You are reading it as "the homonculus only takes the dodge action or another action " when its not or, its unless
Unless is different to or because its not stating options but instead a situation where the previous clause does not apply. the " another action" is not part of some list of things you can do but is instead a situation where the homunculus does not only dodge.
You cannot simply supstitute the two for example the meaning of this sentence inverts if you do.
You can drive a car unless you dont have a license You can drive a car or you don't have a license
they're not the same and you cant substitute their meaning like you are.
Once a command has been given the homonculus can do anything it can through the normal rules to make that thing happen. If it's under the effect of haste it can disengage or dash to move to the space needed.
Also like I said earlier the entire sentence is likely irrelevant because a bonus action is not an action as far as the rules are concerned. It uses a different resource and different rules. There is no where in the rules where it says a bonus action is an action or that they follow the same rules and it is consistently written in a way where if it intended to apply to both, both are written down.
The limitation is exactly what the description is doing. Full combat section text:
"In combat, the homunculus shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. If you are incapacitated, the homunculus can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge."
No argument on the first sentence. Move and still use its reaction (still good). Only action it will take is dodge (Note there are other actions available, this limits it to only dodging even though it has a force strike available.)
What you want it something like 'unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action, if it ever gets one'. Note there is no bonus action available on the stat block, so that option is not addressed specifically.
Adding a magic item may add the availability of a bonus action. (think we both agree on that). But the homunuculus is already specifically limited to what it may do. If you equip it with a magic item that gives a bonus action it can't take it. It is limited to dodging even with a bonus action available. If the artificier commands, you may switch that dodge to another action. That does not let it suddenly gain independence to use an available bonus action.
You are reading it as "the homonculus only takes the dodge action or another action " when its not or, its unless
Unless is different to or because its not stating options but instead a situation where the previous clause does not apply. the " another action" is not part of some list of things you can do but is instead a situation where the homunculus does not only dodge.
You cannot simply supstitute the two for example the meaning of this sentence inverts if you do.
You can drive a car unless you dont have a license You can drive a car or you don't have a license
they're not the same and you cant substitute their meaning like you are.
Once a command has been given the homonculus can do anything it can through the normal rules to make that thing happen. If it's under the effect of haste it can disengage or dash to move to the space needed.
Also like I said earlier the entire sentence is likely irrelevant because a bonus action is not an action as far as the rules are concerned. It uses a different resource and different rules. There is no where in the rules where it says a bonus action is an action or that they follow the same rules and it is consistently written in a way where if it intended to apply to both, both are written down.
The limitation is exactly what the description is doing. Full combat section text:
"In combat, the homunculus shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. If you are incapacitated, the homunculus can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge."
No argument on the first sentence. Move and still use its reaction (still good). Only action it will take is dodge (Note there are other actions available, this limits it to only dodging even though it has a force strike available.)
What you want it something like 'unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action, if it ever gets one'. Note there is no bonus action available on the stat block, so that option is not addressed specifically.
Adding a magic item may add the availability of a bonus action. (think we both agree on that). But the homunuculus is already specifically limited to what it may do. If you equip it with a magic item that gives a bonus action it can't take it. It is limited to dodging even with a bonus action available. If the artificier commands, you may switch that dodge to another action. That does not let it suddenly gain independence to use an available bonus action.
It's not suddenly gaining independence, it always had independence in everything other than it's action. It can move and take reactions on its own explicitly and per the default creature rules it can use its bonus action freely too. You might think it was intended that it can't take bonus actions but that's not what is written in the rules. There would need to be a mention of bonus actions to over ride that. The closest there is, is the word action which generally speaking isn't used to refer to bonus actions elsewhere in the rules.
