
Origin Feat
You gain the following benefits.
Two Cantrips. You learn two cantrips of your choice from the Cleric, Druid, or Wizard spell list. Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma is your spellcasting ability for this feat’s spells (choose when you select this feat).
Level 1 Spell. Choose a level 1 spell from the same list you selected for this feat’s cantrips. You always have that spell prepared. You can cast it once without a spell slot, and you regain the ability to cast it in that way when you finish a Long Rest. You can also cast the spell using any spell slots you have.
Spell Change. Whenever you gain a new level, you can replace one of the spells you chose for this feat with a different spell of the same level from the chosen spell list.
Repeatable. You can take this feat more than once, but you must choose a different spell list each time.

So the CHA Classes are all gone from this? I suspect it was to remove access to class specific spells, but you still have access to the Druid and Cleric exclusive spells...
Yes its good that you can now use any Ability.
it would make sense as sorcerers' magic comes from within and warlocks' from deals with other creatures so they can't just be taught?
Does this feat give a +1 miscellaneous bonus to the attribute you chose for your spellcasting ability? Cuz that seems to be the case in dndbeyond
It shouldn't be.
This was on me. I forgot I gave my character in question the skill expert feat at level 4!
In the character creator, this isn't giving me two additional cantrips as a level 1, it's just giving me a different list to pick the two cantrips I should have at level 1 anyway. Is this correct?
Cool
Can you not upcast the 1st level spell you get from this? I get that the free casting is 1st level, but I assumed it worked like any other spell once you use your spell slots. I don't see the spell appear in my upcast spell slots and can't upcast manually from the spell field
]
Yes, you can. There is a long-standing bug in the D&D Beyond character sheet where it does not show you a button for doing this, likely because it technically wasn't allowed under 2014 rules, but it is definitely allowed under the 2024 rules (it says so right in the feat description).
Where the rules and D&D Beyond's implementation of the rules differ, the rules win.
If I have this feat and choose Cleric spells, would that count as a Wizard Spell for my invoker for the purposes of Overchannel?
I do not believe so. My understanding is that the Overchannel feat requires the spell to be on _your character's_ wizard spell list. This is different from your character's list of prepared spells because prepared spells could come from multiple sources -- different classes or, in this case, a feat. The feat says nothing about adding the spell to a class's spell list.
Here's the text for class spell list on D&D Free:
Class Spell Lists
If a spell is on a class’s spell list, the class’s name appears in parentheses after the spell’s school of magic. Some features add a spell to a character’s spell list even if the character isn’t a member of a class in the parentheses.
Note: Adding something to the character's (class) spell list is different from adding to prepared spells. You can cast all prepared spells from your spell slots, but many class features require the spell be on that class's spell list. So, to use a cleric spell with evocation wizard's Overpower you would need the spell to either:
- also be on the wizard spell list - the Augury spell is an example of a spell on both cleric and wizard spell lists
- you would need to have a class feature that specifically adds that spell to your class spell list
I chose this but when I select the cantrips it doesn't give me the DMG die to roll if they are part of the extended rules unless I am level 5. Is this an error or is this how it is supposed to be?
I chose this for my druid, but then it says that the 1st level spell I chose is NOT prepared. Am I doing something wrong, or is IT?
Which cantrip, specifically, are you talking about? Some that involve weapon attacks (e.g. Booming Blade) don't have their own damage roll before level 5, and just use the weapon's damage roll.
if the spells you choose from this feat can be cast as rituals but these are your only spells due to being a martial class, do you automatically get the ability to ritually cast them?
Yes. The 2024 rules on spellcasting allow anyone casting a spell that has the ritual tag to cast it as a ritual, regardless of how they get access to the spell.
This was different in the 2014 rules, where ritual casting was part of the Spellcasting class feature and so classes without that feature couldn't use it.
thank you, totally missed that change.
If you level up and switch your level 1 spell choice do you get to cast it once for free? (even if you had cast your earlier choice once since your last long rest).
Hey there guys I have a question for everyone. The Magic Initiate feature doesn’t allow the player to use their spell slots like it is supposed to. What is the best way to fix this so that it works properly? 2024 core rules if that matters.
I guess a little bit of context might help. I have a Wizard who took Magic Initiate(Cleric) so that he could take Healing Word and it doesn’t work right. I can just homebrew it so that Wizards can use Healing Word, but then it would take up one of his prepared spells. So that wouldn’t exactly work out.
This has been brought up on the support forum a lot — for some reason D&D Beyond's character builder can't give you that "cast" button for a spell you get from a feat if it's a spell you get to choose from a list. This has been a problem for a long time, and while it has been reported to the developers, they have not given us any information about when it might be fixed, or if they plan to fix it at all.
Fortunately, all that button really does is just check off a spell slot, which you can just do manually.