Okay, I am a Bard and I have cloud of Daggers as a second level spell. Does this auto hit? I don't see anything about the spell hitting or if the target has to make a saving throw.
"Where words fail, swords prevail. Where blood is spilled, my cup is filled" -Cartaphilus
"I have found the answer to the meaning of life. You ask me what the answer is? You already know what the answer to life is. You fear it more than the strike of a viper, the ravages of disease, the ire of a lover. The answer is always death. But death is a gentle mistress with a sweet embrace, and you owe her a debt of restitution. Life is not a gift, it is a loan."
So the damage doesn't get rolled until their turn comes up, then they take that first hit. Clarification so they don't get hit twice before they get a chance to act.
So they will still take the damage from the initial cast albeit slightly delayed till the creatures turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Where words fail, swords prevail. Where blood is spilled, my cup is filled" -Cartaphilus
"I have found the answer to the meaning of life. You ask me what the answer is? You already know what the answer to life is. You fear it more than the strike of a viper, the ravages of disease, the ire of a lover. The answer is always death. But death is a gentle mistress with a sweet embrace, and you owe her a debt of restitution. Life is not a gift, it is a loan."
It says “when the creature first enters the effect of the spell” and if you cast the spell effect on the creature then how has it has not entered the area of effect? Damn that is a dumb way to design hazards. I’ll be ignoring that piece of ruling because it sounds stupid. Or I guess I’ll follow their advice and say that you have to wait till the beginning of your turn to apply damage from any source, because technically everything that hurts you is a hazard.
The creature must enter the effect. If it is already in the effect when it begins it did not enter the effect. This spell fails to do damage to a creature it is cast on if the creature moves before its turn begins whether from forced movement effects, reaction movement, or legendary actions.
(edit: ok, so only once per turn when it first enters... but multiple players could use features or grapples or whatever to move it in and out on different turns... the last one to do so leaving it in the cloud so it would take it again at the start of it's turn.)
If you want the "cheese grater" effect, it's better to go with a spell like spike growth. Now, if you combine the effect of grease with Cloud of Daggers, that could put the hurt on someone for multiple rounds.
Okay, I am a Bard and I have cloud of Daggers as a second level spell. Does this auto hit? I don't see anything about the spell hitting or if the target has to make a saving throw.
Cloud of Daggers
It deals its damage immediately if you cast it on a square with an enemy in it, no saving throw. Same goes for someone moving through the cloud.
"Where words fail, swords prevail. Where blood is spilled, my cup is filled" -Cartaphilus
"I have found the answer to the meaning of life. You ask me what the answer is? You already know what the answer to life is. You fear it more than the strike of a viper, the ravages of disease, the ire of a lover. The answer is always death. But death is a gentle mistress with a sweet embrace, and you owe her a debt of restitution. Life is not a gift, it is a loan."
Thank you!!
The Forum Infestation (TM)
So the damage doesn't get rolled until their turn comes up, then they take that first hit. Clarification so they don't get hit twice before they get a chance to act.
So they will still take the damage from the initial cast albeit slightly delayed till the creatures turn.
"Where words fail, swords prevail. Where blood is spilled, my cup is filled" -Cartaphilus
"I have found the answer to the meaning of life. You ask me what the answer is? You already know what the answer to life is. You fear it more than the strike of a viper, the ravages of disease, the ire of a lover. The answer is always death. But death is a gentle mistress with a sweet embrace, and you owe her a debt of restitution. Life is not a gift, it is a loan."
It says “when the creature first enters the effect of the spell” and if you cast the spell effect on the creature then how has it has not entered the area of effect? Damn that is a dumb way to design hazards. I’ll be ignoring that piece of ruling because it sounds stupid. Or I guess I’ll follow their advice and say that you have to wait till the beginning of your turn to apply damage from any source, because technically everything that hurts you is a hazard.
The creature must enter the effect. If it is already in the effect when it begins it did not enter the effect. This spell fails to do damage to a creature it is cast on if the creature moves before its turn begins whether from forced movement effects, reaction movement, or legendary actions.
If you want the "cheese grater" effect, it's better to go with a spell like spike growth. Now, if you combine the effect of grease with Cloud of Daggers, that could put the hurt on someone for multiple rounds.
My party liked to cast cloud of daggers and levitate together to trap a creature in the cloud. Worked very well.