You gain the service of a familiar, a spirit that takes an animal form you choose: bat, cat, crab, frog (toad), hawk, lizard, octopus, owl, poisonous snake, fish (quipper), rat, raven, sea horse, spider, or weasel. Appearing in an unoccupied space within range, the familiar has the statistics of the chosen form, though it is a celestial, fey, or fiend (your choice) instead of a beast.
Your familiar acts independently of you, but it always obeys your commands. In combat, it rolls its own initiative and acts on its own turn. A familiar can't attack, but it can take other actions as normal.
When the familiar drops to 0 hit points, it disappears, leaving behind no physical form. It reappears after you cast this spell again. As an action, you can temporarily dismiss the familiar to a pocket dimension. Alternatively, you can dismiss it forever. As an action while it is temporarily dismissed, you can cause it to reappear in any unoccupied space within 30 feet of you. Whenever the familiar drops to 0 hit points or disappears into the pocket dimension, it leaves behind in its space anything it was wearing or carrying.
While your familiar is within 100 feet of you, you can communicate with it telepathically. Additionally, as an action, you can see through your familiar's eyes and hear what it hears until the start of your next turn, gaining the benefits of any special senses that the familiar has. During this time, you are deaf and blind with regard to your own senses.
You can't have more than one familiar at a time. If you cast this spell while you already have a familiar, you instead cause it to adopt a new form. Choose one of the forms from the above list. Your familiar transforms into the chosen creature.
Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must use its reaction to deliver the spell when you cast it. If the spell requires an attack roll, you use your attack modifier for the roll.
* - (10 gp worth of charcoal, incense, and herbs that must be consumed by fire in a brass brazier)
You're right, they shouldn't be unaligned, which is why I'd say you can't obtain a familiar of opposing alignment (as opposed to changing its alignment, which is fundamental to it).
Apparently I'm the first to ask, but can I mount my familiar?
For context I am a pixie (tiny) & my familiar is a stoat (tiny). I thought someone said that mounts have to be one size larger than your character, but I can't find that info.
If relevant I'm using Wild Companion to access Find Familiar.
So this came up in a game, in the Rules as Written format, can a player's familiar be dismissed and brought back in an area the caster cannot see or has never been?
For this scenario we were following A.L. guidelines, so we were playing R.A.W. : Caster Player wanted to Dismiss their Familiar, and have it reappear on the other side of a wall in a room they had never be in or scene the inside of so they had no knowledge if any place inside the room had "unoccupied" spaces. Would this be possible?
From mounted combat rules: A willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that has an appropriate anatomy can serve as a mount, using the following rules...
So only Wizard (or Warlock with certain Pact) can get a Familiar? So a Sorcerer or Bard could not get one?
I think I might have to House Rule it a 1st Level Spell for any Class that can cast 1st Level Arcane Spells.
As an action while it is temporarily dismissed, you can cause it to reappear in any unoccupied space within 30 feet of you
But ultimately it is up to ur dm
You would have to correct the aim by about 4 inches, maybe add 1 to opponents CR and difficulty or something. But "Additionally, as an action, you can see through your familiar's eyes and hear what it hears until the start of your next turn" which limits attack/cast/etc.
There's the ritual caster feat as well. Just take the wizard class.
An artificer with the spellwrought tattoo infusion can make a one-time use tattoo that casts the spell. The best part is that they can make that infusion a number of times per long rest equal to their proficiency bonus (but it doesn't get to the next number until the level AFTER their proficiency bonus improves, but "details.")
So, you can be an artificer giving out free owl familiars to your entire party, because you may only be able to cast the spell once, but the familiar remains until it dies or gets killed, which is why being able to dismiss it into a pocket dimension is so handy.
You could have an entire team of non-spellcasters have their own familiars as long as you have an artificer and your DM is allowing Tasha's Cauldron of Everything to be used as a sourcebook.
So, I'm not sure if this has ever came up for someone else before but can you still move freely whilst using the senses of your familiar? For instance, if I have a bat familiar that has blindsight and then I cast or encounter Darkness, could I use my familiar's senses to navigate the Darkness without having disadvantage?
I'm playing as a druid and one of my features is Wild CompanionTCoE, pg. 35 - "As an action, you can expend a use of your Wild Shape feature to cast the find familiar spell, without material components."
Would I still be limited to the animals listed?
Yes
It doesn't choose to be unaligned. It simply doesn't have the mental capacity to make moral decisions such as preferring to help others (Good) or help themselves (Evil), or to prefer strict codes (Lawful) or complete freedom (Chaotic).
The difference between True Neutral and Unaligned is that True Neutral creatures actively choose to mediate or even avoid moral decisions, whereas Unaligned creatures physically cannot make them.
So it being a different creature type doesn't mean it's any better at making moral decisions. It's still as dumb as ever, but this time, its unintelligence tastes like angels or smells like demons.
To me this spell is ambiguous in one respect: How far away the familiar can be and still have the wizard use its senses. Some DMs say 100 fee and tothers say there's no limit to that. Is there an official ruling?
So If i cast a spell through a Raven can i still make it use the Mimicry skill ?
Like if i use Minor Illusion through it to make a Unkindness of Raven circle a enemy and then make it imitate the cry of multiple crows to confuse the enemy...
Honestly i would call this : The Unkindness
Though I guess I could be making the Ravens illusions myself and just have the familiar use Mimicry separately...
Pretty sure it should be Venomous snake. But maybe not.
cant wait to have a rat
So, a few very important things to note about this spell:
The duration is instantaneous, meaning that after the spell has been casted, no magic is in effect any more. This means that your familiar will always stay with you, even through anyanti-magic or dispel magic.
The owl has the best stats, with darkvision of 120 ft, bonuses on perception and stealth (with outright advantage on perception checks that rely on hearing or smell), immunity against opportunity attacks when flying, and 60 ft of flying movement; this all means that it can effortlessly keep out of range of anybody without ranged attacks, as well as dodge and weave from attacker to attacker with its immunity to opportunity attacks keeping it perfectly healthy on its turn while doing so, then use its remaining movement to fly to safety behind the total cover it easily finds because it's so small.
Literally any touch spell you have can now be cast up to 100 feet away
So I've never used FF before but my GM right now is saying I need 10g of EACH of these items. 10g charcoal, 10g incense and 10g of herbs. We are currently in a place where everything is double the cost so it would be 60g to bring my familiar back. this is the first time I've had to bring her back.
I am sure it's meant to be 10g for the entire spell. Am I wrong? I'm fine with being wrong IF I actually am, but everything I've seen and read before led me to think it's 10g all in. With markups or markdowns depending on the shop at the time but you get my drift.
If you cast a spell through the familiar, would that count as you casting the spell for the purpose of ending invisibility?