I was just reading this and realized.....EVERY CREATURES TURN (fried or enemy). Wow. So don't stand next to a cavalier....In addition, the attacks could all be against the same creature. So in a fight say that is 5 characters versus 5 enemy... The cavalier could take 9 extra attacks on anyone in range as his reaction, including all on the same enemy.....The ultimate melee monster. The triggering creature is simply any creature.....Even against a big boss...he's getting a swipe on every allies turn.......
Starting at 18th level, you respond to danger with extraordinary vigilance. In combat, you get a special reaction that you can take once on every creature’s turn, except your turn. You can use this special reaction only to make an opportunity attack, and you can’t use it on the same turn that you take your normal reaction.
Given you can only use this special reaction to make opportunity attacks, the only target of this attack can be the triggering creature, none other (as per opportunity attack rules), and only when the target moves outside of the cavalier's reach. The mention of "creatures" alone, without specifying "hostile" might sound a bit odd, but since only hostile creatures can trigger an attack of opportunity, it stands to reason that this feature can only be used against a hostile creature that moves outside of the cavalier's reach.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
More reasonable...so you still must have the standard trigger, it just means it is unlimited on how many times it can go off. Mage slayer, hold the line, a reach weapon, maybe polearm master would all help then. Powerful but not absurd.
Given you can only use this special reaction to make opportunity attacks, the only target of this attack can be the triggering creature, none other (as per opportunity attack rules), and only when the target moves outside of the cavalier's reach. The mention of "creatures" alone, without specifying "hostile" might sound a bit odd, but since only hostile creatures can trigger an attack of opportunity, it stands to reason that this feature can only be used against a hostile creature that moves outside of the cavalier's reach.
The reason it doesn't specify hostile creature's turns is because a hostile creature could use a reaction or legendary action to move during you ally's turn, thus provoking an opportunity attack. So it isn't odd.
Given you can only use this special reaction to make opportunity attacks, the only target of this attack can be the triggering creature, none other (as per opportunity attack rules), and only when the target moves outside of the cavalier's reach. The mention of "creatures" alone, without specifying "hostile" might sound a bit odd, but since only hostile creatures can trigger an attack of opportunity, it stands to reason that this feature can only be used against a hostile creature that moves outside of the cavalier's reach.
The reason it doesn't specify hostile creature's turns is because a hostile creature could use a reaction or legendary action to move during you ally's turn, thus provoking an opportunity attack. So it isn't odd.
Good point, I didn't think of that, thank you for the correction :)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
Also, just because a creature isn't hostile to you, that doesn't always mean you don't want to smack it with a sword. Hitting allies isn't a great way to break domination, but it does work.
Also, just because a creature isn't hostile to you, that doesn't always mean you don't want to smack it with a sword. Hitting allies isn't a great way to break domination, but it does work.
Indeed, and it was one of the points I was going to bring up in my reply, the only problema with that is that AoO specifically states that it has to be an hostile creature moving outside of your reach in order for the AoO to trigger, so RAW you would not be able to use an AoO against an ally.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
Ok. If you were surrounded and each enemy moved away during the same round, you could attack them all?
As long as they were not all on the same turn (by using reaction or legendary actions to move for example), and moved on their own turns, then yes. And if you have pole arm master, you can attack an entire new set of enemies as they move in to suround you again. All in 1 round.
Ok, I was slightly mistaken, the hold the line feature you get at level 10 works like sentinel and drops the target's speed to 0 on hit.
You want to hear crazy? If you take it to the extreme. On a pillar surounded by a several feet drop, with a whip against any number of flying enemies. You can make an opportunity attack on 194 squares (cubes?) in 3d space, and you can make opportunity Attacks when they move 5 feet in this space. When a flying creature's speed becomes 0 (unless it is hovering) it falls. So you create a 15 foot radius no fly zone and drop enemies out of the sky around this pillar.
Ok, I was slightly mistaken, the hold the line feature you get at level 10 works like sentinel and drops the target's speed to 0 on hit.
You want to hear crazy? If you take it to the extreme. On a pillar surounded by a several feet drop, with a whip against any number of flying enemies. You can make an opportunity attack on 194 squares (cubes?) in 3d space, and you can make opportunity Attacks when they move 5 feet in this space. When a flying creature's speed becomes 0 (unless it is hovering) it falls. So you create a 15 foot radius no fly zone and drop enemies out of the sky around this pillar.
This made me think of Castlevania so hard for some reason...
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
Ok. If you were surrounded and each enemy moved away during the same round, you could attack them all?
