If you take the feat, you can certainly use it for the ritual spells associated with it.
Unfortunately, it doesn't allow you to turn spells that could be rituals from your EK's spellcasting into rituals. Spells you add have to come from a written source, which doesn't mesh with the EK's spell casting.
You could take a few levels of Wizard to pick up those low level rituals and get more spell slots, as an alternative, even though it might put off fighter features.
Thank you for replying Kranz I apologize for sounding dumb I am new trying to make my first charcter by the rules So if I take Ritual Caster which gives me a ritual book that allows me to have 2 1st level ritual spells and I pick the Wizard spell list ( I know the EK already uses the Wizard Spell list )to use Find Familiar then I wouldn't be able to cast it as a ritual?
Thank you for replying Iron. I was looking at that feat as a possible choice as well. I know I am going to definitely pick Polearm Master, Sentinel, and War Caster. I was thinking about Mage Initiate, Ritual Caster, or Alert also but haven't decided just yet
Thank you for replying Kranz I apologize for sounding dumb I am new trying to make my first charcter by the rules So if I take Ritual Caster which gives me a ritual book that allows me to have 2 1st level ritual spells and I pick the Wizard spell list ( I know the EK already uses the Wizard Spell list )to use Find Familiar then I wouldn't be able to cast it as a ritual?
No, if you have the spell in your ritual book, you can cast it as a ritual.
But if you didn’t add find familiar to your ritual book because your EK already knows it, it doesn’t become a ritual.
O ok that makes sense so since I already have the Wizard Spell list and know the spell I can't use it as a ritual but if I picked another spell list then I could use their rituals and cast them as a ritual?
I think what Kronzypantz is saying is if you picked find familiar as an EK spell and later pick up Ritual Caster you can’t then cast find familiar as a ritual. You must find a written copy of find familiar and add it to your ritual book to cast it as a ritual.
Edit: Basically you would then have two versions of find familiar. One you can cast with an EK spell slot with casting time of 1 hour. Or the other way using your ritual book and casting it without a spell slot as a ritual with casting time of 1 hour 10 minutes.
What if I didn't take it as a spell and then took ritual Caster and choose the Wizard spell list again for the feat (if that's allowed) and picked find familiar as one of the 1st level spells to write in the ritual book? The text below is straight out of the PHB
RITUAL CASTER: Prerequisite: Intelligence or Wisdom 13 or higher
You have learned a number of spells that you can cast as rituais. These spells are written in a ritual book, which you must have in hand while casting one of them. When you choose this feat, you aequire a ritual book holding two 1st-levei spells of your ehoiee. Choose one of the following classes: bard, c1erie, druid, soreerer, warlock, or wizard. Vou must choose your spells from that c1ass's spelllist, and the spells you choose must have the ritual tag. The c1ass you ehoose also determines your spelleasting ability for these spells: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warloek; Wisdom for c1eric or druid; or Intelligenee for wizard. \f you come aeross a spell in written form, sueh as a magical speJl seroJl or a wizard's spellbook, you might be able to add lt to your ritual book. The spell must be on the spelllist for the c1ass you chose, the spell's leveI ean be no higher than half your levei (rounded up), and it must have the ritual tag. The proeess of copying the spell into your ritual book takes 2 hours per levei of the spell, and eosts 50 gp per leveI. The cost represents material components you expend as you cxperiment with the spell to master it, as well as the fine inks you need to record it.
RITUALS:
Certain spells have a special tag: ritual. Such a spell ean be cast following the normal rules for spelleasting, or the spell can be cast as a ritual. The ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes longer to cast than normal.
It also doesn't expend a spell slot, which means the ritual version of a spell can't be cast at a higher leveI. To cast a spell as a ritual, a spellcaster must have a feature that grants the ability to do so. The cleric and the druid, for example, have such a feature. The caster must also have the spell prepared or on his or her list of spells known, unless the character's ritual feature specifies otherwise, as the wizard's does.
Wizard:
RITUAL CASTING You can cast a wizard spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell in your spellbook. You don't need to have the spell prepared.
I have a somewhat related question, but I didn't want to start an entirely new thread, so I was hoping it would be okay with JohnBradleyIII if I asked it here.
So, the Eldritch Knight's 3rd level feature, Weapon Bond, is worded as follows:
At 3rd level, you learn a ritual that creates a magical bond between yourself and one weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a short rest. The weapon must be within your reach throughout the ritual, at the conclusion of which you touch the weapon and forge the bond. Once you have bonded a weapon to yourself, you can't be disarmed of that weapon unless you are incapacitated. If it is on the same plane of existence, you can summon that weapon as a bonus action on your turn, causing it to teleport instantly to your hand. You can have up to two bonded weapons, but can summon only one at a time with your bonus action. If you attempt to bond with a third weapon, you must break the bond with one of the other two.
