RAW you can't end an infusion willingly. The only way to get rid of an infusion is to get over your limit often enough so it gets replaced (it always replaces your oldest infusion when you go over your infusion limit) or to completely replace the infusion when you level up so you don't know it anymore.
Though I have yet to see a DM that enforces this. Most usually just let you end an infusion whenever you want to.
So if I have the following Infusions with my limit of three active
I would need to loop through the three remaining Infusions to knock out each active one to be able to 'change' the Resistant Armor to Cold. In short, it would take me two long rests to accomplish this change.
RAW you can't end an infusion willingly. The only way to get rid of an infusion is to get over your limit often enough so it gets replaced (it always replaces your oldest infusion when you go over your infusion limit) or to completely replace the infusion when you level up so you don't know it anymore.
Though I have yet to see a DM that enforces this. Most usually just let you end an infusion whenever you want to.
So if I have the following Infusions with my limit of three active
I would need to loop through the three remaining Infusions to knock out each active one to be able to 'change' the Resistant Armor to Cold. In short, it would take me two long rests to accomplish this change.
Nope one long rest is all it takes.
Infusing an Item
Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. An infusion works on only certain kinds of objects, as specified in the infusion's description. If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement (see the attunement rules in the Dungeon Master's Guide).
Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day). The infusion also vanishes if you replace your knowledge of the infusion.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion ends, and then the new infusion applies.
If an infusion ends on an item that contains other things, like a bag of holding, its contents harmlessly appear in and around its space.
You just need to carry some spare non magical items to cycle through your infusions.
Yeah you can do it all with just one long rest. The cycling is mainly important for when you don't have one or more of your infusions with you or if it's crucial for one of them to stay active without interruption. Again though, most DMs let Artificers just end an infusion if they want to without having to go through that whole process.
Functionally it doesn't matter as you can just re-infuse the exact same items with the exact same infusions each time you finish a long rest. If you try to infuse an item that is already infused, it will end any current infusion on it to apply the new infusion (and will end the infusion of any item that previously had the new infusion on it) So essentially infusing a bag to be a BoH would just "refresh" the infusion.
Reusing the Resistant Armor infusion would override the rule of "first infused item ends first" because the moment you try to use Resistant Armor, the previous use of Resistant Armor would end, thus leaving you with a free infusion slot to instantly be able to infuse an item with Resistant Armor.
If you have Enhanced Defense, Repulsion Shield and Resistant Armor infusions all active and you want to change the damage resistance on one of them, you just refresh the same 3 items with the same infusions at the end of a long rest. It doesn't matter what order you do it in because they will all essentially drop off and reapply at the same time, or within a few minutes of each other anyway. It makes no sense to enforce the cycle or keep track of the order because it has no impact on the the way infusing items works because of the small timeframe in which infusing happens, or reusing the same infusion on more than one object would only result in the latest object being infused.
Yeah you can do it all with just one long rest. The cycling is mainly important for when you don't have one or more of your infusions with you or if it's crucial for one of them to stay active without interruption. Again though, most DMs let Artificers just end an infusion if they want to without having to go through that whole process.
Functionally it doesn't matter as you can just re-infuse the exact same items with the exact same infusions each time you finish a long rest. If you try to infuse an item that is already infused, it will end any current infusion on it to apply the new infusion (and will end the infusion of any item that previously had the new infusion on it) So essentially infusing a bag to be a BoH would just "refresh" the infusion.
Reusing the Resistant Armor infusion would override the rule of "first infused item ends first" because the moment you try to use Resistant Armor, the previous use of Resistant Armor would end, thus leaving you with a free infusion slot to instantly be able to infuse an item with Resistant Armor.
If you have Enhanced Defense, Repulsion Shield and Resistant Armor infusions all active and you want to change the damage resistance on one of them, you just refresh the same 3 items with the same infusions at the end of a long rest. It doesn't matter what order you do it in because they will all essentially drop off and reapply at the same time, or within a few minutes of each other anyway. It makes no sense to enforce the cycle or keep track of the order because it has no impact on the the way infusing items works because of the small timeframe in which infusing happens, or reusing the same infusion on more than one object would only result in the latest object being infused.
Technically you can't just just refresh an infusion on an item as you can only infuse nonmagical objects and an item with an infusion is a magical object.
And the moment you start trying to use an infusion for the second time the first use of the infusion drops off, thus making the item mundane again during the process.
Like casting a concentration spell, the instant you try to cast a second, the effects of the first spell end.
