Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class's spell list.
In addition, choose one 1st-level spell from that same list. You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again using this feat.
Your spellcasting ability for these spells depends on the class you chose: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warlock; Wisdom for cleric or druid: or Intelligence for wizard.
If you have spell slots, can you use them to cast the 1st-level spell you learn with the Magic Initiate feat?
Yes, but only if the class you pick for the feat is one of your classes. For example, if you pick sorcerer and you are a sorcerer, the Spellcasting feature for that class tells you that you can use your spell slots to cast the sorcerer spells you know, so you can use your spell slots to cast the 1st-level sorcerer spell you learn from Magic Initiate. Similarly, if you are a wizard and pick that class for the feat, you learn a 1st-level wizard spell, which you could add to your spellbook and subsequently prepare. In short, you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules, which determine whether you can expend spell slots on the 1st-level spell you learn from Magic Initiate.
So: you can cast the chosen spell once per day without spell slots at base level regardless of your class. If you choose the feat matching your class, then you add the spell as a known spell, and can cast it as determined by your class Spellcasting feature (scribing/preparing, if your spellcasting requires this).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
The still requiring it to be prepared really puts a downer on it though. If you choose MI:Cleric as a Cleric - you'll already know the spell to be able to prepare it. So all you're getting is the free one-time per day cast.
Still useful - but not as useful as it would be on a Warlock or Sorcerer.
As a life Cleric it is a waste of a prepared spell...I just switched it to Inflict Wounds and it does not count as the 4 standard prepared spells and 2 domain at 1st level. So I have 9 spells prepared including the MI spell and 5 cantrips.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The feat in question, bold emphasis mine:
Sage Advice:
So: you can cast the chosen spell once per day without spell slots at base level regardless of your class. If you choose the feat matching your class, then you add the spell as a known spell, and can cast it as determined by your class Spellcasting feature (scribing/preparing, if your spellcasting requires this).
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
The still requiring it to be prepared really puts a downer on it though. If you choose MI:Cleric as a Cleric - you'll already know the spell to be able to prepare it. So all you're getting is the free one-time per day cast.
Still useful - but not as useful as it would be on a Warlock or Sorcerer.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
As a life Cleric it is a waste of a prepared spell...I just switched it to Inflict Wounds and it does not count as the 4 standard prepared spells and 2 domain at 1st level. So I have 9 spells prepared including the MI spell and 5 cantrips.