Search Results
All Results
                Characters
                Compendium
                Spells
                Items
                Monsters
                Vehicles
                Forums
                
                        Returning 22 results for 'creature which rite'.
                    
                
                        
                            
                                Other Suggestions:
                            
                            
                                    
                                        creature which race
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        creature which ring
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        creature which rune
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        creature which rare
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        creature which rope
                                    
                                
                        
                    
                
                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    The Book of Many Things
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     centered on a point the hierophant can see within 60 feet of itself. Each creature within the sphere has the blinded and deafened conditions. Each creature that enters the sphere for the first time on a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     turn or starts its turn there must make a DC 17 Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 27 (6d8);{"diceNotation":"6d8", "rollType":"damage", "rollAction":"All-Consuming Star
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , or through twisted rituals of wicked spellcasters. Sometimes troll worshipers of Vaprak hear a call to gather in the Underdark and perform a gruesome rite that fuses them into an amalgam that is
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     regarded as an avatar of their fearsome god.
A troll amalgam is a misshapen mass of rubbery flesh, claws, and faces. If a creature tries to attack it from beyond its reach or to escape through a small
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Spells
                                                    Xanathar's Guide to Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     ability check, it can roll a d4 and add the number rolled to the ability check. A creature can benefit from this rite only once.
Dedication. You touch one humanoid who wishes to be dedicated to
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     your godâs service. For the next 24 hours, whenever the target makes a saving throw, it can roll a d4 and add the number rolled to the save. A creature can benefit from this rite only once
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     number rolled to the ability check. A creature can benefit from this rite only once. Dedication. You touch one humanoid who wishes to be dedicated to your godâs service. For the next 24 hours
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , whenever the target makes a saving throw, it can roll a d4 and add the number rolled to the save. A creature can benefit from this rite only once. Funeral Rite. You touch one corpse, and for the next 7 days
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Candlekeep Mysteries
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    
 If a creature dies after one of its vital organs is replaced by Valinâs organs, it can be returned to life by a wish spell or in one of the ways described below.
 Rite of Reclamation. A ritual known
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     as the rite of reclamation involves claiming some of the dust of Valinâs body after she has been reduced to 0 hit points. The ritual describes a process for mixing the dust with wax to create a magic
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Fizban's Treasury of Dragons
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     the dragon who stole those items might be an opportunity for such spirits to find rest at last. A haunting spirit might fully manifest as a ghost, a specter, a wraith, or a similar creature, or it
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Effects    d6 Hoard Curse Effect 
     1  Each affected creature gains 1 level of exhaustion that canât be removed until the curse is broken. 
   2  Each affected creature automatically fails saving
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     1d6. If the saving throw DC drops to 0, the creature overcomes the arcane blight and becomes immune to the effect of further exposure. A creature that fails three of these saving throws transforms
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     flaw and all other symptoms, but this magic doesnât protect the target against further exposure. Rite of the Arcane Octad To pass through the force field that surrounds the Spire of Iriolarthas (area
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     creatures in the room. Inscription. The inscription on the ceiling is written in Draconic and reads âFifth, quench the flame in thy palm with ice.â This is a passage from the Rite of the Arcane Octad (see
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     "Rite of the Arcane Octad"). Y21. Obelisk A sixty-foot-tall obelisk of black stone, its surface covered in arcane runes, projects from the ground. A thin crack has formed on one side, stretching from
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->The Book of Many Things
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     failed save, a creature takes 10 (3d6) necrotic damage and is pulled 10 feet straight toward the aspirantâs space. On a successful save, a creature takes half as much damage only.
 Sinister Devotion
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , the remaining leaders choose an initiate to fill the position, preferring initiates from the oldest broods. A new hierophant undergoes a rite similar to the rite of initiation, but only the other
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     gnarly face. The Nether Oak uses the treant stat block but is neutral evil and speaks Common and Primordial. When the characters arrive, the Nether Oak is in deep slumber. To complete the Rite of the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Arcane Octad (see "Rite of the Arcane Octad"), they must craft a wand from the wood of this tree. Gathering wood without waking the tree requires a successful DC 20 Dexterity (Stealth) check. If the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Masterâs Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    â66 Intended as a death trap to eliminate any creature that enters, perhaps to guard a treasure or to harvest souls for a necromantic rite 67â69 Intended as a tomb 70â72 Long known as the site of a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     crystal formations 85â87 On an island in an underground sea 88â90 On the back of a Gargantuan creature 91â93 Originally constructed as a mine but abandoned when tunnels connected to dangerous Underdark