And again even if you took that position as soon as a command is made it could take both an action and bonus action. "unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action" this wording isn't necessary because it could say as little as " unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it" and have the same meaning. The key word is unless, everything after it is just describing what the command is that nullifies the previous rule. It could say "unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it with the secret code word" and that would also mean it could take an action and a bonus action after you say the code word. It would be absolute nonsense to interpret this sentence in same way have been the homonculus one because that would mean that the homonculus dodges or does nothing when you say the code word. After all the code word sentence doesn't say it can take an action or bonus action after you say the code word. "The door cannot be opened unless you have the key" oh well I guess we can never get in because it doesn't say we can open the door if we have the key. Its just an absolute nonsense way to read that sentence
For it to only be able to take an action the wording needs to be something like "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action or you can take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" which would mean that you have a list of options, option 1 the dodge action or option 2 take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. Even in that case you still have to assume a bonus action is an action which probably isn't the case. To make it so it could take only an action or bonus action witho ut that assumption it would need to be "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action oryou can take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action"
Like I said unless is not an equivalent of "or" it means " except if" or " but not" . It does not denote an option but an exception to the rule. If you put in these synonyms for unless it becomes really clear.
For example "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, except ifyou take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" or ""the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, but not ifyou take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action
As soon as it is commanded to do any action, it is free to do anything it can as long as it fulfills that command. If you command it to attack some one and it has haste it can dodge, disengage and dash as well as long as it fulfills that goal of making an attack.
It's not suddenly gaining independence, it always had independence in everything other than it's action. It can move and take reactions on its own explicitly and per the default creature rules it can use its bonus action freely too. You might think it was intended that it can't take bonus actions but that's not what is written in the rules. There would need to be a mention of bonus actions to over ride that. The closest there is, is the word action which generally speaking isn't used to refer to bonus actions elsewhere in the rules.
And again even if you took that position as soon as a command is made it could take both an action and bonus action. "unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action" this wording isn't necessary because it could say as little as " unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it" and have the same meaning. The key word is unless, everything after it is just describing what the command is that nullifies the previous rule. It could say "unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it with the secret code word" and that would also mean it could take an action and a bonus action after you say the code word. It would be absolute nonsense to interpret this sentence in same way have been the homonculus one because that would mean that the homonculus dodges or does nothing when you say the code word. After all the code word sentence doesn't say it can take an action or bonus action after you say the code word. "The door cannot be opened unless you have the key" oh well I guess we can never get in because it doesn't say we can open the door if we have the key. Its just an absolute nonsense way to read that sentence
For it to only be able to take an action the wording needs to be something like "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action or you can take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" which would mean that you have a list of options, option 1 the dodge action or option 2 take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. Even in that case you still have to assume a bonus action is an action which probably isn't the case. To make it so it could take only an action or bonus action witho ut that assumption it would need to be "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action oryou can take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action"
Like I said unless is not an equivalent of "or" it means " except if" or " but not" . It does not denote an option but an exception to the rule. If you put in these synonyms for unless it becomes really clear.
For example "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, except ifyou take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" or ""the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, but not ifyou take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action
As soon as it is commanded to do any action, it is free to do anything it can as long as it fulfills that command. If you command it to attack some one and it has haste it can dodge, disengage and dash as well as long as it fulfills that goal of making an attack.
No it can't. You have to read the entire thing, not cherry pick part of a phrase.
Let's go through this again.
"In combat, the homunculus shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. If you are incapacitated, the homunculus can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge."
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action" That is all it can do on its own, there is no allowance for an action or a bonus action outside of dodge.
"unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" You use your bonus action to command it to take an action. Even if it had a bonus action from haste, ring of spell storage, or some weird concentration spell, it could not take it. The use of an artificier's 'a bonus action' (singular) to homunculus' 'another action' (singular). This is a one to one use, not a one to many use. Which is what you keep arguing.
Notice its all one sentence: "It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action."
Lets expand it a bit more and continue with the description. "That action can be one in its stat block or some other action." Some 'other action' again singular.
While I question quiet a bit of what the designers did in this edition, casting multiple spells is something they paid quiet a bit of attention to. Do you really think they missed this?
It's not suddenly gaining independence, it always had independence in everything other than it's action. It can move and take reactions on its own explicitly and per the default creature rules it can use its bonus action freely too. You might think it was intended that it can't take bonus actions but that's not what is written in the rules. There would need to be a mention of bonus actions to over ride that. The closest there is, is the word action which generally speaking isn't used to refer to bonus actions elsewhere in the rules.
