So, I need peoples opinions on this. The channel divinity ability for Grave Domain states:
Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to mark another creature’s life force for termination.
As an action, you choose one creature you can see within 30 feet of you, cursing it until the end of your next turn. The next time you or an ally of yours hits the cursed creature with an attack, the creature has vulnerability to all of that attack’s damage, and then the curse ends
Now when it says attack, does that include spell damage. In my current campaign, I am playing the Cleric and we were up against a dragon, so I naturally used this ability against it. The next player after me cast Fireball, which does 8D6. So does that mean that the dragon should take 48 damage automatically? Heck in our case, the DM still rolled the dex saving throw which it failed, so the DM thought this meant that it took double damage, so we did 96 damage to it in one move, which as you can guess, finished it off.
That to me personally seems really OP and I am sure we have misinterpreted the rules, so what do you guys think?
Why would the dragon have taken 48 damage automatically from 8D6? Vulnerability has no bearing on dice rolling, you still roll. The average roll there is around 24 or 12 on a successful save, which even if you opted to apply vulnerability to (as noted, it is not an attack and does not "hit") would be 48/24 after doubling.
Why would the dragon have taken 48 damage automatically from 8D6? Vulnerability has no bearing on dice rolling, you still roll. The average roll there is around 24 or 12 on a successful save, which even if you opted to apply vulnerability to (as noted, it is not an attack and does not "hit") would be 48/24 after doubling.
No, the average of 8d6 is 28. 14 on a successful save. The maximum is 48. The minimum, in case you're wondering, is 8, or 4 on a successful save.
wildste: it's still rolled. "All of the attack's damage" refers to attacks with multiple damage types, like a flaming sword doing both d8 slashing and d6 fire damage. Normally you would only have vulnerability to one type at a time, but this class feature means you take double the damage from all of the attack's types.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in awhile.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, I need peoples opinions on this. The channel divinity ability for Grave Domain states:
Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to mark another creature’s life force for termination.
As an action, you choose one creature you can see within 30 feet of you, cursing it until the end of your next turn. The next time you or an ally of yours hits the cursed creature with an attack, the creature has vulnerability to all of that attack’s damage, and then the curse ends
Now when it says attack, does that include spell damage. In my current campaign, I am playing the Cleric and we were up against a dragon, so I naturally used this ability against it. The next player after me cast Fireball, which does 8D6. So does that mean that the dragon should take 48 damage automatically? Heck in our case, the DM still rolled the dex saving throw which it failed, so the DM thought this meant that it took double damage, so we did 96 damage to it in one move, which as you can guess, finished it off.
That to me personally seems really OP and I am sure we have misinterpreted the rules, so what do you guys think?
Attack means weapon or spell attack. Fireball does not have an attack roll, so it is not an attack.
Ok then, so any spell that has an attack roll is good to go, excellent.
Thank you for clearing that up.
Why would the dragon have taken 48 damage automatically from 8D6? Vulnerability has no bearing on dice rolling, you still roll. The average roll there is around 24 or 12 on a successful save, which even if you opted to apply vulnerability to (as noted, it is not an attack and does not "hit") would be 48/24 after doubling.
Even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in awhile.
The wording we kept coming back to was "all that attacks damage", which to us means you don't actually roll for damage.
We debated it for about five minutes
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tooltips (Help/aid)
wildste: it's still rolled. "All of the attack's damage" refers to attacks with multiple damage types, like a flaming sword doing both d8 slashing and d6 fire damage. Normally you would only have vulnerability to one type at a time, but this class feature means you take double the damage from all of the attack's types.
Even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in awhile.