Level
1st
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
60 ft.
(20 ft. )
Components
V
Duration
Concentration
1 Minute
School
Evocation
Attack/Save
DEX Save
Damage/Effect
Debuff
Each object in a 20-foot cube within range is outlined in blue, green, or violet light (your choice). Any creature in the area when the spell is cast is also outlined in light if it fails a Dexterity saving throw. For the duration, objects and affected creatures shed dim light in a 10-foot radius.
Any attack roll against an affected creature or object has advantage if the attacker can see it, and the affected creature or object can't benefit from being invisible.
5e leaves such judgements to the DM to a greater degree than older editions. The guidance given by the rules is this:
- https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/running-the-game#ObjectsI think they should have defined the difference between creatures and objects a little bit more rigorously (much as they should have defined what it means to be dead in terms of game mechanics), but it's too late now. Maybe in 5.5. For now, things that are not creatures are objects and vice versa. Typically a creature has a full stat block, while an object has a reduced one, sometimes only AC and HP. Older editions defined a creature as anything with a Charisma score of at least 1, which may be a helpful guideline for DMs in 5e too.
1. No, a creature that failed its saving throw can't benefit from invisibility for the duration of the spell. Being unseen beyond 10 feet would be a benefit. Shedding dim light means that even if the area is otherwise in total darkness, other creatures will be able to see it from a distance even without darkvision. As other posts have pointed out, even if you technically can't see the creature itself, you can see the outline of light surrounding it, which is just as good for the purposes of attacking.
2. Yes, "Any attack roll against an affected creature or object has advantage if the attacker can see it".
Darkness is a good counter to faerie fire because it actually dispels any light-creating spell of 2nd level or lower when the light overlaps with the darkness.
I've always thought of it as yellow-orange in my mind
My character has Drow Magic, and is a 6th level wizard. Under Drow Magic, it says "When you reach 3rd level, you can cast the faerie fire spell once with this trait and regain the ability to do so when you finish a long rest."
Faerie Fire isn't an option on my character builder under spells. Is that an error, or am I disqualified somehow?
100% - in the case of the Darkness spell.
specifics: Darkness: "... A creature with darkvision can't see through this darkness, and nonmagical light can't illuminate it." Faerie Fire is magical light, however, this also applies, "... If any of this spell's area overlaps with an area of light created by a spell of 2nd level or lower, the spell that created the light is dispelled."
Faerie Fire is a 1st level spell, thus is dispelled by the Darkness spell.
This is the best spell to burn Legendary Resistances in the game. Dex saves normally only avoid some damage. But to give everyone in the party Advantage without the ability to save out of it is something the BBEG cannot let happen.
And if they roll high and just make their save you only burned a first level spell!
My artificer literally uses glitter when he casts this spell.
When I made a spell-storing device with 12 charges of this spell, it took the form of handing a bag of glitter to a teammate. It's fun flavoring.
faerie fire cancels invisibility since you are illuminated and now visible
scrolls and spellbooks
look under class feats
Does that mean, that if a creature lit up by fairy fire enters the AoE of a darkness spell, that ends the whole fairy fire spell, including its effect on objects and creatures outside of the darkness effect?