You transform up to ten centipedes, three spiders, five wasps, or one scorpion within range into giant versions of their natural forms for the duration. A centipede becomes a giant centipede, a spider becomes a giant spider, a wasp becomes a giant wasp, and a scorpion becomes a giant scorpion.
Each creature obeys your verbal commands, and in combat, they act on your turn each round. The GM has the statistics for these creatures and resolves their actions and movement.
A creature remains in its giant size for the duration, until it drops to 0 hit points, or until you use an action to dismiss the effect on it.
The GM might allow you to choose different targets. For example, if you transform a bee, its giant version might have the same statistics as a giant wasp.
Why can’t I get this on my Druid (im a bit me btw)
Seems like the Spiders are the way to go. You get the most HP out that. Plus webbing can help control the board.
You could give the BBEG an ability to just summon a bunch of giant insects. Maybe as a lair action.
So this came up in a recent session. We were being attacked by a swarm of spiders and the Spore Druid cast Giant Insects, turning one of the swarms into two giant spiders (DM was trying to figure out how to make this work with a swarm). Rules as written don't say that you can't use this spell on a hostile creature, or a swarm, so it seems like RAW would work. Later, I suggested that I think the rules as intended were a bit different, with the following indications:
1. The spell is a transmutation spell, not an enchantment spell. This indicates that it shouldn't charm hostile creatures.
2. There's no spell save, which also indicates that it shouldn't have charming effects, as most charm effects have some sort of save. This indicates that the intent was to use neutral creatures, such as spiders, wasps, or centipedes (none of which are insects) that are around and available, but not in combat with you, or you have some other means of producing neutral, or friendly, specified creatures.
3. The dndbeyond.com states the effects of the spell as summoning, which leads me to believe that the effect is similar to summoning giant centipedes, wasps, or spiders, just without it being actual summoning.
This was a tricky conversation, as the RAW absolutely don't prohibit the spell from being used on hostile creatures, not does it allow a spell save. All said, the outcome was interesting and cool, but it felt like the spell was working in a way that wasn't intended. What are your feelings on the rules as intended for this situation, vs. Rules as written?