you have