And again even if you took that position as soon as a command is made it could take both an action and bonus action. "unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action" this wording isn't necessary because it could say as little as " unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it" and have the same meaning. The key word is unless, everything after it is just describing what the command is that nullifies the previous rule. It could say "unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it with the secret code word" and that would also mean it could take an action and a bonus action after you say the code word. It would be absolute nonsense to interpret this sentence in same way have been the homonculus one because that would mean that the homonculus dodges or does nothing when you say the code word. After all the code word sentence doesn't say it can take an action or bonus action after you say the code word. "The door cannot be opened unless you have the key" oh well I guess we can never get in because it doesn't say we can open the door if we have the key. Its just an absolute nonsense way to read that sentence
For it to only be able to take an action the wording needs to be something like "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action or you can take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" which would mean that you have a list of options, option 1 the dodge action or option 2 take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. Even in that case you still have to assume a bonus action is an action which probably isn't the case. To make it so it could take only an action or bonus action witho ut that assumption it would need to be "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action oryou can take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action"
Like I said unless is not an equivalent of "or" it means " except if" or " but not" . It does not denote an option but an exception to the rule. If you put in these synonyms for unless it becomes really clear.
For example "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, except ifyou take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" or ""the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, but not ifyou take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action
As soon as it is commanded to do any action, it is free to do anything it can as long as it fulfills that command. If you command it to attack some one and it has haste it can dodge, disengage and dash as well as long as it fulfills that goal of making an attack.
No it can't. You have to read the entire thing, not cherry pick part of a phrase.
Let's go through this again.
"In combat, the homunculus shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. If you are incapacitated, the homunculus can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge."
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action" That is all it can do on its own, there is no allowance for an action or a bonus action outside of dodge.
"unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" You use your bonus action to command it to take an action. Even if it had a bonus action from haste, ring of spell storage, or some weird concentration spell, it could not take it. The use of an artificier's 'a bonus action' (singular) to homunculus' 'another action' (singular). This is a one to one use, not a one to many use. Which is what you keep arguing.
Notice its all one sentence: "It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action."
Lets expand it a bit more and continue with the description. "That action can be one in its stat block or some other action." Some 'other action' again singular.
While I question quiet a bit of what the designers did in this edition, casting multiple spells is something they paid quiet a bit of attention to. Do you really think they missed this?
There are several ways to cast multiple spells including the familair which can do this effect without any action and is also very available to the artificer including arguably as an infusion through the spell storing tattoo. It's also not the case that it's the bonus action which is allowing extra spells here. Like I said creatures would normally be able to take a bonus action with it's action and do things like cast a bonus action spells and dodge or disengage. What is allowing extra spells is the spell storing item which has very specific language saying it uses an action to produce the effect of a spell rather than casting it getting past the bonus action spell rule.
I have not taken the clause " unless" out of context because I've been very explicit that its a clause that is dependent on ' it only .." I've just described it instead of typing it out each time. You however have taken " that action .." out of context.You cannot separate the sentences like that and treat them as if they were on their own when they rely on another sentence to make sense . The sentence "That action can be one in its stat block or some other action." is dependent on the previous sentence and has no meaning. When you take it out on it's own I have to ask what is " that action" is and as I said previously that action is the command the nullifies the previous " only dodges rule". If it's singular it simply means you only need to command a singular action to nullify the dodge rule because this second sentence which relies on the first cannot change the meaning of the first that way.
It's not suddenly gaining independence, it always had independence in everything other than it's action. It can move and take reactions on its own explicitly and per the default creature rules it can use its bonus action freely too. You might think it was intended that it can't take bonus actions but that's not what is written in the rules. There would need to be a mention of bonus actions to over ride that. The closest there is, is the word action which generally speaking isn't used to refer to bonus actions elsewhere in the rules.