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tomb of Annihilation
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     attack. Rite of Stolen Life Nanny Puâpu is a worshiper of Myrkul, the Lord of Bones, and knows a ritual of transformation that can turn a dead humanoid into a zombielike creature. Characters who bring
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     certainly be used in casting evil magic. Nanny Puâpu is the only creature in Chult who can perform the Rite of Stolen Life. The ritual takes 1 hour to complete and requires three things: a mostly intact
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     pass through it, nor can they teleport to any location inside it. Any creature that performs the Rite of the Arcane Octad (see "Rite of the Arcane Octad") near the spire can pass through the force
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    .
 Veneranda This ritual room is designed to serve a grisly purpose: the transformation of a living creature into a brain in a jar. Veneranda, a neutral evil Netherese wizard, extracted her own brain to
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     electrical fields.  Triggering the Game. The first time a creature steps onto the playing field, a dome of crackling electricity encloses the entire stadium. Nothing can physically pass through this
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     barrier, which is immune to all damage and canât be dispelled by dispel magic. The barrier also extends into the Ethereal Plane, blocking ethereal travel. Any creature that touches the barrier for the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->The Book of Many Things
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     artifacts and places to dig. 3 1d6 minotaur infiltrators are performing a bloody rite to Baphomet; if there are six, one is their leader, Brusipha (both stat blocks appear in this chapter). If
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     hit, the target takes an extra 3 (1d6) piercing damage, and if the target is a Large or smaller creature, it must succeed on a DC 11 Strength saving throw or be pushed up to 10 feet from the minotaur
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     gruesome rite that fuses them into an amalgam that is regarded as an avatar of their fearsome god. A troll amalgam is a misshapen mass of rubbery flesh, claws, and faces. If a creature tries to attack
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     it from beyond its reach or to escape through a small tunnel, the troll amalgam tears off a piece of its own body and hurls it at the creature. These body parts eventually regenerate into full trolls
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     healing power that replenishes when you finish a Long Rest. With that pool, you can restore a total number of Hit Points equal to five times your Paladin level. As a Bonus Action, you can touch a creature
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     (which could be yourself) and draw power from the pool of healing to restore a number of Hit Points to that creature, up to the maximum amount remaining in the pool. You can also expend 5 Hit Points
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Playerâs Handbook
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     healing power that replenishes when you finish a Long Rest. With that pool, you can restore a total number of Hit Points equal to five times your Paladin level. As a Bonus Action, you can touch a creature
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     (which could be yourself) and draw power from the pool of healing to restore a number of Hit Points to that creature, up to the maximum amount remaining in the pool. You can also expend 5 Hit Points
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Eberron: Rising from the Last War
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . They serve as guides and advisors to the living, and members of the noble lines of Aerenal can exercise the rite of counsel to consult with ancestors in Shae Mordai. The greatest members of the Undying
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Spell Attack: +9 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 15 (3d6 + 5) radiant damage.
 Healing Touch (3/Day). The councilor touches another creature. The target magically regains 18 (3d8 + 5) hit points
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Candlekeep Mysteries
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     creature that enters the area and can see normally is overwhelmed by multiple visions of itself. Each creature that passes through this area must succeed on a DC 20 Dexterity saving throw or accidentally
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     make contact with a mirror. A creature that makes contact with a mirror for the first time on a turn or starts its turn in contact with one takes 22 (4d10) psychic damage. A creature that passes
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Masterâs Guide (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     section to get started, and use the information in chapter 4 to help flesh out the villain.
 For example, your villain might be an undead creature seeking to avenge a past imprisonment or injury. An
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     astrological event, a holy (or unholy) rite, a royal wedding, the birth of a child, or some similar fixed time. The villainâs activities up to that point are geared toward preparation for this event
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Princes of the Apocalypse
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     on the edge of the quay or on a boat, reavers attempt to use the âShoving a Creatureâ special attack to push a character into the water. (The water is 15 feet deep near the quay.) Eyon prefers to
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     cavern ceiling. The creature attacks swimmers or boaters who approach within 30 feet of its lair. C4. Drowning Chambers A dank, rotten smell pervades this chamber. The floor is perforated by eight
                                                
                                            
                                        






