You can command the homunculus both to use a bonus action spell and activate an item as an action, if that item is the spell storing item it produces the effects of a spell without casting it allowing you to also do a bonus action spell. So you get two action spells and a bonus action spell. There is nothing in the homunculus rules that says you cannot command an action and a bonus action when you take the bonus action to command it. In some interpretations of the rules if you have a way to five the homunculus a bonus action, it can do it at will because technically the rules say the only action it takes is dodge and don't mention bonus actions.
I've never played at a table that used that rule for MM or similar spells, neither normal play or organized play. I'm not saying others don't, I've just never seen it.
Edited: The roll 1 dice is only if the spell targets multiple enemies. If all 3 magic missiles target 1 enemy it goes back to 3d4+3+5 (assuming int 20) - at least RAW PHB p196. Which means if you targeted 2 enemies you would still roll (1d4+1) x 3 + 5 and choose which enemy got the +5.
Read experimental elixir. It specifies:
"As an action, a creature can drink the elixir or administer it to an incapacitated creature."
The point about giving up your action to use an elixir, is two fold. 1 - you're giving up your action (spell, attack) and rarely is that worth a potion. 2-the elixirs, while ok at tier 1, very quickly lose potency to the point they're worthless at higher tiers.
incorrect about the MM. Im assuming you found Mearls rule on it not Crawford. Crawford fully states MM by RAW is one missile dmg rol x all missiles fired. This is regardless of how many targets it hit since it by nature is an AOE spell even if the weirdest in 5e. 2nd point on the elixer sure it uses an action...so do caltrops to throw them. The elixer itself is a nonmagical item so it follows the rules of use an object action. Yes it works. 3rd point: You dont always focus on dmg first round, sometimes its important to have set up for later turns, now I'll concede it is not always optimal sometimes may never be but it is something to make alchemist more fun or useful.
Also went glazed over some of the previous talks in the forum and I have to ask (maybe it was in the comments and I missed it) but why in the world did you keep getting hit in melee? You are a backline support if monoclass and based on the mechanics of the alchemist alone you should never be in melee unless someone was down and you gave them a healing elixer. Also as far as the flight pot is concerned even if you take it and fly 10' up unless the creature youre battling is large + then you are already out of the range of a vast majortiy of enemies.
edit: ok went back and read about you getting walloped in melee a lot due to focus fire, but I still don't understand how. It feels like the alch was played as more of the mindset of a cleric in heavy armor as opposed to a wizard with the tough feat (super tank heal vs a slightly less squishy smart utility pc). It really feels like a lot of frustration happened in game with how it all seemed to keep going.
You can command the homunculus both to use a bonus action spell and activate an item as an action, if that item is the spell storing item it produces the effects of a spell without casting it allowing you to also do a bonus action spell. So you get two action spells and a bonus action spell. There is nothing in the homunculus rules that says you cannot command an action and a bonus action when you take the bonus action to command it. In some interpretations of the rules if you have a way to five the homunculus a bonus action, it can do it at will because technically the rules say the only action it takes is dodge and don't mention bonus actions.
No bonus action spell. The rule as to what the Homunculus Servant can do is clearly stated.
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action."
If you don't command it to do anything, it can move, dodge and use a reaction. If you command it using your bonus action, that replaces dodge. It can then use a magic item, spell storage item, etc. It doesn't have a bonus action as one is not included in the stat block. You could command it to cast (via item) that cost a bonus action, but it still only gets one action.
After rereading your post. Are you saying you use an action to command the homunculus to cast and then use your bonus to cast again? Which, maybe, but that uses your action and bonus action, again only leaving reaction.
I've never played at a table that used that rule for MM or similar spells, neither normal play or organized play. I'm not saying others don't, I've just never seen it.
Edited: The roll 1 dice is only if the spell targets multiple enemies. If all 3 magic missiles target 1 enemy it goes back to 3d4+3+5 (assuming int 20) - at least RAW PHB p196. Which means if you targeted 2 enemies you would still roll (1d4+1) x 3 + 5 and choose which enemy got the +5.
Read experimental elixir. It specifies:
"As an action, a creature can drink the elixir or administer it to an incapacitated creature."
The point about giving up your action to use an elixir, is two fold. 1 - you're giving up your action (spell, attack) and rarely is that worth a potion. 2-the elixirs, while ok at tier 1, very quickly lose potency to the point they're worthless at higher tiers.
incorrect about the MM. Im assuming you found Mearls rule on it not Crawford. Crawford fully states MM by RAW is one missile dmg rol x all missiles fired. This is regardless of how many targets it hit since it by nature is an AOE spell even if the weirdest in 5e. 2nd point on the elixer sure it uses an action...so do caltrops to throw them. The elixer itself is a nonmagical item so it follows the rules of use an object action. Yes it works. 3rd point: You dont always focus on dmg first round, sometimes its important to have set up for later turns, now I'll concede it is not always optimal sometimes may never be but it is something to make alchemist more fun or useful.
Also went glazed over some of the previous talks in the forum and I have to ask (maybe it was in the comments and I missed it) but why in the world did you keep getting hit in melee? You are a backline support if monoclass and based on the mechanics of the alchemist alone you should never be in melee unless someone was down and you gave them a healing elixer. Also as far as the flight pot is concerned even if you take it and fly 10' up unless the creature youre battling is large + then you are already out of the range of a vast majortiy of enemies.
edit: ok went back and read about you getting walloped in melee a lot due to focus fire, but I still don't understand how. It feels like the alch was played as more of the mindset of a cleric in heavy armor as opposed to a wizard with the tough feat (super tank heal vs a slightly less squishy smart utility pc). It really feels like a lot of frustration happened in game with how it all seemed to keep going.
Crawford can say that, but that's not what is printed in the book. 3 missiles, each missile 1d4+1, one or more targets. For AOE the general rule makes sense, who wants to have to wait on someone to roll fireball damage for each separate orc they hit with one fireball.
Using an elixir takes an action. You're trying to go back to general rules, where the rules for elixir's specifically state they take an action to use.
The reason I got targeted so often was partially the module and partially the group. Remember 5 party group, except a couple of sessions where someone couldn't make it. Throw in a bunch of low level minions with a LT, or a bunch of CL appropriate enemies. The paladin would step forward. The ranger wanta be (fighter/rogue) would fall back, the bard would cast and fall back and the rogue would hide. If the enemies split up, the paladin would be facing 1 or 2 and I'd end up facing at least one. The last enemy would head to the back lines.
Now if I fell back with the other 2 the paladin lost support and was generally surrounded and tended to go down,at least early on. Look at the range of a bunch of the common alchemist spells, its 60 feet and with a bunch of enemies that's basically melee range. Even if they only ran up that round. It was either stand there and take it, disengage and give up my action to run away, or move and get AoO.
