I think you are missing what I'm asking Why did they bother putting in the text saying you have 2 gantlets? From what you are saying its so you can choose to hit with your left or right hand but never both. Why? What purpose does that serve mechanically?
Arcane Propulsion Armor (the infusion) has the same text in relevant part, and neither one has text saying you have two gauntlets. Subtly different wording means Arcane Propulsion Armor includes at least two gauntlets while Guardian Armor includes at least one (technically zero, but this argument will cause a rules paradox), and neither one has any upper limit on number of incorporated gauntlets. You'll note if you look there's no actual rule stopping you from mounting gauntlets all over your Defender suit.
If you want to keep down the path of madness, no rule says the thunder gauntlets must be attached to the armor to work. Strictly RAW, however many gauntlets the suit of armor has can be dispensed to, say, the adventuring party, and they can run around punching with them. Once you're level 9, you can infuse all of the gauntlets at once with one weapon infusion.
Oh, and you don't have to wear a gauntlet to attack with it. It becomes a weapon while nothing is held in the gauntlet. In terms of strict RAW, you can hold the gauntlet in your hand and slap people with it, and it'll function just fine, if you want to qualify for, say, Two Weapon Fighting with the Dual Wielder feat, since again, the text of the gauntlets is that the gauntlets have to be empty to be weaponized, not your hands, unlike e.g. Beast Barbarian claws.
So I ask for logical reasoning and this is what you come with?
I think you are missing what I'm asking Why did they bother putting in the text saying you have 2 gantlets? From what you are saying its so you can choose to hit with your left or right hand but never both. Why? What purpose does that serve mechanically?
Okay, first of all, it doesn't actually say you have two gauntlets; the rule says "each of the armor’s gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren’t holding anything in it", strictly speaking you could have as many gauntlets as your character can have arms (you don't even need the limbs, since the armour replaces them). If you were to flip the wording around it could state "While wearing this model of Arcane Armor, you can attack with an empty hand as a simple melee weapon dealing d8 thunder damage on a hit" or similar.
Second of all, it has nothing to do with the number of attacks you can make; all it means is that as long as you have at least one free hand, you can use this special attack. The number of gauntlets has no bearing on anything here, you only need one.
Third, having multiple weapons never means you automatically get to use them, because whether or not you can attack with additional weapons is entirely an issue of whether you have enough attacks to split between them, or if they have the light property so they can qualify for two-handed fighting. Having two weapons doesn't mean you can fight twice as effectively; in fact if they're clumsy enough then attacking with both can actually make you less effective than simply focusing on striking effectively with one.
There really is no use fishing for bonus attacks here; nothing in the rules supports it unless you take the Dual Wielder feat specifically for this purpose (even that's slightly debatable since it specifically uses the word wield, but I doubt many people would try to deny you that if you've taken a feat to do it).
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
This is wrong. Take DW feat and you can now TWF - make an attack with your "offhand" Thunder Gauntlet as a Bonus Action. Now, you still would need to pick up the Two Weapon Fighting Fighting Style in order to have both all 3 of your attacks (assuming you have Extra Attack that is) damage benefit from your Int Modifier.
Quite simply, Take Level 1 in Fighter, select TWF Fighting Style, and finish the rest of your levels with Armorer Artificer, 19 total, character levels 2-20. Now if you do Custom Origin OR Variant Human, you can start your first Feat as DW. But given you won't have Thunder Gauntlets until Character Level 4, I don't think you'd be missing much if you waited until Character Level 5 to take the DW Feat at Artificer Level 4.
Ideally, your DM starts you at level 5 for your campaign. Levels 1-4 are ugly and boring anyway.
So I ask for logical reasoning and this is what you come with?
Oh, I'm not Haravikk. I'm pointing out the Thunder Gauntlet rules are looney tunes.
Okay, first of all, it doesn't actually say you have two gauntlets; the rule says "each of the armor’s gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren’t holding anything in it", strictly speaking you could have as many gauntlets as your character can have arms (you don't even need the limbs, since the armour replaces them). If you were to flip the wording around it could state "While wearing this model of Arcane Armor, you can attack with an empty hand as a simple melee weapon dealing d8 thunder damage on a hit" or similar.
Second of all, it has nothing to do with the number of attacks you can make; all it means is that as long as you have at least one free hand, you can use this special attack. The number of gauntlets has no bearing on anything here, you only need one.
Third, having multiple weapons never means you automatically get to use them, because whether or not you can attack with additional weapons is entirely an issue of whether you have enough attacks to split between them, or if they have the light property so they can qualify for two-handed fighting. Having two weapons doesn't mean you can fight twice as effectively; in fact if they're clumsy enough then attacking with both can actually make you less effective than simply focusing on striking effectively with one.
There really is no use fishing for bonus attacks here; nothing in the rules supports it unless you take the Dual Wielder feat specifically for this purpose (even that's slightly debatable since it specifically uses the word wield, but I doubt many people would try to deny you that if you've taken a feat to do it).
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
This is wrong. Take DW feat and you can now TWF - make an attack with your "offhand" Thunder Gauntlet as a Bonus Action. Now, you still would need to pick up the Two Weapon Fighting Fighting Style in order to have both all 3 of your attacks (assuming you have Extra Attack that is) damage benefit from your Int Modifier.
Quite simply, Take Level 1 in Fighter, select TWF Fighting Style, and finish the rest of your levels with Armorer Artificer, 19 total, character levels 2-20. Now if you do Custom Origin OR Variant Human, you can start your first Feat as DW. But given you won't have Thunder Gauntlets until Character Level 4, I don't think you'd be missing much if you waited until Character Level 5 to take the DW Feat at Artificer Level 4.
Ideally, your DM starts you at level 5 for your campaign. Levels 1-4 are ugly and boring anyway.
Create two weapons with the stats of the fists and equip them both. Name them Thunder gauntlets. Follow me for more recipes.
Ultimately what I had to resort to as well.