The "while your movement speed isn't 0" thing just means that you can't do it if something is actively stopping you from moving. "Movement Speed =0" is sorta D&D code for "An outside effect is preventing you from moving", and they decided harengons aren't allowed to bunnyhop out of that.
I'm aware of this. But this does not in text in any way say or truely imply that it is done without movement. I'm not reading that as taking movement because it makes a remark about speed being 0.
As i have already said. It reads just like a bonus action jump that adjusts mechanics for distance but not movement requirements. That movement speed = 0 thing just reads like it's clarifying that you can't use it to escape certain effects rather than entirely lacking movement cost.
It doesn't say that this trait requires movement, so it doesn't. Compare that to the Satyr:
Mirthful Leaps
Whenever you make a long or high jump, you can roll a d8 and add the number rolled to the number of feet you cover, even when making a standing jump. This extra distance costs movement as normal.
This specifically calls out that the ability requires movement.
That is not your call to make. You may feel like your the authority and justified because you know Jeremy's reasoning. But it would be even nicer if the ability made that clear. There are examples of things that are movement but not your traditional movement telling you that the movement is extra such as dash and the Aggressive trait of the Orc. And there are abilities that make clear it's still using your same movement like the one for the Satyr. So the standard is telling us what applies either way when it comes to such special cases. I'm not even knocking Jeremy's reasoning or how he reached it. I'm just saying that the ability is not clear and could use a little clarification because it is not clear and then I've given you justification of why it's not clear. your not refuting the justifications even at this point.
It doesn't say that this trait requires movement, so it doesn't. Compare that to the Satyr:
Mirthful Leaps
Whenever you make a long or high jump, you can roll a d8 and add the number rolled to the number of feet you cover, even when making a standing jump. This extra distance costs movement as normal.
This specifically calls out that the ability requires movement.
That's the UA version, not the final product that was released in the book. It changed quite a bit between the playtest version and the official printed version.
That is not the UA version of the Satyr's ability. It's the final version from Mystic Odysseys.
All I was saying is that a rule, ability, or trait (i.e. Rabbit Hop) does what it says it does and no more or less.
If you are justifying that it requires clarification, then I can agree with that. There are enough people asking the question and wondering. I'm also saying that the question has been answered and now we know.
Jeremy Crawford confirmed during the D&D Celebration that a Harengon's Rabbit Hop doesn't take movement.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
That is not your call to make. You may feel like your the authority and justified because you know Jeremy's reasoning. But it would be even nicer if the ability made that clear. There are examples of things that are movement but not your traditional movement telling you that the movement is extra such as dash and the Aggressive trait of the Orc. And there are abilities that make clear it's still using your same movement like the one for the Satyr. So the standard is telling us what applies either way when it comes to such special cases. I'm not even knocking Jeremy's reasoning or how he reached it. I'm just saying that the ability is not clear and could use a little clarification because it is not clear and then I've given you justification of why it's not clear. your not refuting the justifications even at this point.
That is not the UA version of the Satyr's ability. It's the final version from Mystic Odysseys.
All I was saying is that a rule, ability, or trait (i.e. Rabbit Hop) does what it says it does and no more or less.
If you are justifying that it requires clarification, then I can agree with that. There are enough people asking the question and wondering. I'm also saying that the question has been answered and now we know.
Hopefully we will be starting this one in a couple weeks and I am excited to give Lapin a go at doing the Artificer thing...