Toward the end, I usually cast a buff spell of some type then fell back/hiding/taking cover and badly supporting the paladin or occasionally the fighter/rogue.
I've never played at a table that used that rule for MM or similar spells, neither normal play or organized play. I'm not saying others don't, I've just never seen it.
Edited: The roll 1 dice is only if the spell targets multiple enemies. If all 3 magic missiles target 1 enemy it goes back to 3d4+3+5 (assuming int 20) - at least RAW PHB p196. Which means if you targeted 2 enemies you would still roll (1d4+1) x 3 + 5 and choose which enemy got the +5.
Read experimental elixir. It specifies:
"As an action, a creature can drink the elixir or administer it to an incapacitated creature."
The point about giving up your action to use an elixir, is two fold. 1 - you're giving up your action (spell, attack) and rarely is that worth a potion. 2-the elixirs, while ok at tier 1, very quickly lose potency to the point they're worthless at higher tiers.
incorrect about the MM. Im assuming you found Mearls rule on it not Crawford. Crawford fully states MM by RAW is one missile dmg rol x all missiles fired. This is regardless of how many targets it hit since it by nature is an AOE spell even if the weirdest in 5e. 2nd point on the elixer sure it uses an action...so do caltrops to throw them. The elixer itself is a nonmagical item so it follows the rules of use an object action. Yes it works. 3rd point: You dont always focus on dmg first round, sometimes its important to have set up for later turns, now I'll concede it is not always optimal sometimes may never be but it is something to make alchemist more fun or useful.
Also went glazed over some of the previous talks in the forum and I have to ask (maybe it was in the comments and I missed it) but why in the world did you keep getting hit in melee? You are a backline support if monoclass and based on the mechanics of the alchemist alone you should never be in melee unless someone was down and you gave them a healing elixer. Also as far as the flight pot is concerned even if you take it and fly 10' up unless the creature youre battling is large + then you are already out of the range of a vast majortiy of enemies.
edit: ok went back and read about you getting walloped in melee a lot due to focus fire, but I still don't understand how. It feels like the alch was played as more of the mindset of a cleric in heavy armor as opposed to a wizard with the tough feat (super tank heal vs a slightly less squishy smart utility pc). It really feels like a lot of frustration happened in game with how it all seemed to keep going.
Crawford can say that, but that's not what is printed in the book. 3 missiles, each missile 1d4+1, one or more targets. For AOE the general rule makes sense, who wants to have to wait on someone to roll fireball damage for each separate orc they hit with one fireball.
Using an elixir takes an action. You're trying to go back to general rules, where the rules for elixir's specifically state they take an action to use.
The reason I got targeted so often was partially the module and partially the group. Remember 5 party group, except a couple of sessions where someone couldn't make it. Throw in a bunch of low level minions with a LT, or a bunch of CL appropriate enemies. The paladin would step forward. The ranger wanta be (fighter/rogue) would fall back, the bard would cast and fall back and the rogue would hide. If the enemies split up, the paladin would be facing 1 or 2 and I'd end up facing at least one. The last enemy would head to the back lines.
Now if I fell back with the other 2 the paladin lost support and was generally surrounded and tended to go down. Look at the range of a bunch of the common alchemist spells, its 60 feet and with a bunch of enemies that's basically melee range. Even if they only ran up that round. It was either stand there and take it, disengage and give up my action to run away, or move and get AoO.
Toward the end, I usually cast a buff spell of some type then fell back/hiding/taking cover and badly supporting the paladin or occasionally the fighter/rogue.
Seeing as how he is the head rules designer and was the end all be all for the rules, and clarifies the ruling in the books that are an issue, I'll go with him being right as will most people. It is only 1 roll of dmg otherwise the spell would state roll dmg seperately such as with scorching ray. Yes the elixer takes an action to use, as does most every item in its description. The elixer is not a magical item thus using the use an object action is 100% RAW. Finally the entirety of those combats sounds like either it was heavily dm vs players or strategies were not being implemented very well. if you have to disengage then fantastic, it means you live. You can always re engage later or safely. You said the paladin would go down alot if you left which meant things would be having to consistantly hit above a 23 if they had shield of faith up or the pally would fail a lot of saves which if you are in t2 play feels very very....off. Honestly why was there not more debuffing happening such as web or the bard shutting down enemies? Dmg isnt always the best choice and it sounds like a lot was just focused on either heal bot or run in and "I do smash". IF that is the full case then I feel bad for ya, especially if it was dm vs players. That is absolute poo of a way to play and kinda makes the game not enjoyable.
Seeing as how he is the head rules designer and was the end all be all for the rules, and clarifies the ruling in the books that are an issue, I'll go with him being right as will most people. It is only 1 roll of dmg otherwise the spell would state roll dmg seperately such as with scorching ray. Yes the elixer takes an action to use, as does most every item in its description. The elixer is not a magical item thus using the use an object action is 100% RAW. Finally the entirety of those combats sounds like either it was heavily dm vs players or strategies were not being implemented very well. if you have to disengage then fantastic, it means you live. You can always re engage later or safely. You said the paladin would go down alot if you left which meant things would be having to consistantly hit above a 23 if they had shield of faith up or the pally would fail a lot of saves which if you are in t2 play feels very very....off. Honestly why was there not more debuffing happening such as web or the bard shutting down enemies? Dmg isnt always the best choice and it sounds like a lot was just focused on either heal bot or run in and "I do smash". IF that is the full case then I feel bad for ya, especially if it was dm vs players. That is absolute poo of a way to play and kinda makes the game not enjoyable.
Head designer doesn't mean you control every aspect. It was written by a group and he may mean it one way in the general section, but the spell itself doesn't express MM as an AoE.
How are you getting that an elixir isn't magic? It is very clearly magic and using an elixir is a full round action. It clearly states it in the Experimental Elixir section of the alchemist description, including have to use an action.
"Whenever you finish a long rest, you can magically produce an experimental elixir in an empty flask you touch. Roll on the Experimental Elixir table for the elixir’s effect, which is triggered when someone drinks the elixir. As anaction, a creature can drink the elixir or administer it to an incapacitated creature."
Part of the issue with the campaign, was the module. I went back afterwards and read it. It seemed to expect a much heavier melee group. Yes the Paladin did pop shield of faith for a monster AC, but he still got hit. Whether that was DM fudging or not I don't know.
Even taking all that into account, I still haven't found anything for an alchemist to do except light buffing and heal-bot (version whatever). And the bard was better at both.
I believe you and I do not read MM the same nor look at it in the same light and that is fine. Different strokes for different folks.
The elixer is from a very odd placement in that it is magically produced, absolutely, yet it itself is not magical since it doesnt state the elixer is magical itself though. Its like the spell summon beast. The spell is magical, the production of the beast is magical, yet the beast is not. Is it strange? 100% Do I agree with it? Not really. Is it is what it is? Yup.