And again even if you took that position as soon as a command is made it could take both an action and bonus action. "unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action" this wording isn't necessary because it could say as little as " unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it" and have the same meaning. The key word is unless, everything after it is just describing what the command is that nullifies the previous rule. It could say "unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it with the secret code word" and that would also mean it could take an action and a bonus action after you say the code word. It would be absolute nonsense to interpret this sentence in same way have been the homonculus one because that would mean that the homonculus dodges or does nothing when you say the code word. After all the code word sentence doesn't say it can take an action or bonus action after you say the code word. "The door cannot be opened unless you have the key" oh well I guess we can never get in because it doesn't say we can open the door if we have the key. Its just an absolute nonsense way to read that sentence
For it to only be able to take an action the wording needs to be something like "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action or you can take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" which would mean that you have a list of options, option 1 the dodge action or option 2 take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. Even in that case you still have to assume a bonus action is an action which probably isn't the case. To make it so it could take only an action or bonus action witho ut that assumption it would need to be "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action oryou can take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action"
Like I said unless is not an equivalent of "or" it means " except if" or " but not" . It does not denote an option but an exception to the rule. If you put in these synonyms for unless it becomes really clear.
For example "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, except ifyou take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" or ""the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, but not ifyou take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action
As soon as it is commanded to do any action, it is free to do anything it can as long as it fulfills that command. If you command it to attack some one and it has haste it can dodge, disengage and dash as well as long as it fulfills that goal of making an attack.
No it can't. You have to read the entire thing, not cherry pick part of a phrase.
Let's go through this again.
"In combat, the homunculus shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. If you are incapacitated, the homunculus can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge."
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action" That is all it can do on its own, there is no allowance for an action or a bonus action outside of dodge.
"unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" You use your bonus action to command it to take an action. Even if it had a bonus action from haste, ring of spell storage, or some weird concentration spell, it could not take it. The use of an artificier's 'a bonus action' (singular) to homunculus' 'another action' (singular). This is a one to one use, not a one to many use. Which is what you keep arguing.
Notice its all one sentence: "It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action."
Lets expand it a bit more and continue with the description. "That action can be one in its stat block or some other action." Some 'other action' again singular.
While I question quiet a bit of what the designers did in this edition, casting multiple spells is something they paid quiet a bit of attention to. Do you really think they missed this?
There are several ways to cast multiple spells including the familair which can do this effect without any action and is also very available to the artificer including arguably as an infusion through the spell storing tattoo. It's also not the case that it's the bonus action which is allowing extra spells here. Like I said creatures would normally be able to take a bonus action with it's action and do things like cast a bonus action spells and dodge or disengage. What is allowing extra spells is the spell storing item which has very specific language saying it uses an action to produce the effect of a spell rather than casting it getting past the bonus action spell rule.
I have not taken the clause " unless" out of context because I've been very explicit that its a clause that is dependent on ' it only .." I've just described it instead of typing it out each time. You however have taken " that action .." out of context.You cannot separate the sentences like that and treat them as if they were on their own when they rely on another sentence to make sense . The sentence "That action can be one in its stat block or some other action." is dependent on the previous sentence and has no meaning. When you take it out on it's own I have to ask what is " that action" is and as I said previously that action is the command the nullifies the previous " only dodges rule". If it's singular it simply means you only need to command a singular action to nullify the dodge rule because this second sentence which relies on the first cannot change the meaning of the first that way.
There are only a few ways for a single caster, with caster specific assistance, to cast multiple spells. The artificier is getting two full spells out of it by casting as an artificier and then using a bonus action to have the homunuculus use a magic item.
Find familiar states that it works independently. However, the homunculus' description states what it can do. It may move, reaction, action (dodge).
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action."
You're ignoring the first part of the sentence, ""It can move and use its reaction on its own,". No order from artificer means the only action it can take is dodge, even if it had a bonus action from haste or a magic item. The 'unless' doesn't negate the only thing it can do
'That' action is what the artificer commands it to take instead of dodge. It is still a one (bonus action) to one (homunculus action) exchange.
