Level
1st
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
30 ft.
Components
V, S, M *
Duration
Concentration
1 Minute
School
Enchantment
Attack/Save
WIS Save
Damage/Effect
Prone (...)
One creature of your choice that you can see within range makes a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, it has the Prone and Incapacitated conditions for the duration. During that time, it laughs uncontrollably if it’s capable of laughter, and it can’t end the Prone condition on itself.
At the end of each of its turns and each time it takes damage, it makes another Wisdom saving throw. The target has Advantage on the save if the save is triggered by damage. On a successful save, the spell ends.
Using a Higher-Level Spell Slot. You can target one additional creature for each spell slot level above 1.
* - (a tart and a feather)






-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 11, 2024There's an error on the last line. Using a Higher-Level Spell Slot. You can target one additional creature for each spell slot level about 1. It's above 1, not about.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 14, 2024True
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 24, 2024Casting Spellwords are:
Hilarus Appalium
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 24, 2024Does it work on undead?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 6, 2024They buffed this spell from 2014. Previously, it wouldn't work on creatures with less than four intelligence. That's now removed.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 17, 2024The legacy version also didn't allow for targeting additional creatures with higher level spell slots.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 2, 2025It seems strange that with the removal of INT requirement (5 or higher) that this would now affect Animated Armor (INT of 1). Was that the intent of the change in the rule, or does common sense dictate that something that lacks free-will, or a larynx, is incapable of doubling over in laughter?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 3, 2025It states "If it's capable of laughter" which is somewhat vague, but makes it so that the DM could choose, I suppose.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 19, 2025My player gave his paladin this spell using Magic Initiate. Doesn't seem right. Am I missing something, or am I just wrong? lol
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 22, 2025It is in wizards spellist. your player should be able have this spell if Magic Initiate is Wizard