I believe you and I do not read MM the same nor look at it in the same light and that is fine. Different strokes for different folks.
The elixer is from a very odd placement in that it is magically produced, absolutely, yet it itself is not magical since it doesnt state the elixer is magical itself though. Its like the spell summon beast. The spell is magical, the production of the beast is magical, yet the beast is not. Is it strange? 100% Do I agree with it? Not really. Is it is what it is? Yup.
Based on everything around it and the fact that it produces an magical effect, I'd say an elixir is magical.
But that part does't really mattter as the description itself says an action to use. With that and what is in the homunuculus description, you're not casting 3 spells / round unless you're counting reaction spells like shield.
You can command the homunculus both to use a bonus action spell and activate an item as an action, if that item is the spell storing item it produces the effects of a spell without casting it allowing you to also do a bonus action spell. So you get two action spells and a bonus action spell. There is nothing in the homunculus rules that says you cannot command an action and a bonus action when you take the bonus action to command it. In some interpretations of the rules if you have a way to five the homunculus a bonus action, it can do it at will because technically the rules say the only action it takes is dodge and don't mention bonus actions.
I screwed up with the multiquote earlier.
So back to the acutal person claiming 3 spells/turn with a homunculus. The rules don't support it, not unless you're including reaction spells.
The homunculus descriptiion only lets you replace the standard dodge with an action. The homunculus does not have a bonus action.
You can command the homunculus both to use a bonus action spell and activate an item as an action, if that item is the spell storing item it produces the effects of a spell without casting it allowing you to also do a bonus action spell. So you get two action spells and a bonus action spell. There is nothing in the homunculus rules that says you cannot command an action and a bonus action when you take the bonus action to command it. In some interpretations of the rules if you have a way to five the homunculus a bonus action, it can do it at will because technically the rules say the only action it takes is dodge and don't mention bonus actions.
I screwed up with the multiquote earlier.
So back to the acutal person claiming 3 spells/turn with a homunculus. The rules don't support it, not unless you're including reaction spells.
The homunculus descriptiion only lets you replace the standard dodge with an action. The homunculus does not have a bonus action.
All creatures can take a bonus action if they have an ability that uses it and some items give one. If I took a commoner which in its stat block has no bonus actions and then gave them an magic item that gave them a bonus action would you argue they cannot take it because their stat block does not say the have a bonus action? That seems ridiculous to me so if it is a creature with a stat block that can use items it can gain a bonus action and once you have that there are 3 interpretations for the homonculus
1) You could argue that it can only take an action or a bonus action on command.
2) You could argue that bonus actions are an action in which case it requires a command to use a bonus action given by an item.
3) you could argue bonus actions are not capital A, Actions and so they have no special rules on the homonculus and so the homonculus can use them at will
1 I think is the weakest ruling by far. It is in my opinion a ruling more on trying to prevent triple spell casting for balance reasons rather than anything written in the ability.There are two possible things I'd have expected to be in the text to justify this ruling. Either 1, it mentions bonus actions and says you can take an action or bonus action on command; or 2 it considers bonus actions an action but says you can take only one action. The second would also mean that if the homonculus were hasted you could not command its additional action. As is however I think if any feature gives the homonculus an additional action it over rides its stat block and functions as per the rules of that feature. That is generally how features added by spells and magic items work.
You can command the homunculus both to use a bonus action spell and activate an item as an action, if that item is the spell storing item it produces the effects of a spell without casting it allowing you to also do a bonus action spell. So you get two action spells and a bonus action spell. There is nothing in the homunculus rules that says you cannot command an action and a bonus action when you take the bonus action to command it. In some interpretations of the rules if you have a way to five the homunculus a bonus action, it can do it at will because technically the rules say the only action it takes is dodge and don't mention bonus actions.
I screwed up with the multiquote earlier.
So back to the acutal person claiming 3 spells/turn with a homunculus. The rules don't support it, not unless you're including reaction spells.
The homunculus descriptiion only lets you replace the standard dodge with an action. The homunculus does not have a bonus action.
All creatures can take a bonus action if they have an ability that uses it and some items give one. If I took a commoner which in its stat block has no bonus actions and then gave them an magic item that gave them a bonus action would you argue they cannot take it because their stat block does not say the have a bonus action? That seems ridiculous to me so if it is a creature with a stat block that can use items it can gain a bonus action and once you have that there are 3 interpretations for the homonculus
1) You could argue that it can only take an action or a bonus action on command.
2) You could argue that bonus actions are an action in which case it requires a command to use a bonus action given by an item.
3) you could argue bonus actions are not capital A, Actions and so they have no special rules on the homonculus and so the homonculus can use them at will
1 I think is the weakest ruling by far. It is in my opinion a ruling more on trying to prevent triple spell casting for balance reasons rather than anything written in the ability.There are two possible things I'd have expected to be in the text to justify this ruling. Either 1, it mentions bonus actions and says you can take an action or bonus action on command; or 2 it considers bonus actions an action but says you can take only one action. The second would also mean that if the homonculus were hasted you could not command its additional action. As is however I think if any feature gives the homonculus an additional action it over rides its stat block and functions as per the rules of that feature. That is generally how features added by spells and magic items work.
In the stat block:
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action."
You can only command it to take 1 action. Even if it were hasted, had a ring of spell storing with all bonus actions spells, it will still only take 1 action. It can be either an action or bonus action, but not both.
You can command the homunculus both to use a bonus action spell and activate an item as an action, if that item is the spell storing item it produces the effects of a spell without casting it allowing you to also do a bonus action spell. So you get two action spells and a bonus action spell. There is nothing in the homunculus rules that says you cannot command an action and a bonus action when you take the bonus action to command it. In some interpretations of the rules if you have a way to five the homunculus a bonus action, it can do it at will because technically the rules say the only action it takes is dodge and don't mention bonus actions.
I screwed up with the multiquote earlier.
So back to the acutal person claiming 3 spells/turn with a homunculus. The rules don't support it, not unless you're including reaction spells.
The homunculus descriptiion only lets you replace the standard dodge with an action. The homunculus does not have a bonus action.
All creatures can take a bonus action if they have an ability that uses it and some items give one. If I took a commoner which in its stat block has no bonus actions and then gave them an magic item that gave them a bonus action would you argue they cannot take it because their stat block does not say the have a bonus action? That seems ridiculous to me so if it is a creature with a stat block that can use items it can gain a bonus action and once you have that there are 3 interpretations for the homonculus
1) You could argue that it can only take an action or a bonus action on command.
2) You could argue that bonus actions are an action in which case it requires a command to use a bonus action given by an item.