It's not suddenly gaining independence, it always had independence in everything other than it's action. It can move and take reactions on its own explicitly and per the default creature rules it can use its bonus action freely too. You might think it was intended that it can't take bonus actions but that's not what is written in the rules. There would need to be a mention of bonus actions to over ride that. The closest there is, is the word action which generally speaking isn't used to refer to bonus actions elsewhere in the rules.
And again even if you took that position as soon as a command is made it could take both an action and bonus action. "unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action" this wording isn't necessary because it could say as little as " unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it" and have the same meaning. The key word is unless, everything after it is just describing what the command is that nullifies the previous rule. It could say "unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it with the secret code word" and that would also mean it could take an action and a bonus action after you say the code word. It would be absolute nonsense to interpret this sentence in same way have been the homonculus one because that would mean that the homonculus dodges or does nothing when you say the code word. After all the code word sentence doesn't say it can take an action or bonus action after you say the code word. "The door cannot be opened unless you have the key" oh well I guess we can never get in because it doesn't say we can open the door if we have the key. Its just an absolute nonsense way to read that sentence
For it to only be able to take an action the wording needs to be something like "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action or you can take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" which would mean that you have a list of options, option 1 the dodge action or option 2 take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. Even in that case you still have to assume a bonus action is an action which probably isn't the case. To make it so it could take only an action or bonus action witho ut that assumption it would need to be "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action oryou can take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action"
Like I said unless is not an equivalent of "or" it means " except if" or " but not" . It does not denote an option but an exception to the rule. If you put in these synonyms for unless it becomes really clear.
For example "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, except ifyou take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" or ""the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, but not ifyou take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action
As soon as it is commanded to do any action, it is free to do anything it can as long as it fulfills that command. If you command it to attack some one and it has haste it can dodge, disengage and dash as well as long as it fulfills that goal of making an attack.
No it can't. You have to read the entire thing, not cherry pick part of a phrase.
Let's go through this again.
"In combat, the homunculus shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. If you are incapacitated, the homunculus can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge."
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action" That is all it can do on its own, there is no allowance for an action or a bonus action outside of dodge.
"unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" You use your bonus action to command it to take an action. Even if it had a bonus action from haste, ring of spell storage, or some weird concentration spell, it could not take it. The use of an artificier's 'a bonus action' (singular) to homunculus' 'another action' (singular). This is a one to one use, not a one to many use. Which is what you keep arguing.
Notice its all one sentence: "It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action."
Lets expand it a bit more and continue with the description. "That action can be one in its stat block or some other action." Some 'other action' again singular.
While I question quiet a bit of what the designers did in this edition, casting multiple spells is something they paid quiet a bit of attention to. Do you really think they missed this?
There are several ways to cast multiple spells including the familair which can do this effect without any action and is also very available to the artificer including arguably as an infusion through the spell storing tattoo. It's also not the case that it's the bonus action which is allowing extra spells here. Like I said creatures would normally be able to take a bonus action with it's action and do things like cast a bonus action spells and dodge or disengage. What is allowing extra spells is the spell storing item which has very specific language saying it uses an action to produce the effect of a spell rather than casting it getting past the bonus action spell rule.
I have not taken the clause " unless" out of context because I've been very explicit that its a clause that is dependent on ' it only .." I've just described it instead of typing it out each time. You however have taken " that action .." out of context.You cannot separate the sentences like that and treat them as if they were on their own when they rely on another sentence to make sense . The sentence "That action can be one in its stat block or some other action." is dependent on the previous sentence and has no meaning. When you take it out on it's own I have to ask what is " that action" is and as I said previously that action is the command the nullifies the previous " only dodges rule". If it's singular it simply means you only need to command a singular action to nullify the dodge rule because this second sentence which relies on the first cannot change the meaning of the first that way.
There are only a few ways for a single caster, with caster specific assistance, to cast multiple spells. The artificier is getting two full spells out of it by casting as an artificier and then using a bonus action to have the homunuculus use a magic item.
Find familiar states that it works independently. However, the homunculus' description states what it can do. It may move, reaction, action (dodge).
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action."
