Hello, when you are in range of a flamethrower, are you making DC saves against the canon or against the Artificer?
I am not sure how the below ruling for Artificers apply in this case
In addition, you use your Intelligence modifier when setting the saving throw DC for an artificer spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one.
Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Intelligence modifier
Hello, when you are in range of a flamethrower, are you making DC saves against the canon or against the Artificer?
I am not sure how the below ruling for Artificers apply in this case
<p style="padding-left: 30px;">In addition, you use your Intelligence modifier when setting the saving throw DC for an artificer spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one.</p>
<div class="text-center" style="padding-left: 30px;"><b>Spell save DC</b> = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Intelligence modifier</div>
Flamethrower segment of Eldritch Canon:
The cannon exhales fire in an adjacent 15-foot cone that you designate. Each creature in that area must make a Dexterity saving throw against your spell save DC, taking 2d8 fire damage on a failed save or half as much damage on a successful one. The fire ignites any flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried.
The "you" in this case is the Artificer and thus is refering to the Artificer's spell save DC. The eldritch canon is not a creature and does not have its own spell save DC.
If the question is "what is the source of the save effect - the artificer or the turret itself?", as it seems to be?
I would need to know why you're asking, i.e. in which situation you think it matters. In most situations I know of it would not matter, as both the DC and the effect are the same regardless of the source. Were I to make a ruling with what I know now alone, with my DM Hat on, I'd say the artificer is still the source of the effect. A Flaming Sphere acts similarly in that it is a semi-independent object under the direct control of its originator, and Flaming Sphere unquestionably treats its caster as the source of the effect. An eldritch cannon doesn't do bunk if the artificer doesn't make it do stuff, so I'd treat the artificer as the source of the effect.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please do not contact or message me.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello, when you are in range of a flamethrower, are you making DC saves against the canon or against the Artificer?
I am not sure how the below ruling for Artificers apply in this case
Flamethrower segment of Eldritch Canon:
The "you" in this case is the Artificer and thus is refering to the Artificer's spell save DC.
The eldritch canon is not a creature and does not have its own spell save DC.
If the question is "what is the source of the save effect - the artificer or the turret itself?", as it seems to be?
I would need to know why you're asking, i.e. in which situation you think it matters. In most situations I know of it would not matter, as both the DC and the effect are the same regardless of the source. Were I to make a ruling with what I know now alone, with my DM Hat on, I'd say the artificer is still the source of the effect. A Flaming Sphere acts similarly in that it is a semi-independent object under the direct control of its originator, and Flaming Sphere unquestionably treats its caster as the source of the effect. An eldritch cannon doesn't do bunk if the artificer doesn't make it do stuff, so I'd treat the artificer as the source of the effect.
Please do not contact or message me.