3) you could argue bonus actions are not capital A, Actions and so they have no special rules on the homonculus and so the homonculus can use them at will
1 I think is the weakest ruling by far. It is in my opinion a ruling more on trying to prevent triple spell casting for balance reasons rather than anything written in the ability.There are two possible things I'd have expected to be in the text to justify this ruling. Either 1, it mentions bonus actions and says you can take an action or bonus action on command; or 2 it considers bonus actions an action but says you can take only one action. The second would also mean that if the homonculus were hasted you could not command its additional action. As is however I think if any feature gives the homonculus an additional action it over rides its stat block and functions as per the rules of that feature. That is generally how features added by spells and magic items work.
In the stat block:
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action."
Like I said it says " the only action" which doesn't necessarily include bonus actions as per option 3. Additionall when it says " unless you take a bonus action on your turn.." that means that the " only takes the dodge action" no longer applies when you do that it does not necessarily mean the only thing it does on that turn is the action you command because you would allow it to for example take a movement action. Unlesf you are saying that on a bonus action you can only command it to move or attack it can take multiple types of actions when you command it including bonus actions.
You can command the homunculus both to use a bonus action spell and activate an item as an action, if that item is the spell storing item it produces the effects of a spell without casting it allowing you to also do a bonus action spell. So you get two action spells and a bonus action spell. There is nothing in the homunculus rules that says you cannot command an action and a bonus action when you take the bonus action to command it. In some interpretations of the rules if you have a way to five the homunculus a bonus action, it can do it at will because technically the rules say the only action it takes is dodge and don't mention bonus actions.
I screwed up with the multiquote earlier.
So back to the acutal person claiming 3 spells/turn with a homunculus. The rules don't support it, not unless you're including reaction spells.
The homunculus descriptiion only lets you replace the standard dodge with an action. The homunculus does not have a bonus action.
All creatures can take a bonus action if they have an ability that uses it and some items give one. If I took a commoner which in its stat block has no bonus actions and then gave them an magic item that gave them a bonus action would you argue they cannot take it because their stat block does not say the have a bonus action? That seems ridiculous to me so if it is a creature with a stat block that can use items it can gain a bonus action and once you have that there are 3 interpretations for the homonculus
1) You could argue that it can only take an action or a bonus action on command.
2) You could argue that bonus actions are an action in which case it requires a command to use a bonus action given by an item.
3) you could argue bonus actions are not capital A, Actions and so they have no special rules on the homonculus and so the homonculus can use them at will
1 I think is the weakest ruling by far. It is in my opinion a ruling more on trying to prevent triple spell casting for balance reasons rather than anything written in the ability.There are two possible things I'd have expected to be in the text to justify this ruling. Either 1, it mentions bonus actions and says you can take an action or bonus action on command; or 2 it considers bonus actions an action but says you can take only one action. The second would also mean that if the homonculus were hasted you could not command its additional action. As is however I think if any feature gives the homonculus an additional action it over rides its stat block and functions as per the rules of that feature. That is generally how features added by spells and magic items work.
In the stat block:
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action."
Like I said it says " the only action" which doesn't necessarily include bonus actions as per option 3. Additionall when it says " unless you take a bonus action on your turn.." that means that the " only takes the dodge action" no longer applies when you do that it does not necessarily mean the only thing it does on that turn is the action you command because you would allow it to for example take a movement action. Unlesf you are saying that on a bonus action you can only command it to move or attack it can take multiple types of actions when you command it including bonus actions.
The PHB clearly defined the difference between actions and bonus actions. The homunculus can move and perform an action (dodge). When you use a bonus action you replace the dodge.
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action."
"That action can be one in its stat block or some other action." This is covering the homunculus using a magic item that takes an action or a bonus action. But, it only get ones action.
Both 'another action' and 'other action' are singular. You use bonus to replace dodge with an action or bonus action.
Homunculus actions/round:
Basic no orders: Move + action (dodge)
Using bonus: Move + action (attack, use spell storing item, etc. - pick one)
Using bonus: Move + bonus action (use magic item that casts a bonus action spell)
You can command the homunculus both to use a bonus action spell and activate an item as an action, if that item is the spell storing item it produces the effects of a spell without casting it allowing you to also do a bonus action spell. So you get two action spells and a bonus action spell. There is nothing in the homunculus rules that says you cannot command an action and a bonus action when you take the bonus action to command it. In some interpretations of the rules if you have a way to five the homunculus a bonus action, it can do it at will because technically the rules say the only action it takes is dodge and don't mention bonus actions.
I screwed up with the multiquote earlier.
So back to the acutal person claiming 3 spells/turn with a homunculus. The rules don't support it, not unless you're including reaction spells.
The homunculus descriptiion only lets you replace the standard dodge with an action. The homunculus does not have a bonus action.
All creatures can take a bonus action if they have an ability that uses it and some items give one. If I took a commoner which in its stat block has no bonus actions and then gave them an magic item that gave them a bonus action would you argue they cannot take it because their stat block does not say the have a bonus action? That seems ridiculous to me so if it is a creature with a stat block that can use items it can gain a bonus action and once you have that there are 3 interpretations for the homonculus
1) You could argue that it can only take an action or a bonus action on command.
2) You could argue that bonus actions are an action in which case it requires a command to use a bonus action given by an item.
3) you could argue bonus actions are not capital A, Actions and so they have no special rules on the homonculus and so the homonculus can use them at will
1 I think is the weakest ruling by far. It is in my opinion a ruling more on trying to prevent triple spell casting for balance reasons rather than anything written in the ability.There are two possible things I'd have expected to be in the text to justify this ruling. Either 1, it mentions bonus actions and says you can take an action or bonus action on command; or 2 it considers bonus actions an action but says you can take only one action. The second would also mean that if the homonculus were hasted you could not command its additional action. As is however I think if any feature gives the homonculus an additional action it over rides its stat block and functions as per the rules of that feature. That is generally how features added by spells and magic items work.
In the stat block:
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action."
Like I said it says " the only action" which doesn't necessarily include bonus actions as per option 3. Additionall when it says " unless you take a bonus action on your turn.." that means that the " only takes the dodge action" no longer applies when you do that it does not necessarily mean the only thing it does on that turn is the action you command because you would allow it to for example take a movement action. Unlesf you are saying that on a bonus action you can only command it to move or attack it can take multiple types of actions when you command it including bonus actions.
The PHB clearly defined the difference between actions and bonus actions. The homunculus can move and perform an action (dodge). When you use a bonus action you replace the dodge.
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action."
"That action can be one in its stat block or some other action." This is covering the homunculus using a magic item that takes an action or a bonus action. But, it only get ones action.
Both 'another action' and 'other action' are singular. You use bonus to replace dodge with an action or bonus action.
Homunculus actions/round:
Basic no orders: Move + action (dodge)
Using bonus: Move + action (attack, use spell storing item, etc. - pick one)
Using bonus: Move + bonus action (use magic item that casts a bonus action spell)
A bonus action doesn't replace dodging, you can take a dodge action and use a bonus action because one is an action and the other is a bonus action. If a player had the same items they could do the same thing and use and action to use the spell storing item and a bonus action spell. You are arguing the homunculus has some special restriction which I dont think is supported.