You're ignoring the first part of the sentence, ""It can move and use its reaction on its own,". No order from artificer means the only action it can take is dodge, even if it had a bonus action from haste or a magic item. The 'unless' doesn't negate the only thing it can do
'That' action is what the artificer commands it to take instead of dodge. It is still a one (bonus action) to one (homunculus action) exchange.
I'm not ignoring " It can move and use its reaction on its own" simply doesn't say only which is how you appear to be reading it. Those are examples of things it can do but not an exhaustive list, to be an exhaustive list it would need to have said only. Now, even if it had said " It can only move and use it's reaction on it's own" that would mean it can do other things not on it's own and says nothing about the number of things it can do not on it's own so does not rule out being able to take both an action and bonus action when commanded. In other words referring back to what I said original if it had said only in this sentence it would have lead to and identical result to reading but I didn't mention the possibility that it said only in that because it doesn't.
As for the next sentence. A unless B means that when B is true A is not.
Like I've said before you get really weird interactions with things like haste if you interpret it as only a single action. It's also a strange for a creature to only be able to take an action or a bonus action without that being explicitly stated such as Tasha's Mind Whip.
You keep bringing up new parts of this paragraph but none of them support what you are saying the paragraph in it's totality says nothing about bonus actions so it defaults to the rule that every creature can take an action and a bonus action on it's turn.
I as you say 'keep brining up other parts', because I keep posting the entire thing and only is verly clearly in the description of what it can do.
The A unless B [Dodge unless Ordered] that works, it is a one to one exchange. The alchemist expennds a bonus action for the homunuculus to take an action.
You keep assuming the homunuculus is independent. It is not. If you want something that acts independently, use find familiar.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The limitation is exactly what the description is doing. Full combat section text:
"In combat, the homunculus shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. If you are incapacitated, the homunculus can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge."
No argument on the first sentence. Move and still use its reaction (still good). Only action it will take is dodge (Note there are other actions available, this limits it to only dodging even though it has a force strike available.)
What you want it something like 'unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action, if it ever gets one'. Note there is no bonus action available on the stat block, so that option is not addressed specifically.
Adding a magic item may add the availability of a bonus action. (think we both agree on that). But the homunuculus is already specifically limited to what it may do. If you equip it with a magic item that gives a bonus action it can't take it. It is limited to dodging even with a bonus action available. If the artificier commands, you may switch that dodge to another action. That does not let it suddenly gain independence to use an available bonus action.
It's not suddenly gaining independence, it always had independence in everything other than it's action. It can move and take reactions on its own explicitly and per the default creature rules it can use its bonus action freely too. You might think it was intended that it can't take bonus actions but that's not what is written in the rules. There would need to be a mention of bonus actions to over ride that. The closest there is, is the word action which generally speaking isn't used to refer to bonus actions elsewhere in the rules.
And again even if you took that position as soon as a command is made it could take both an action and bonus action. "unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action" this wording isn't necessary because it could say as little as " unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it" and have the same meaning. The key word is unless, everything after it is just describing what the command is that nullifies the previous rule. It could say "unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it with the secret code word" and that would also mean it could take an action and a bonus action after you say the code word. It would be absolute nonsense to interpret this sentence in same way have been the homonculus one because that would mean that the homonculus dodges or does nothing when you say the code word. After all the code word sentence doesn't say it can take an action or bonus action after you say the code word. "The door cannot be opened unless you have the key" oh well I guess we can never get in because it doesn't say we can open the door if we have the key. Its just an absolute nonsense way to read that sentence
For it to only be able to take an action the wording needs to be something like "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action or you can take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" which would mean that you have a list of options, option 1 the dodge action or option 2 take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. Even in that case you still have to assume a bonus action is an action which probably isn't the case. To make it so it could take only an action or bonus action witho ut that assumption it would need to be "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action or you can take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action or bonus action"
Like I said unless is not an equivalent of "or" it means " except if" or " but not" . It does not denote an option but an exception to the rule. If you put in these synonyms for unless it becomes really clear.
For example "the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, except if you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action"
or ""the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, but not if you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action
As soon as it is commanded to do any action, it is free to do anything it can as long as it fulfills that command. If you command it to attack some one and it has haste it can dodge, disengage and dash as well as long as it fulfills that goal of making an attack.
