Level
2nd
Casting Time
1 Bonus Action
Range/Area
Touch
(15 ft. )
Components
V, S, M *
Duration
Concentration
1 Minute
School
Transmutation
Attack/Save
DEX Save
Damage/Effect
Acid (...)
You touch one willing creature, and choose Acid, Cold, Fire, Lightning, or Poison. Until the spell ends, the target can take a Magic action to exhale a 15-foot Cone. Each creature in that area makes a Dexterity saving throw, taking 3d6 damage of the chosen type on a failed save or half as much damage on a successful one.
Using a Higher-Level Spell Slot. The damage increases by 1d6 for each spell slot level above 2.
* - (a hot pepper)
It’s pretty much the same as the 2014 Dragon’s Breath but with fewer flavor text. I’m not sure how to feel about this, but I guess for a new player it doesn’t dragon and goes straight to the point.
Excuse the wording of this: can you touch yourself?
Yes, you can always touch yourself
The creature doesn't need a mouth anymore. so my black pudding familiar can use this legally.
I think, you still need the verbal part, as it has the component requirements V, S, M.
Sure to CAST the spell i need V,S,M but to use it it's just a magic action, and it does say the target needs to make that action.
Thanks for clearing this up. Now I understand what you mean.
what a pun
I would say based on the name of the spell and the language that one "exhale[s] a 15-foot cone" that a creature needs a mouth to benefit from this spell and that positing otherwise requires a bad-faith interpretation of the rules.
If only Artificers could cast this. Alchemist Artificers would have a potion made from spicy peppers that makes you literally breathe fire. Other Artificers would have a flamethrower. Imagine being an Artillerist combining this spell with a Tiny Flamethrower Eldritch Cannon to have a more powerful flamethrower (action for Dragons Breath, bonus action for Eldritch Cannon). Battle Smith Artificers can cast it on their Steel Defender for better action economy (since their Steel Defender naturally spends time on the frontlines). Any Artificer can cast it through their Homunculus Servant.
Think of all the possibilities, both mechanically and aesthetically.
You can exhale out of nothing if you have a spell that doesn't require a mouth. It's magic. The creature doesn't have altered physiology that lets it spit flame, it just spits flame at will. If it does need altered physiology, good news, it's magic. Your ooze opens a little hole in its side and magicly breaths flame out of it compressing itself slightly as it does so.
Can the creature keep using magic actions on each of its turns to breathe fire (or other damage type)? The spell doesn't say that it ends when you do so.
Yes. That's why it says "Until the spell ends".