The restriction you put in place seems to be saying a bonus action is an action. Which is weird because you say the " phb clearly defines the difference between actions and bonus actions" . You are saying there is a difference and making an argument that relies on them not being different. For clarification in most cases such as the incapacitated condition they explicitly say bonus action and action when they mean for something to effect both. Which supports the idea that the homunculus can take bonus actions even without being commanded as it doesn't state it doesn't take bonus actions only that the only action it takes is dodge.
as for " another action" . You could argue it is singular but the language "unless" makes it an extension of the previous clause meaning it is removing the limitation stated previously the " only takes dodge action" and not imposing an additional restriction. One that like I said probably doesn't even apply to bonus actions in the first place.
The best reading of the rules as written is that the homunculus can move and use bonus actions on it's own but cant take actions other than dodge without a command.
I think you just innately dislike the idea of casting 3 spells and are missing the extra spell is not coming from the bonus action, its coming from the additional action. I am very condifent of the homunculus's ability to take all 4 major kinds of actions. Reactions, actions, bonus actions and movement.
A bonus action doesn't replace dodging, you can take a dodge action and use a bonus action because one is an action and the other is a bonus action. If a player had the same items they could do the same thing and use and action to use the spell storing item and a bonus action spell. You are arguing the homunculus has some special restriction which I dont think is supported.
The restriction you put in place seems to be saying a bonus action is an action. Which is weird because you say the " phb clearly defines the difference between actions and bonus actions" . You are saying there is a difference and making an argument that relies on them not being different. For clarification in most cases such as the incapacitated condition they explicitly say bonus action and action when they mean for something to effect both. Which supports the idea that the homunculus can take bonus actions even without being commanded as it doesn't state it doesn't take bonus actions only that the only action it takes is dodge.
as for " another action" . You could argue it is singular but the language "unless" makes it an extension of the previous clause meaning it is removing the limitation stated previously the " only takes dodge action" and not imposing an additional restriction. One that like I said probably doesn't even apply to bonus actions in the first place.
The best reading of the rules as written is that the homunculus can move and use bonus actions on it's own but cant take actions other than dodge without a command.
I think you just innately dislike the idea of casting 3 spells and are missing the extra spell is not coming from the bonus action, its coming from the additional action. I am very condifent of the homunculus's ability to take all 4 major kinds of actions. Reactions, actions, bonus actions and movement.
I agree a character can take both a bonus action and an action. I'm not trying to equate the two for characters or for a homunculus. The homunculus does have the potential to move, action, bonus action and reaction. However, per the description, it may only move and dodge if you're conscious and not issuing orders.
You're mixing up the availability of an action (ring of spell storing with healing word) with the ability to perform it. The artificier, using their bonus action, may change the dodge to an action ", but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. " (and this is where the confusion comes in). The artificier may use their bonus action to command the homunculus to take an action. It is a one for one exchange. The artificer may not order the homunculus to take an action and a bonus action, even if one were available.
Changing the dodge to something else does not magically open up the ability for the homunculus to take a bonus action in addition to the action ordered. Per the description they're all 1 for 1 options.
Artificier bonus action to order Homunculus action
OR
Artificier bonus action to order Homunculus bonus action
The command is a one for one trade: your bonus action for the homunculus to do an action (action or bonus) but only one. You can't command it to take an action and a bonus action, assuming it has a bonus action.
If it had haste cast on it, you could command it to attack. It would attack once and the haste bonus action would be wasted as you can't command it to take 2 actions (either kind) and it doesn't have the option of doing anything else.
A bonus action doesn't replace dodging, you can take a dodge action and use a bonus action because one is an action and the other is a bonus action. If a player had the same items they could do the same thing and use and action to use the spell storing item and a bonus action spell. You are arguing the homunculus has some special restriction which I dont think is supported.
The restriction you put in place seems to be saying a bonus action is an action. Which is weird because you say the " phb clearly defines the difference between actions and bonus actions" . You are saying there is a difference and making an argument that relies on them not being different. For clarification in most cases such as the incapacitated condition they explicitly say bonus action and action when they mean for something to effect both. Which supports the idea that the homunculus can take bonus actions even without being commanded as it doesn't state it doesn't take bonus actions only that the only action it takes is dodge.
as for " another action" . You could argue it is singular but the language "unless" makes it an extension of the previous clause meaning it is removing the limitation stated previously the " only takes dodge action" and not imposing an additional restriction. One that like I said probably doesn't even apply to bonus actions in the first place.
The best reading of the rules as written is that the homunculus can move and use bonus actions on it's own but cant take actions other than dodge without a command.
I think you just innately dislike the idea of casting 3 spells and are missing the extra spell is not coming from the bonus action, its coming from the additional action. I am very condifent of the homunculus's ability to take all 4 major kinds of actions. Reactions, actions, bonus actions and movement.
I agree a character can take both a bonus action and an action. I'm not trying to equate the two for characters or for a homunculus. The homunculus does have the potential to move, action, bonus action and reaction. However, per the description, it may only move and dodge if you're conscious and not issuing orders.
You're mixing up the availability of an action (ring of spell storing with healing word) with the ability to perform it. The artificier, using their bonus action, may change the dodge to an action ", but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. " (and this is where the confusion comes in). The artificier may use their bonus action to command the homunculus to take an action. It is a one for one exchange. The artificer may not order the homunculus to take an action and a bonus action, even if one were available.
Changing the dodge to something else does not magically open up the ability for the homunculus to take a bonus action in addition to the action ordered. Per the description they're all 1 for 1 options.
Artificier bonus action to order Homunculus action
OR
Artificier bonus action to order Homunculus bonus action
The command is a one for one trade: your bonus action for the homunculus to do an action (action or bonus) but only one. You can't command it to take an action and a bonus action, assuming it has a bonus action.
If it had haste cast on it, you could command it to attack. It would attack once and the haste bonus action would be wasted as you can't command it to take 2 actions (either kind) and it doesn't have the option of doing anything else.
See you are both saying they can take a bonus action and then in the next paragraph saying that it doesn't have the ability to take a bonus action even if you give it one. Which is contradictory and you are treating the word action and bonus action as equivalent because you are saying its included in the statement " the only action it takes is the dodge action" for that to stop bonus actions then bonus actions would have to be an action because otherwise in the rules there are no restrictions that say you cannot simultaneously do both an action and bonus action on any creature. As another example you'd let the homunculus move freely without an bonus action command and your reason would be it only says that the only action it takes is dodge and movement is not an action. Similarly if a bonus action is not an action it could do those at will without a command. So to justify preventing the bonus action you have to say a bonus action is an action.