It would not only be if they left your area, but also if they moved within your area. You would already have Hold the line, so any hallway you find yourself in you will have on lock down as those attacks drop movement to 0. Add in sentinel and those who leave your space, or try to disengage do not get away also. lastly it notes on every creature's turn, which may vary by DM, but that means every creature that moves in your space you can hit if they run it rules as written (though a lot of DMs, myself included put all enemies on one turn that way combat goes by faster).
theres also disonant whispers. and you can combine spell sniper with war caster to booming blade or green flame blade at the reach of any pole arm because you modify the way you can oa creatures. still unlimited times but with much more impact.
theres also disonant whispers. and you can combine spell sniper with war caster to booming blade or green flame blade at the reach of any pole arm because you modify the way you can oa creatures. still unlimited times but with much more impact.
They fixed that when they errata'd blade spells to have a range of "self 5 ft". I think it works like an AOE now, but still only effects 1 target.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I was just reading this and realized.....EVERY CREATURES TURN (fried or enemy). Wow. So don't stand next to a cavalier....In addition, the attacks could all be against the same creature. So in a fight say that is 5 characters versus 5 enemy... The cavalier could take 9 extra attacks on anyone in range as his reaction, including all on the same enemy.....The ultimate melee monster. The triggering creature is simply any creature.....Even against a big boss...he's getting a swipe on every allies turn.......
----------------------------------------Per Rules--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Starting at 18th level, you respond to danger with extraordinary vigilance. In combat, you get a special reaction that you can take once on every creature’s turn, except your turn. You can use this special reaction only to make an opportunity attack, and you can’t use it on the same turn that you take your normal reaction.
I am afraid that's not how it works.
Given you can only use this special reaction to make opportunity attacks, the only target of this attack can be the triggering creature, none other (as per opportunity attack rules), and only when the target moves outside of the cavalier's reach. The mention of "creatures" alone, without specifying "hostile" might sound a bit odd, but since only hostile creatures can trigger an attack of opportunity, it stands to reason that this feature can only be used against a hostile creature that moves outside of the cavalier's reach.
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
More reasonable...so you still must have the standard trigger, it just means it is unlimited on how many times it can go off. Mage slayer, hold the line, a reach weapon, maybe polearm master would all help then. Powerful but not absurd.
I feel like I have already answered confusion about this ability before. Yep:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/class-forums/fighter/45402-important-cavalier-questions
It was 3 whole threads down.
The reason it doesn't specify hostile creature's turns is because a hostile creature could use a reaction or legendary action to move during you ally's turn, thus provoking an opportunity attack. So it isn't odd.
Good point, I didn't think of that, thank you for the correction :)
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
Also, just because a creature isn't hostile to you, that doesn't always mean you don't want to smack it with a sword. Hitting allies isn't a great way to break domination, but it does work.
Yeah it made me laugh when I read this. I had the exact same misinterpretation of the rule!
Indeed, and it was one of the points I was going to bring up in my reply, the only problema with that is that AoO specifically states that it has to be an hostile creature moving outside of your reach in order for the AoO to trigger, so RAW you would not be able to use an AoO against an ally.
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
I really don't understand how this ability is different from a normal attack of opportunity.
It doesnt use your reaction, so you can do it (potentially) every turn.
Ok. If you were surrounded and each enemy moved away during the same round, you could attack them all?
As long as they were not all on the same turn (by using reaction or legendary actions to move for example), and moved on their own turns, then yes. And if you have pole arm master, you can attack an entire new set of enemies as they move in to suround you again. All in 1 round.
Crazy.
Ok, I was slightly mistaken, the hold the line feature you get at level 10 works like sentinel and drops the target's speed to 0 on hit.
You want to hear crazy? If you take it to the extreme. On a pillar surounded by a several feet drop, with a whip against any number of flying enemies. You can make an opportunity attack on 194 squares (cubes?) in 3d space, and you can make opportunity Attacks when they move 5 feet in this space. When a flying creature's speed becomes 0 (unless it is hovering) it falls. So you create a 15 foot radius no fly zone and drop enemies out of the sky around this pillar.
This made me think of Castlevania so hard for some reason...
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
group fear+vigilant defender
It would not only be if they left your area, but also if they moved within your area. You would already have Hold the line, so any hallway you find yourself in you will have on lock down as those attacks drop movement to 0. Add in sentinel and those who leave your space, or try to disengage do not get away also. lastly it notes on every creature's turn, which may vary by DM, but that means every creature that moves in your space you can hit if they run it rules as written (though a lot of DMs, myself included put all enemies on one turn that way combat goes by faster).
theres also disonant whispers. and you can combine spell sniper with war caster to booming blade or green flame blade at the reach of any pole arm because you modify the way you can oa creatures. still unlimited times but with much more impact.
Lil Ducky
They fixed that when they errata'd blade spells to have a range of "self 5 ft". I think it works like an AOE now, but still only effects 1 target.