That's what I figured. It certainly feels, to me at least, that unless concentration gets broken - I would keep the image as the cleric had it at the end of the round (or whatever) but being dragged along breaking the illusion until it stopped. But I suppose that would be my ruling as a DM.
The rule is actually a bit confusing, but if you look at the key part:
As an action, you create a perfect illusion of yourself that lasts for 1 minute, or until you lose your concentration (as if you were concentrating on a spell). The illusion appears in an unoccupied space that you can see within 30 feet of you. As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the illusion up to 30 feet to a space you can see, but it must remain within 120 feet of you.
This to me suggests that the requirement to remain within 120 feet is only part of the bonus action to move it, i.e- if it's 100 feet away it cannot run 30 feet away from you, it will hit the 120 feet mark and stop. But what happens if you move? The rule doesn't say; however, if you are 140 feet away and use your bonus action to move the illusion, it must use 20 feet of its movement to end up back within range, because that's part of the rule for moving it.
For me the question is what happens if you want to move the illusion and it can't get back within range? For example if you're 200 feet away? It can only move 30 feet, so does it move as close as possible, or does it stay where it is (i.e- it cannot move at all because it cannot meet the "within 120 feet" condition)? Personally I'd interpret this as meaning that the illusion can only be moved if it is within 150 feet of you (assuming no obstructions); if you go too far away it becomes stuck until you get close enough that it can return to within 120 feet.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
The is no requirement to remain within any distance of the illusion once it's cast, except if you move it as a bonus action, in which case it must remain within 120 feet of you. So while you can move anywhere you want, you can't move the illusion anywhere you want.
When using invoke duplicity, if you move beyond the 120ft range, does the illusion just move with you (as it stands, like a glitching game)?
That's what I figured. It certainly feels, to me at least, that unless concentration gets broken - I would keep the image as the cleric had it at the end of the round (or whatever) but being dragged along breaking the illusion until it stopped. But I suppose that would be my ruling as a DM.
The rule is actually a bit confusing, but if you look at the key part:
This to me suggests that the requirement to remain within 120 feet is only part of the bonus action to move it, i.e- if it's 100 feet away it cannot run 30 feet away from you, it will hit the 120 feet mark and stop. But what happens if you move? The rule doesn't say; however, if you are 140 feet away and use your bonus action to move the illusion, it must use 20 feet of its movement to end up back within range, because that's part of the rule for moving it.
For me the question is what happens if you want to move the illusion and it can't get back within range? For example if you're 200 feet away? It can only move 30 feet, so does it move as close as possible, or does it stay where it is (i.e- it cannot move at all because it cannot meet the "within 120 feet" condition)? Personally I'd interpret this as meaning that the illusion can only be moved if it is within 150 feet of you (assuming no obstructions); if you go too far away it becomes stuck until you get close enough that it can return to within 120 feet.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
The is no requirement to remain within any distance of the illusion once it's cast, except if you move it as a bonus action, in which case it must remain within 120 feet of you. So while you can move anywhere you want, you can't move the illusion anywhere you want.
That's interesting. I like that idea. That makes sense.