And it doesn't "magically" gain the ability to do a bonus action when you cast it. If you take the " Unless you command it to take another action" as singular it means that you only have to command it to take one action to remove the earlier restriction that this is a caveat too. They would have to have said "action or bonus action" if they meant for them to be exclusive. If you don't read it this way then the homonculus cannot use the extra action from the haste because when you command it it would only be able to take a single action. If the answer is they can because the spell override it then the rules of a ring of spell storing would override homonculus similarly.
Its just a really weird restriction because they could take a reaction to deliver a spell, move and take an action with your bonus action command but not a bonus action. The bonus action isn't explicitly mentioned in those rules same as the reaction and movement so why are they immune to it and bonus action isn't?
When I listed ruling 1 in my original post I said the only reason to take that rule is to artificially rebalance the homonculus to be in line with the normal limits on spell casting. Its not textual at all.
See you are both saying they can take a bonus action and then in the next paragraph saying that it doesn't have the ability to take a bonus action even if you give it one. Which is contradictory and you are treating the word action and bonus action as equivalent because you are saying its included in the statement " the only action it takes is the dodge action" for that to stop bonus actions then bonus actions would have to be an action because otherwise in the rules there are no restrictions that say you cannot simultaneously do both an action and bonus action on any creature. As another example you'd let the homunculus move freely without an bonus action command and your reason would be it only says that the only action it takes is dodge and movement is not an action. Similarly if a bonus action is not an action it could do those at will without a command. So to justify preventing the bonus action you have to say a bonus action is an action.
And it doesn't "magically" gain the ability to do a bonus action when you cast it. If you take the " Unless you command it to take another action" as singular it means that you only have to command it to take one action to remove the earlier restriction that this is a caveat too. They would have to have said "action or bonus action" if they meant for them to be exclusive. If you don't read it this way then the homonculus cannot use the extra action from the haste because when you command it it would only be able to take a single action. If the answer is they can because the spell override it then the rules of a ring of spell storing would override homonculus similarly.
Its just a really weird restriction because they could take a reaction to deliver a spell, move and take an action with your bonus action command but not a bonus action. The bonus action isn't explicitly mentioned in those rules same as the reaction and movement so why are they immune to it and bonus action isn't?
When I listed ruling 1 in my original post I said the only reason to take that rule is to artificially rebalance the homonculus to be in line with the normal limits on spell casting. Its not textual at all.
No I said the artificer, using their bonus action, can command the homunculus to replace their dodge action with 1 other action, as stated in the description. I included the move + bonus action to specifically cover commanding the homunculus to use a spell storing item, such as a ring of spell storage with only bonus action spells. My whole point was artificer bonus action translates to one action for the homunculus.
Note that "Unless you command it to take another action" is singular. I'm not sure why you keep thinking Another means 2 or more.
See you are both saying they can take a bonus action and then in the next paragraph saying that it doesn't have the ability to take a bonus action even if you give it one. Which is contradictory and you are treating the word action and bonus action as equivalent because you are saying its included in the statement " the only action it takes is the dodge action" for that to stop bonus actions then bonus actions would have to be an action because otherwise in the rules there are no restrictions that say you cannot simultaneously do both an action and bonus action on any creature. As another example you'd let the homunculus move freely without an bonus action command and your reason would be it only says that the only action it takes is dodge and movement is not an action. Similarly if a bonus action is not an action it could do those at will without a command. So to justify preventing the bonus action you have to say a bonus action is an action.
And it doesn't "magically" gain the ability to do a bonus action when you cast it. If you take the " Unless you command it to take another action" as singular it means that you only have to command it to take one action to remove the earlier restriction that this is a caveat too. They would have to have said "action or bonus action" if they meant for them to be exclusive. If you don't read it this way then the homonculus cannot use the extra action from the haste because when you command it it would only be able to take a single action. If the answer is they can because the spell override it then the rules of a ring of spell storing would override homonculus similarly.
Its just a really weird restriction because they could take a reaction to deliver a spell, move and take an action with your bonus action command but not a bonus action. The bonus action isn't explicitly mentioned in those rules same as the reaction and movement so why are they immune to it and bonus action isn't?
When I listed ruling 1 in my original post I said the only reason to take that rule is to artificially rebalance the homonculus to be in line with the normal limits on spell casting. Its not textual at all.
No I said the artificer, using their bonus action, can command the homunculus to replace their dodge action with 1 other action, as stated in the description. I included the move + bonus action to specifically cover commanding the homunculus to use a spell storing item, such as a ring of spell storage with only bonus action spells. My whole point was artificer bonus action translates to one action for the homunculus.
Note that "Unless you command it to take another action" is singular. I'm not sure why you keep thinking Another means 2 or more.Look this is the last time Ill comment on this because it's getting no where but.
You are reading it as "the homonculus only takes the dodge action or another action " when its not or, its unless
Unless is different to or because its not stating options but instead a situation where the previous clause does not apply. the " another action" is not part of some list of things you can do but is instead a situation where the homunculus does not only dodge.
You cannot simply supstitute the two for example the meaning of this sentence inverts if you do.
You can drive a car unless you dont have a license You can drive a car or you don't have a license
they're not the same and you cant substitute their meaning like you are.
Once a command has been given the homonculus can do anything it can through the normal rules to make that thing happen. If it's under the effect of haste it can disengage or dash to move to the space needed.
Also like I said earlier the entire sentence is likely irrelevant because a bonus action is not an action as far as the rules are concerned. It uses a different resource and different rules. There is no where in the rules where it says a bonus action is an action or that they follow the same rules and it is consistently written in a way where if it intended to apply to both, both are written down.
One kinda cool thing you can do as an alchemist even at low levels is give your healing potions to your homunculus and use your bonus action every round to tell it to ready an action. Set the trigger to when a party member becomes incapacitated and the action to use a health potion on them. This creates a kind of reaction res that works off your level one spell slots and can bring party members back in the middle of an enemy's attacks to prevent auto-failing death saves.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
You can command the homunculus both to use a bonus action spell and activate an item as an action, if that item is the spell storing item it produces the effects of a spell without casting it allowing you to also do a bonus action spell. So you get two action spells and a bonus action spell. There is nothing in the homunculus rules that says you cannot command an action and a bonus action when you take the bonus action to command it. In some interpretations of the rules if you have a way to five the homunculus a bonus action, it can do it at will because technically the rules say the only action it takes is dodge and don't mention bonus actions.
incorrect about the MM. Im assuming you found Mearls rule on it not Crawford. Crawford fully states MM by RAW is one missile dmg rol x all missiles fired. This is regardless of how many targets it hit since it by nature is an AOE spell even if the weirdest in 5e. 2nd point on the elixer sure it uses an action...so do caltrops to throw them. The elixer itself is a nonmagical item so it follows the rules of use an object action. Yes it works. 3rd point: You dont always focus on dmg first round, sometimes its important to have set up for later turns, now I'll concede it is not always optimal sometimes may never be but it is something to make alchemist more fun or useful.