Here's my question: As a DM, would you allow a player to bond an item other than a weapon? For instance, since Tasha's Cauldron of Everything was released, Fighters now have access to the Unarmed Fighting Style, so I can definitely see arcane-flavored brawling builds being a thing. How much leeway would you give a player in this regard, if they don't actually use weapons in their builds?
Would allowing them to bond an arcane focus (wand, orb, crystal, etc.) be an acceptable alternative? To bring it back around to John's original question, what about their ritual book, or maybe a single potion, something similar that doesn't add or subtract any numerical advantages?
so if you take the ritual caster feat (wizard), any written spell (scroll, spell book, etc) with the ritual tag (including the two 1st level spells you get as part of the feat) on the wizard spell list can be put in your ritual book and you can then cast them as a ritual.
When you learn a spell as an Eldritch Knight (determined by the EK chart) you can cast as a regular spell using a spell slot. You cannot, however, cast those EK spells as a ritual, even if it has the ritual tag. And you cannot write it in your ritual book because it wasn’t from a written copy.
Miles,
you can only bond a weapon. Unarmed strikes are not weapons and neither are items like spell foci. But as a DM you are well within your rights to ignore that and do what you think is best and fun for the players.
Miles, you can only bond a weapon. Unarmed strikes are not weapons and neither are items like spell foci. But as a DM you are well within your rights to ignore that and do what you think is best and fun for the players.
Right. I wasn't asking about bonding unarmed strikes, obviously. Unless you're Anakin Skywalker, with parts flying everywhere. Then, that might be useful. Ha ha!
On a related note, now that we have the new style for Tasha's, does it not work with rules that use the terminology "melee weapon attack"? Because there's a LOT of ambiguity there.
EDIT: Nevermind. I found it. It's on page 149 of the PHB and the answer is "yes". Unarmed strikes function as simple melee weapons in the context of abilities/spells/etc. that are contingent upon a "melee weapon attack".
If you take a one-level dip in Wizard, you'll essentially get Ritual Caster and Magic Initiate together. You'll get three cantrips, and three spells (all of which can be rituals). You'll also be able to recover one level of spell slots after a short rest.
If you already have EK spells, then you can swap out one of your EK spells the next time you level up.
Hey ladies and gents, Is it possible to use the feat Ritual Caster so I can save spell slots?
If you take the feat, you can certainly use it for the ritual spells associated with it.
Unfortunately, it doesn't allow you to turn spells that could be rituals from your EK's spellcasting into rituals. Spells you add have to come from a written source, which doesn't mesh with the EK's spell casting.
You could take a few levels of Wizard to pick up those low level rituals and get more spell slots, as an alternative, even though it might put off fighter features.
Sometimes I think Magic Initiate (Wizard) is more useful to an EK. But after Tasha’s, both Fey Touched and Shadow Touched really stands out.
Thank you for replying Kranz I apologize for sounding dumb I am new trying to make my first charcter by the rules So if I take Ritual Caster which gives me a ritual book that allows me to have 2 1st level ritual spells and I pick the Wizard spell list ( I know the EK already uses the Wizard Spell list )to use Find Familiar then I wouldn't be able to cast it as a ritual?
Thank you for replying Iron. I was looking at that feat as a possible choice as well. I know I am going to definitely pick Polearm Master, Sentinel, and War Caster. I was thinking about Mage Initiate, Ritual Caster, or Alert also but haven't decided just yet
No, if you have the spell in your ritual book, you can cast it as a ritual.
But if you didn’t add find familiar to your ritual book because your EK already knows it, it doesn’t become a ritual.
hope that makes sense
O ok that makes sense so since I already have the Wizard Spell list and know the spell I can't use it as a ritual but if I picked another spell list then I could use their rituals and cast them as a ritual?
I think what Kronzypantz is saying is if you picked find familiar as an EK spell and later pick up Ritual Caster you can’t then cast find familiar as a ritual. You must find a written copy of find familiar and add it to your ritual book to cast it as a ritual.
