Level
3rd
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
Self
Components
V, S
Duration
Concentration
1 Minute
School
Necromancy
Attack/Save
Melee
Damage/Effect
Necrotic
The touch of your shadow-wreathed hand can siphon life force from others to heal your wounds. Make a melee spell attack against one creature within reach. On a hit, the target takes 3d6 Necrotic damage, and you regain Hit Points equal to half the amount of Necrotic damage dealt.
Until the spell ends, you can make the attack again on each of your turns as a Magic action, targeting the same creature or a different one.
Using a Higher-Level Spell Slot. The damage increases by 1d6 for each spell slot level above 3.
Would love if A monk can, once per turn, can use this with one of its unarmed attacks while concentrating. Instead, the monk can lose int MA attack to make the Spell Attack BUT can-do flurry of blows as a bonus action. Does this bean a Cleric/Monk and do this in Medium or Heavy armor?
A Monk could use a Magic action to cast this spell and then use Flurry of Blows as a bonus action, yes.
You can only cast spells while wearing armor if you're proficient with the type of armor you're wearing. All Clerics are proficient in Medium armor; Clerics who take the "Protector" option for their level 1 "Divine Order" feature also have proficiency with Heavy armor.
However, many Monk features don't work while wearing any armor at all, regardless of proficiency. I think under a strict reading of the rules you can still use Flurry of Blows while wearing armor, but you don't benefit from the Martial Arts feature, which among other things means those Flurry of Blows unarmed strikes have to be made with Strength rather than Dexterity, and they don't use the Martial Arts damage die.
Basically, don't wear armor as a Monk even if some other class gives you proficiency with it.
Just have to get 5 levels in CLERIC to get V. Touch at base level.
Need to Decide what class features I want for Multi Classing.
This needs to do 3d8. I know it also heals (a small amount) but it's worse for damage than Shadowblade and Flameblade.
If the distant spell metamagic was used to increase the range to 30 feet, would that only affect the initial attack or would the range remain 30 feet for the duration of the spell?
Distant Spell cannot be used on this spell, because it only works on spells that have a range of Touch or a range of at least 5 feet. This spell has a range of Self and therefore isn't eligible.
Ah, you are right, I got thrown off by the word touch in the spell name.
Yeah, it’s weird. Honestly, I suspect the reason it says Self is specifically to prevent things like Distant Spell from messing with the range, for balance reasons.