Level
2nd
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
60 ft.
(15 ft. )
Components
V, M *
Duration
Concentration
10 Minutes
School
Evocation
Attack/Save
None
Damage/Effect
Control
For the duration, magical Darkness spreads from a point within range and fills a 15-foot-radius Sphere. Darkvision can’t see through it, and nonmagical light can’t illuminate it.
Alternatively, you cast the spell on an object that isn’t being worn or carried, causing the Darkness to fill a 15-foot Emanation originating from that object. Covering that object with something opaque, such as a bowl or helm, blocks the Darkness.
If any of this spell’s area overlaps with an area of Bright Light or Dim Light created by a spell of level 2 or lower, that other spell is dispelled.
* - (bat fur and a piece of coal)






-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 5, 2024I’m attacking the Darkness…
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 7, 2024Whit the new "Emanation" rule, you can choose that the Emanation's origin isn't included in the area of effect.
Let's suppose I cast Darkness on myself (on my body, not on the equipment): I won't be included in the area of effect, OK. This means I'm not affected by the spell?
In this way, will I see through Darkness? Or the Darkness begins just 1 millimeter before my eyes and since I'm surroundend, I won't be able to see anyway?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 8, 2024So I can't cast it on an object that I myself carry anymore?
This was text from legacy Darkness: "If the point you choose is on an object you are holding or one that isn't being worn or carried, the darkness emanates from the object and moves with it."
So I'll have to drop it as a free action, cast darkness on it and pick it up as a move action?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 9, 2024Darkness can't be cast on a creature, so this situation won't be an issue. Were it to happen however, the darkness is entirely opaque and would prevent vision whether or not you're included in the emanation.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 13, 2024You wouldn't be able to cast Darkness on your character.
CreatureAny being in the game, including a player’s character, is a creature. See also “Creature Type.”
Object:
An object is a nonliving, distinct thing. Composite things, like buildings, comprise more than one object. See also “Breaking Objects.”
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 13, 2024You cannot cast "Darkness 2024" on an object being worn or carried. With Legacy (D&D 5e), you were able to. If you drop the item, cast "Darkness 2024", and pick it back up. You might be able to keep it active. It would be up to the discretion of the DM. As RAW vs RAI would come into play. I would allow it as a DM because RAW doesn't say "Once the item is held, the spell dissolves". Only states you can't cast it on an object being worn or carried.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 14, 2024I think possibly the reason to state it can't be cast on a worn or carried object is so you can't cast it on an enemies wielded weapon or shield or hat etc and ruin their day without dropping the thing or putting it away.
As a DM I would still allow it to be cast on an object the player is carrying since a player can easily get around the rules by dropping and picking it up anyway.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 17, 2024@Jiaozi96 Darkness doesn't create an emanation and doesn't follow you as you move. It creates a sphere around a singular point. If you're in that sphere then you are affected.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 19, 2024It does create an emanation, if you're talking about the 2024 version. And in the definition of "Emanation" it says that when the object moves the effect moves with it, so you can still cast Darkness on an object, pick it up and move it around and "carry the dark" with you. I was concerned about that because the 2024 version removed the language about the darkness moving with the object that was in the previous version and I wondered why they did that. Then I realized its because the definition of Emanation specifically allows this.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 4, 2024Interestingly, this spell does not specify needing to "see" the target object when casting. Theoretically, you could then cast it on a coin in a pouch, or similarly contained item, then draw it with your free action.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 19, 2024A. You can't cast darkness on yourself. The options given are either a point within range or an object that isn’t being worn or carried, neither of which include creatures.
B. Assuming you could, such as if your GM allowed it, you would still be surrounded by the darkness, and so there isn't any reason you would be able to see through it.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 19, 2024As long as the coin isn't being worn or carried. So if it was a coin in a coinpouch that you have tied at your waist, or in your bag, no, since that is being worn/carried. It would also have to be an open coin pouch one the ground nearby with the coin on top, as you still need a clear line of sight in order to target something with a spell.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 21, 2024I cannot find where it says that spells universally requires LoS, under the spell section. It may be elsewhere, but I suspect it is supposed to be on a spell by spell basis.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 22, 2024Under the "Targets" section.
"A Clear Path to the Target. To target something with a spell, a caster must have a clear path to it, so it can’t be behind Total Cover."
You're either targeting a point in space or an object. Either way, that target can't be behind totally cover thanks to the A Clear Path to the Target rule. You don't necessarily need to see the object, but it can't be behind totally cover, such as within a closed coin pouch or inside a closed chest
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 22, 2024For the part about if you cast the spell on an object that isn’t being worn or carried, It's not clear in my head if the spell is dispelled or not if the item is picked up after (within the duration).
For example, could I cast it on a coin that's laying on a table, pick up the coin and put it in my purse? If it's not dispelled, that would effectively block the darkness, right?
And then, before the 10 minutes duration limit, take the coin out and throw it somewhere to have the darkness spread. And perhaps even move the coin with a telekinesis or other shenanigans after that?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 18, 2024A Warlock with Devil's Sight would be able to see through it, but aside from that exception you would be correct most of the time
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 3, 2024It should have upcasting so that if cast at level N, it dispels light spells of level N or lower.
I've never played at a table that doesn't Homebrew it that way anyway, for both light and dark magic, in both directions.
Some would argue that is RAI, but for sure this RAW and I'm quite certain that is not the intention. Spells do what they say they do, and no more. With the rules on Spellcasting, if this was cast with a 3rd level slot, it would not dispel the Daylight spell, yet Daylight can end this.
It's clear to me that Daylight > Darkness > Light, both RAW and RAI.
IMO, these spells (not cantrips) should have the upcasting mechanic applied, so that they can dispel one another, as long as the spell slot level used is equal or higher. It's simple since the mechanic of dispel is already there, easy to manage, easy to run, and most importantly: fun. It also gives you another reason to use the Study action, and provides further benefit of being able to do so in combat as a Bonus Action (available as a feat, or to certain subclasses).
For example, you could do a Bonus Action Intelligence (Arcana) check as part of the Study action to determine the level of the spell (DC is 10 + spell slot level used), and on a success the caster learns the level of the spell, and thus knows what level to cast this as an Action (or potentially Dispel Magic). That's a fun, rewarding interplay, but you can't do it because the mechanic wasn't included. It's rigid, hard-coded knowledge as currently designed.
There's no reason to just not embrace the same mechanic as Dispel Magic here, since it's dispelling. In fact, I'd argue that it's actually confusing not to, and violates the simplicity tent pole by introducing inconsistency. IMO, this inconsistency in functionality trumps the minor complexity introduced by the the upcasting, since that exact same upcasting mechanic applies elsewhere for other dispel mechanics, specifically, Dispel Magic.
Maybe in D&D 2034... :-P
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Feb 9, 2025I like this interpretation. It might be as simple for newer players as there is a bit of complexity, but it is really a sub-case for the spell generally. By the time upcasting/dispelling becomes a thing for Darkness/Light/Daylight, it should be an easier idea to wrap one's newbie head around.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Feb 9, 2025I enjoy casting this on a magnet, then throwing (or mage-handing) it over at a bad guy in armour. If the DM is fussy about LoS, you could throw it from a closed fist (ranged attack to strike and stick), or mage hand it wrapped in cloth (or in a bag) and simply shake it out over top of the target (give the target a Dex check to avoid sticking, but they'll be standing over the darkness regardless.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Feb 12, 2025Yeah as of now there isn't upcastability built in specifically for darkness.