Edit: Basically you would then have two versions of find familiar. One you can cast with an EK spell slot with casting time of 1 hour. Or the other way using your ritual book and casting it without a spell slot as a ritual with casting time of 1 hour 10 minutes.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
What if I didn't take it as a spell and then took ritual Caster and choose the Wizard spell list again for the feat (if that's allowed) and picked find familiar as one of the 1st level spells to write in the ritual book? The text below is straight out of the PHB
RITUAL CASTER: Prerequisite: Intelligence or Wisdom 13 or higher
You have learned a number of spells that you can cast as rituais. These spells are written in a ritual book, which you must have in hand while casting one of them. When you choose this feat, you aequire a ritual book holding two 1st-levei spells of your ehoiee. Choose one of the following classes: bard, c1erie, druid, soreerer, warlock, or wizard. Vou must choose your spells from that c1ass's spelllist, and the spells you choose must have the ritual tag. The c1ass you ehoose also determines your spelleasting ability for these spells: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warloek; Wisdom for c1eric or druid; or Intelligenee for wizard. \f you come aeross a spell in written form, sueh as a magical speJl seroJl or a wizard's spellbook, you might be able to add lt to your ritual book. The spell must be on the spelllist for the c1ass you chose, the spell's leveI ean be no higher than half your levei (rounded up), and it must have the ritual tag. The proeess of copying the spell into your ritual book takes 2 hours per levei of the spell, and eosts 50 gp per leveI. The cost represents material components you expend as you cxperiment with the spell to master it, as well as the fine inks you need to record it.
RITUALS:
Certain spells have a special tag: ritual. Such a spell ean be cast following the normal rules for spelleasting, or the spell can be cast as a ritual. The ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes longer to cast than normal.
It also doesn't expend a spell slot, which means the ritual version of a spell can't be cast at a higher leveI. To cast a spell as a ritual, a spellcaster must have a feature that grants the ability to do so. The cleric and the druid, for example, have such a feature. The caster must also have the spell prepared or on his or her list of spells known, unless the character's ritual feature specifies otherwise, as the wizard's does.
Wizard:
RITUAL CASTING You can cast a wizard spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell in your spellbook. You don't need to have the spell prepared.
I have a somewhat related question, but I didn't want to start an entirely new thread, so I was hoping it would be okay with JohnBradleyIII if I asked it here.
So, the Eldritch Knight's 3rd level feature, Weapon Bond, is worded as follows:
At 3rd level, you learn a ritual that creates a magical bond between yourself and one weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a short rest. The weapon must be within your reach throughout the ritual, at the conclusion of which you touch the weapon and forge the bond. Once you have bonded a weapon to yourself, you can't be disarmed of that weapon unless you are incapacitated. If it is on the same plane of existence, you can summon that weapon as a bonus action on your turn, causing it to teleport instantly to your hand. You can have up to two bonded weapons, but can summon only one at a time with your bonus action. If you attempt to bond with a third weapon, you must break the bond with one of the other two.
Here's my question: As a DM, would you allow a player to bond an item other than a weapon? For instance, since Tasha's Cauldron of Everything was released, Fighters now have access to the Unarmed Fighting Style, so I can definitely see arcane-flavored brawling builds being a thing. How much leeway would you give a player in this regard, if they don't actually use weapons in their builds?
Would allowing them to bond an arcane focus (wand, orb, crystal, etc.) be an acceptable alternative? To bring it back around to John's original question, what about their ritual book, or maybe a single potion, something similar that doesn't add or subtract any numerical advantages?
Thanks, folks!
John,
so if you take the ritual caster feat (wizard), any written spell (scroll, spell book, etc) with the ritual tag (including the two 1st level spells you get as part of the feat) on the wizard spell list can be put in your ritual book and you can then cast them as a ritual.
When you learn a spell as an Eldritch Knight (determined by the EK chart) you can cast as a regular spell using a spell slot. You cannot, however, cast those EK spells as a ritual, even if it has the ritual tag. And you cannot write it in your ritual book because it wasn’t from a written copy.
Miles,
you can only bond a weapon. Unarmed strikes are not weapons and neither are items like spell foci.
But as a DM you are well within your rights to ignore that and do what you think is best and fun for the players.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Right. I wasn't asking about bonding unarmed strikes, obviously. Unless you're Anakin Skywalker, with parts flying everywhere. Then, that might be useful. Ha ha!
On a related note, now that we have the new style for Tasha's, does it not work with rules that use the terminology "melee weapon attack"? Because there's a LOT of ambiguity there.
EDIT: Nevermind. I found it. It's on page 149 of the PHB and the answer is "yes". Unarmed strikes function as simple melee weapons in the context of abilities/spells/etc. that are contingent upon a "melee weapon attack".
If you take a one-level dip in Wizard, you'll essentially get Ritual Caster and Magic Initiate together. You'll get three cantrips, and three spells (all of which can be rituals). You'll also be able to recover one level of spell slots after a short rest.
If you already have EK spells, then you can swap out one of your EK spells the next time you level up.