Also went glazed over some of the previous talks in the forum and I have to ask (maybe it was in the comments and I missed it) but why in the world did you keep getting hit in melee? You are a backline support if monoclass and based on the mechanics of the alchemist alone you should never be in melee unless someone was down and you gave them a healing elixer. Also as far as the flight pot is concerned even if you take it and fly 10' up unless the creature youre battling is large + then you are already out of the range of a vast majortiy of enemies.
edit: ok went back and read about you getting walloped in melee a lot due to focus fire, but I still don't understand how. It feels like the alch was played as more of the mindset of a cleric in heavy armor as opposed to a wizard with the tough feat (super tank heal vs a slightly less squishy smart utility pc). It really feels like a lot of frustration happened in game with how it all seemed to keep going.
Also a fun combo is 3 alch/ X sorc so you can drink an elixer and then quicken a spell same turn.
No bonus action spell. The rule as to what the Homunculus Servant can do is clearly stated.
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action."
If you don't command it to do anything, it can move, dodge and use a reaction. If you command it using your bonus action, that replaces dodge. It can then use a magic item, spell storage item, etc. It doesn't have a bonus action as one is not included in the stat block. You could command it to cast (via item) that cost a bonus action, but it still only gets one action.
After rereading your post. Are you saying you use an action to command the homunculus to cast and then use your bonus to cast again? Which, maybe, but that uses your action and bonus action, again only leaving reaction.
Crawford can say that, but that's not what is printed in the book. 3 missiles, each missile 1d4+1, one or more targets. For AOE the general rule makes sense, who wants to have to wait on someone to roll fireball damage for each separate orc they hit with one fireball.
Using an elixir takes an action. You're trying to go back to general rules, where the rules for elixir's specifically state they take an action to use.
The reason I got targeted so often was partially the module and partially the group. Remember 5 party group, except a couple of sessions where someone couldn't make it. Throw in a bunch of low level minions with a LT, or a bunch of CL appropriate enemies. The paladin would step forward. The ranger wanta be (fighter/rogue) would fall back, the bard would cast and fall back and the rogue would hide. If the enemies split up, the paladin would be facing 1 or 2 and I'd end up facing at least one. The last enemy would head to the back lines.
Now if I fell back with the other 2 the paladin lost support and was generally surrounded and tended to go down,at least early on. Look at the range of a bunch of the common alchemist spells, its 60 feet and with a bunch of enemies that's basically melee range. Even if they only ran up that round. It was either stand there and take it, disengage and give up my action to run away, or move and get AoO.
Toward the end, I usually cast a buff spell of some type then fell back/hiding/taking cover and badly supporting the paladin or occasionally the fighter/rogue.
Seeing as how he is the head rules designer and was the end all be all for the rules, and clarifies the ruling in the books that are an issue, I'll go with him being right as will most people. It is only 1 roll of dmg otherwise the spell would state roll dmg seperately such as with scorching ray. Yes the elixer takes an action to use, as does most every item in its description. The elixer is not a magical item thus using the use an object action is 100% RAW. Finally the entirety of those combats sounds like either it was heavily dm vs players or strategies were not being implemented very well. if you have to disengage then fantastic, it means you live. You can always re engage later or safely. You said the paladin would go down alot if you left which meant things would be having to consistantly hit above a 23 if they had shield of faith up or the pally would fail a lot of saves which if you are in t2 play feels very very....off. Honestly why was there not more debuffing happening such as web or the bard shutting down enemies? Dmg isnt always the best choice and it sounds like a lot was just focused on either heal bot or run in and "I do smash". IF that is the full case then I feel bad for ya, especially if it was dm vs players. That is absolute poo of a way to play and kinda makes the game not enjoyable.
Head designer doesn't mean you control every aspect. It was written by a group and he may mean it one way in the general section, but the spell itself doesn't express MM as an AoE.
How are you getting that an elixir isn't magic? It is very clearly magic and using an elixir is a full round action. It clearly states it in the Experimental Elixir section of the alchemist description, including have to use an action.
"Whenever you finish a long rest, you can magically produce an experimental elixir in an empty flask you touch. Roll on the Experimental Elixir table for the elixir’s effect, which is triggered when someone drinks the elixir. As an action, a creature can drink the elixir or administer it to an incapacitated creature."
Part of the issue with the campaign, was the module. I went back afterwards and read it. It seemed to expect a much heavier melee group. Yes the Paladin did pop shield of faith for a monster AC, but he still got hit. Whether that was DM fudging or not I don't know.
Even taking all that into account, I still haven't found anything for an alchemist to do except light buffing and heal-bot (version whatever). And the bard was better at both.
I believe you and I do not read MM the same nor look at it in the same light and that is fine. Different strokes for different folks.
The elixer is from a very odd placement in that it is magically produced, absolutely, yet it itself is not magical since it doesnt state the elixer is magical itself though. Its like the spell summon beast. The spell is magical, the production of the beast is magical, yet the beast is not. Is it strange? 100% Do I agree with it? Not really. Is it is what it is? Yup.
Based on everything around it and the fact that it produces an magical effect, I'd say an elixir is magical.
But that part does't really mattter as the description itself says an action to use. With that and what is in the homunuculus description, you're not casting 3 spells / round unless you're counting reaction spells like shield.
I screwed up with the multiquote earlier.
So back to the acutal person claiming 3 spells/turn with a homunculus. The rules don't support it, not unless you're including reaction spells.
The homunculus descriptiion only lets you replace the standard dodge with an action. The homunculus does not have a bonus action.
All creatures can take a bonus action if they have an ability that uses it and some items give one. If I took a commoner which in its stat block has no bonus actions and then gave them an magic item that gave them a bonus action would you argue they cannot take it because their stat block does not say the have a bonus action? That seems ridiculous to me so if it is a creature with a stat block that can use items it can gain a bonus action and once you have that there are 3 interpretations for the homonculus
1) You could argue that it can only take an action or a bonus action on command.
2) You could argue that bonus actions are an action in which case it requires a command to use a bonus action given by an item.
3) you could argue bonus actions are not capital A, Actions and so they have no special rules on the homonculus and so the homonculus can use them at will
1 I think is the weakest ruling by far. It is in my opinion a ruling more on trying to prevent triple spell casting for balance reasons rather than anything written in the ability.There are two possible things I'd have expected to be in the text to justify this ruling. Either 1, it mentions bonus actions and says you can take an action or bonus action on command; or 2 it considers bonus actions an action but says you can take only one action. The second would also mean that if the homonculus were hasted you could not command its additional action. As is however I think if any feature gives the homonculus an additional action it over rides its stat block and functions as per the rules of that feature. That is generally how features added by spells and magic items work.