No it can't. You have to read the entire thing, not cherry pick part of a phrase.
Let's go through this again.
"In combat, the homunculus shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. If you are incapacitated, the homunculus can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge."
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action" That is all it can do on its own, there is no allowance for an action or a bonus action outside of dodge.
"unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action" You use your bonus action to command it to take an action. Even if it had a bonus action from haste, ring of spell storage, or some weird concentration spell, it could not take it. The use of an artificier's 'a bonus action' (singular) to homunculus' 'another action' (singular). This is a one to one use, not a one to many use. Which is what you keep arguing.
Notice its all one sentence: "It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action."
Lets expand it a bit more and continue with the description. "That action can be one in its stat block or some other action." Some 'other action' again singular.
While I question quiet a bit of what the designers did in this edition, casting multiple spells is something they paid quiet a bit of attention to. Do you really think they missed this?
There are several ways to cast multiple spells including the familair which can do this effect without any action and is also very available to the artificer including arguably as an infusion through the spell storing tattoo. It's also not the case that it's the bonus action which is allowing extra spells here. Like I said creatures would normally be able to take a bonus action with it's action and do things like cast a bonus action spells and dodge or disengage. What is allowing extra spells is the spell storing item which has very specific language saying it uses an action to produce the effect of a spell rather than casting it getting past the bonus action spell rule.
I have not taken the clause " unless" out of context because I've been very explicit that its a clause that is dependent on ' it only .." I've just described it instead of typing it out each time. You however have taken " that action .." out of context.You cannot separate the sentences like that and treat them as if they were on their own when they rely on another sentence to make sense . The sentence "That action can be one in its stat block or some other action." is dependent on the previous sentence and has no meaning. When you take it out on it's own I have to ask what is " that action" is and as I said previously that action is the command the nullifies the previous " only dodges rule". If it's singular it simply means you only need to command a singular action to nullify the dodge rule because this second sentence which relies on the first cannot change the meaning of the first that way.
There are only a few ways for a single caster, with caster specific assistance, to cast multiple spells. The artificier is getting two full spells out of it by casting as an artificier and then using a bonus action to have the homunuculus use a magic item.
Find familiar states that it works independently. However, the homunculus' description states what it can do. It may move, reaction, action (dodge).
"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action."
You're ignoring the first part of the sentence, ""It can move and use its reaction on its own,". No order from artificer means the only action it can take is dodge, even if it had a bonus action from haste or a magic item. The 'unless' doesn't negate the only thing it can do
'That' action is what the artificer commands it to take instead of dodge. It is still a one (bonus action) to one (homunculus action) exchange.
I'm not ignoring " It can move and use its reaction on its own" simply doesn't say only which is how you appear to be reading it. Those are examples of things it can do but not an exhaustive list, to be an exhaustive list it would need to have said only. Now, even if it had said " It can only move and use it's reaction on it's own" that would mean it can do other things not on it's own and says nothing about the number of things it can do not on it's own so does not rule out being able to take both an action and bonus action when commanded. In other words referring back to what I said original if it had said only in this sentence it would have lead to and identical result to reading but I didn't mention the possibility that it said only in that because it doesn't.
As for the next sentence. A unless B means that when B is true A is not.
Like I've said before you get really weird interactions with things like haste if you interpret it as only a single action. It's also a strange for a creature to only be able to take an action or a bonus action without that being explicitly stated such as Tasha's Mind Whip.
You keep bringing up new parts of this paragraph but none of them support what you are saying the paragraph in it's totality says nothing about bonus actions so it defaults to the rule that every creature can take an action and a bonus action on it's turn.
I as you say 'keep brining up other parts', because I keep posting the entire thing and only is verly clearly in the description of what it can do.
The A unless B [Dodge unless Ordered] that works, it is a one to one exchange. The alchemist expennds a bonus action for the homunuculus to take an action.
You keep assuming the homunuculus is independent. It is not. If you want something that acts independently, use find familiar.