However you can't even start trying to use it on the same item because it's already infused. It's at the very least debatable. Nothing explicitly says that your infusion wears off the moment you declare the intent to use it again.
"If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion ends, and then the new infusion applies." [emphasis mine]
That's pretty explicit; the old one ends before the new one starts.
However you can't even start trying to use it on the same item because it's already infused. It's at the very least debatable. Nothing explicitly says that your infusion wears off the moment you declare the intent to use it again.
"If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion ends, and then the new infusion applies." [emphasis mine]
That's pretty explicit; the old one ends before the new one starts.
The point of contention is you cannot even begin a new infusion on a item already bearing an infusion because it is a magic item and infusions require a mundane item.
The point of contention is you cannot even begin a new infusion on a item already bearing an infusion because it is a magic item and infusions require a mundane item.
It's "try" not "finish" or even "succeed." First you try (you touch the object), then the oldest infusion ends, then the newest begins. As long as these are the same object, it'll work. Basically, you tag each of your infusions in order, changing the ones you want to change and refreshing the rest. The hiccups only occur if someone else has one of them, in which case you essentially remotely end it when you get to it in the order.
(This is all pretty abstract, to give the player room to dress it up as whatever tinkering, experimenting, maintenance, or just "magic" they want.)
The point of contention is you cannot even begin a new infusion on a item already bearing an infusion because it is a magic item and infusions require a mundane item.
It's "try" not "finish" or even "succeed." First you try (you touch the object), then the oldest infusion ends, then the newest begins. As long as these are the same object, it'll work. Basically, you tag each of your infusions in order, changing the ones you want to change and refreshing the rest. The hiccups only occur if someone else has one of them, in which case you essentially remotely end it when you get to it in the order.
(This is all pretty abstract, to give the player room to dress it up as whatever tinkering, experimenting, maintenance, or just "magic" they want.)
The problem I have is with your interpretation of "try". It clearly states you must touch a nonmagical item to even "try" to infuse something. And a item already bearing an infusion is no longer nonmagical thus invalidating your attempt to even "try" to infuse it in the first place.
The problem I have is with your interpretation of "try". It clearly states you must touch a nonmagical item to even "try" to infuse something.
It does not say that at all. It clearly states the conditions under which it works. (Consider: what if you don't know whether or not some object is magical, before you try infusing it the first time?)
The problem I have is with your interpretation of "try". It clearly states you must touch a nonmagical item to even "try" to infuse something.
It does not say that at all. It clearly states the conditions under which it works. (Consider: what if you don't know whether or not some object is magical, before you try infusing it the first time?)
The description of Artificer Infusions states: Artificer infusions are extraordinary processes that rapidly turn a nonmagical object into a magic item.
Then under Infusing an Item it states: Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item.
So how can touching a magical object (even if you did not know it was magical) begin the process of an infusion?
So how can touching a magical object (even if you did not know it was magical) begin the process of an infusion?
Intent, essentially. If it works, you end up with an infused item. If it doesn't, you don't.
The process has 3 steps: #1 you try to exceed the max, #2 your oldest infusion stops working, #3 the infusion happens. #2 is a consequence of #1, not #3. ("If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion ends, and then the new infusion applies.") If you tried this on an item that you don't know is magical (didn't bother ritually casting detect magic?), if you were already at max infusions, your oldest infusion would end, regardless.
So how can touching a magical object (even if you did not know it was magical) begin the process of an infusion?
Intent, essentially. If it works, you end up with an infused item. If it doesn't, you don't.
The process has 3 steps: #1 you try to exceed the max, #2 your oldest infusion stops working, #3 the infusion happens. #2 is a consequence of #1, not #3. ("If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion ends, and then the new infusion applies.") If you tried this on an item that you don't know is magical (didn't bother ritually casting detect magic?), if you were already at max infusions, your oldest infusion would end, regardless.
I just don't see how failing a illegal option for an ability would somehow trigger another part of the same ability. That's kinda like saying a Raging Barbarian can try to cast attack spell to keep their Rage going. A Raging Barbarian cannot cast spells, the same way a Artificer cannot infuse a magical item. Trying and failing should not be able to trigger the requirements of the rest of the ability.
I think I am just going to agree to disagree with you on this topic and move on.
Learning the ropes to Artificers.
Setup:
My Scale Mail armor has the Resistant Armor (Fire) infusion. After a long rest, I want to change the resistance to Cold.
Question:
Can I apply a new Resistant Armor infusion and change the Scale Mail resistance from Fire to Cold?