In the stat block:
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action."
You can only command it to take 1 action. Even if it were hasted, had a ring of spell storing with all bonus actions spells, it will still only take 1 action. It can be either an action or bonus action, but not both.
Like I said it says " the only action" which doesn't necessarily include bonus actions as per option 3. Additionall when it says " unless you take a bonus action on your turn.." that means that the " only takes the dodge action" no longer applies when you do that it does not necessarily mean the only thing it does on that turn is the action you command because you would allow it to for example take a movement action. Unlesf you are saying that on a bonus action you can only command it to move or attack it can take multiple types of actions when you command it including bonus actions.
The Homunculus Servant infusion description
The PHB clearly defined the difference between actions and bonus actions. The homunculus can move and perform an action (dodge). When you use a bonus action you replace the dodge.
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action."
"That action can be one in its stat block or some other action." This is covering the homunculus using a magic item that takes an action or a bonus action. But, it only get ones action.
Both 'another action' and 'other action' are singular. You use bonus to replace dodge with an action or bonus action.
Homunculus actions/round:
Basic no orders: Move + action (dodge)
Using bonus: Move + action (attack, use spell storing item, etc. - pick one)
Using bonus: Move + bonus action (use magic item that casts a bonus action spell)
A bonus action doesn't replace dodging, you can take a dodge action and use a bonus action because one is an action and the other is a bonus action. If a player had the same items they could do the same thing and use and action to use the spell storing item and a bonus action spell. You are arguing the homunculus has some special restriction which I dont think is supported.
The restriction you put in place seems to be saying a bonus action is an action. Which is weird because you say the " phb clearly defines the difference between actions and bonus actions" . You are saying there is a difference and making an argument that relies on them not being different. For clarification in most cases such as the incapacitated condition they explicitly say bonus action and action when they mean for something to effect both. Which supports the idea that the homunculus can take bonus actions even without being commanded as it doesn't state it doesn't take bonus actions only that the only action it takes is dodge.
as for " another action" . You could argue it is singular but the language "unless" makes it an extension of the previous clause meaning it is removing the limitation stated previously the " only takes dodge action" and not imposing an additional restriction. One that like I said probably doesn't even apply to bonus actions in the first place.
The best reading of the rules as written is that the homunculus can move and use bonus actions on it's own but cant take actions other than dodge without a command.
I think you just innately dislike the idea of casting 3 spells and are missing the extra spell is not coming from the bonus action, its coming from the additional action. I am very condifent of the homunculus's ability to take all 4 major kinds of actions. Reactions, actions, bonus actions and movement.
I agree a character can take both a bonus action and an action. I'm not trying to equate the two for characters or for a homunculus. The homunculus does have the potential to move, action, bonus action and reaction. However, per the description, it may only move and dodge if you're conscious and not issuing orders.
You're mixing up the availability of an action (ring of spell storing with healing word) with the ability to perform it. The artificier, using their bonus action, may change the dodge to an action ", but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. " (and this is where the confusion comes in). The artificier may use their bonus action to command the homunculus to take an action. It is a one for one exchange. The artificer may not order the homunculus to take an action and a bonus action, even if one were available.
Changing the dodge to something else does not magically open up the ability for the homunculus to take a bonus action in addition to the action ordered. Per the description they're all 1 for 1 options.
Artificier bonus action to order Homunculus action
OR
Artificier bonus action to order Homunculus bonus action
The command is a one for one trade: your bonus action for the homunculus to do an action (action or bonus) but only one. You can't command it to take an action and a bonus action, assuming it has a bonus action.
If it had haste cast on it, you could command it to attack. It would attack once and the haste bonus action would be wasted as you can't command it to take 2 actions (either kind) and it doesn't have the option of doing anything else.
See you are both saying they can take a bonus action and then in the next paragraph saying that it doesn't have the ability to take a bonus action even if you give it one. Which is contradictory and you are treating the word action and bonus action as equivalent because you are saying its included in the statement " the only action it takes is the dodge action" for that to stop bonus actions then bonus actions would have to be an action because otherwise in the rules there are no restrictions that say you cannot simultaneously do both an action and bonus action on any creature. As another example you'd let the homunculus move freely without an bonus action command and your reason would be it only says that the only action it takes is dodge and movement is not an action. Similarly if a bonus action is not an action it could do those at will without a command. So to justify preventing the bonus action you have to say a bonus action is an action.
And it doesn't "magically" gain the ability to do a bonus action when you cast it. If you take the " Unless you command it to take another action" as singular it means that you only have to command it to take one action to remove the earlier restriction that this is a caveat too. They would have to have said "action or bonus action" if they meant for them to be exclusive. If you don't read it this way then the homonculus cannot use the extra action from the haste because when you command it it would only be able to take a single action. If the answer is they can because the spell override it then the rules of a ring of spell storing would override homonculus similarly.
Its just a really weird restriction because they could take a reaction to deliver a spell, move and take an action with your bonus action command but not a bonus action. The bonus action isn't explicitly mentioned in those rules same as the reaction and movement so why are they immune to it and bonus action isn't?
When I listed ruling 1 in my original post I said the only reason to take that rule is to artificially rebalance the homonculus to be in line with the normal limits on spell casting. Its not textual at all.
No I said the artificer, using their bonus action, can command the homunculus to replace their dodge action with 1 other action, as stated in the description. I included the move + bonus action to specifically cover commanding the homunculus to use a spell storing item, such as a ring of spell storage with only bonus action spells. My whole point was artificer bonus action translates to one action for the homunculus.
Note that "Unless you command it to take another action" is singular. I'm not sure why you keep thinking Another means 2 or more.
You are reading it as
"the homonculus only takes the dodge action or another action "
when its not or, its unless
Unless is different to or because its not stating options but instead a situation where the previous clause does not apply. the " another action" is not part of some list of things you can do but is instead a situation where the homunculus does not only dodge.
You cannot simply supstitute the two for example the meaning of this sentence inverts if you do.
You can drive a car unless you dont have a license
You can drive a car or you don't have a license
they're not the same and you cant substitute their meaning like you are.
Once a command has been given the homonculus can do anything it can through the normal rules to make that thing happen. If it's under the effect of haste it can disengage or dash to move to the space needed.
Also like I said earlier the entire sentence is likely irrelevant because a bonus action is not an action as far as the rules are concerned. It uses a different resource and different rules. There is no where in the rules where it says a bonus action is an action or that they follow the same rules and it is consistently written in a way where if it intended to apply to both, both are written down.
One kinda cool thing you can do as an alchemist even at low levels is give your healing potions to your homunculus and use your bonus action every round to tell it to ready an action. Set the trigger to when a party member becomes incapacitated and the action to use a health potion on them. This creates a kind of reaction res that works off your level one spell slots and can bring party members back in the middle of an enemy's attacks to prevent auto-failing death saves.