You can end the infusion on one resistance and choose to infuse the item with another resistance every log rest so yes, you can swap them out
Does the scale mail lose the Fire resistance if I decide to infuse a different armor set?
So if I have the following Infusions with my limit of three active
(Active)Enhanced Defense (Infused 1st)
(Active)Repulsion Shield (Infused 2nd)
Spell-Refueling Ring
(Active)(Fire)Resistant Armor (Infused 3rd)
Returning Weapon
Replicate Magic Item: Crossbow Bolts, Walloping
I would need to loop through the three remaining Infusions to knock out each active one to be able to 'change' the Resistant Armor to Cold. In short, it would take me two long rests to accomplish this change.
Nope one long rest is all it takes.
Infusing an Item
Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. An infusion works on only certain kinds of objects, as specified in the infusion's description. If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement (see the attunement rules in the Dungeon Master's Guide).
Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day). The infusion also vanishes if you replace your knowledge of the infusion.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion ends, and then the new infusion applies.
If an infusion ends on an item that contains other things, like a bag of holding, its contents harmlessly appear in and around its space.
You just need to carry some spare non magical items to cycle through your infusions.
Functionally it doesn't matter as you can just re-infuse the exact same items with the exact same infusions each time you finish a long rest. If you try to infuse an item that is already infused, it will end any current infusion on it to apply the new infusion (and will end the infusion of any item that previously had the new infusion on it) So essentially infusing a bag to be a BoH would just "refresh" the infusion.
Reusing the Resistant Armor infusion would override the rule of "first infused item ends first" because the moment you try to use Resistant Armor, the previous use of Resistant Armor would end, thus leaving you with a free infusion slot to instantly be able to infuse an item with Resistant Armor.
If you have Enhanced Defense, Repulsion Shield and Resistant Armor infusions all active and you want to change the damage resistance on one of them, you just refresh the same 3 items with the same infusions at the end of a long rest. It doesn't matter what order you do it in because they will all essentially drop off and reapply at the same time, or within a few minutes of each other anyway. It makes no sense to enforce the cycle or keep track of the order because it has no impact on the the way infusing items works because of the small timeframe in which infusing happens, or reusing the same infusion on more than one object would only result in the latest object being infused.
And the moment you start trying to use an infusion for the second time the first use of the infusion drops off, thus making the item mundane again during the process.
Like casting a concentration spell, the instant you try to cast a second, the effects of the first spell end.
"If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion ends, and then the new infusion applies." [emphasis mine]
That's pretty explicit; the old one ends before the new one starts.
The point of contention is you cannot even begin a new infusion on a item already bearing an infusion because it is a magic item and infusions require a mundane item.
It's "try" not "finish" or even "succeed." First you try (you touch the object), then the oldest infusion ends, then the newest begins. As long as these are the same object, it'll work. Basically, you tag each of your infusions in order, changing the ones you want to change and refreshing the rest. The hiccups only occur if someone else has one of them, in which case you essentially remotely end it when you get to it in the order.
(This is all pretty abstract, to give the player room to dress it up as whatever tinkering, experimenting, maintenance, or just "magic" they want.)
The problem I have is with your interpretation of "try". It clearly states you must touch a nonmagical item to even "try" to infuse something. And a item already bearing an infusion is no longer nonmagical thus invalidating your attempt to even "try" to infuse it in the first place.
It does not say that at all. It clearly states the conditions under which it works. (Consider: what if you don't know whether or not some object is magical, before you try infusing it the first time?)
The description of Artificer Infusions states: Artificer infusions are extraordinary processes that rapidly turn a nonmagical object into a magic item.
Then under Infusing an Item it states: Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item.
So how can touching a magical object (even if you did not know it was magical) begin the process of an infusion?
Intent, essentially. If it works, you end up with an infused item. If it doesn't, you don't.
The process has 3 steps: #1 you try to exceed the max, #2 your oldest infusion stops working, #3 the infusion happens. #2 is a consequence of #1, not #3. ("If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion ends, and then the new infusion applies.") If you tried this on an item that you don't know is magical (didn't bother ritually casting detect magic?), if you were already at max infusions, your oldest infusion would end, regardless.
I just don't see how failing a illegal option for an ability would somehow trigger another part of the same ability. That's kinda like saying a Raging Barbarian can try to cast attack spell to keep their Rage going. A Raging Barbarian cannot cast spells, the same way a Artificer cannot infuse a magical item. Trying and failing should not be able to trigger the requirements of the rest of the ability.
I think I am just going to agree to disagree with you on this topic and move on.