Since the rules state: "You can use your action to make a ranged attack against any number of creatures within 10 feet of a point you can see within your weapon’s range. You must have ammunition for each target, as normal, and you make a separate attack roll for each target."
Does this mean you can do two volleys per turn at the level that you gain this feature?
"Can use your action" therefore not the attack action, so no extra attack.
Correct though you can pair it with Hunter's Mark and get extra damaging on one target or pair it with lighting arrow and have one attack in that volley be really powerful (and do more AOE damage).
Thank you. Strange follow-up question but if you could use twice how would it have been worded? I think it would help me reduce future similar questions. Thank you.
In my opinion they would have said: "for each attack you make, you may..." But they aren't going to just add this kind of multi-target to anything short of an artifact (bow for instance) and very few other things are going to stack onto each attack. Haste may give you the chance to do two Volleys, since it gives you another full action, though that may be on DM's discretion.
Reminds me of the stuff about Hasting a rogue, delaying one action to get another sneak attack on a different turn.
Making an attack/attack action: "If there’s ever any question whether something you’re doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you’re making an attack roll, you’re making an attack."
Ranged Attacks: "When you make a ranged attack, you fire a bow or a crossbow, hurl a Handaxe, or otherwise send projectiles to strike a foe at a distance. A monster might shoot spines from its tail. Many Spells also involve making a ranged attack."
Volley: "You can use your action to make aranged attack against any number of creatures within 10 feet of a point you can see within your weapon's range."
Extra Attack: "you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn."
Since Ranged Attack is using an action to make a rangedattack and Volley is making a ranged attack, Volley is an attack. Furthermore, Volley makes attack roll, so it is an attack.
"Attack: The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.
With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the “Making an Attack” section for the rules that govern attacks.
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action."
It literally refers to "Making an Attack" in the "Attack action" section.
All the attacks from volley are ranged attacks, that is true.
But the thing is extra attacks is only triggered when you take the attack action to attack.
Volley is taking an action to use, but not an attack action. Once volley is used then every attack made with it is a ranged attack.
The only way I can think of using it twice is if you multi class with fighter to gain action surge. Each action can be used to trigger volley, neither action being an attack action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"A rightful place awaits you in the Realms Above, in the Land of the Great Light. Come in peace, and live beneath the sun again, where trees and flowers grow."
— The message of Eilistraee to all decent drow.
"Run thy sword across my chains, Silver Lady, that I may join your dance.”
More simply, it states VOLLEY is an ACTION and therefore does not benefit from the Extra Attack feature, which only the ATTACK ACTION can benefit from. This is a simple way to remember if something can be used more than once.
Since the rules state: "You can use your action to make a ranged attack against any number of creatures within 10 feet of a point you can see within your weapon’s range. You must have ammunition for each target, as normal, and you make a separate attack roll for each target."
Does this mean you can do two volleys per turn at the level that you gain this feature?
Hunter ranger's volley is a single action that lets you make an attack with a ranged weapon, it is NOT the attack action. Even though it lets you make many attack rolls it is still considered part of the same single action. It is for this reason that under effects of the haste spell , while you can't use extra attack, you can take an action to attack with a weapon. It is for this reason you can use the additional attack to use hunter ranger's multiattack action Volley. Hunter ranger's volley is closer to casting a fireball then extra attack. extra attack lets you make 2 (or more considering fighter class) attacks, where as volley is a single attack that hits multiple targets, instead of them making a DC save you roll a separate attack roll on each, but it is still a single attack. The link leads to a ruling that Jeremy Crawford made saying just what i said more or less.... dnd 5e - Is the Hunter ranger's Volley feature considered a single attack or multiple attacks? - Role-playing Games Stack Exchange
You have a move, an action, a possible bonus action and a possible reaction each round. With the action you have a number of possibilities - cast a spell, attack, or, in this case use the ranger’s volley action. It’s not the standard attack action that would allow a second attack (against the same or a different foe) but a separate type of action allowing you to attack all the creatures within a 10’ distance of a point in range of your ranged weapon. That is you could make upto 48 separate attacks if all the squares were filled with small creatures. Because of that there is no actual need for a second attack.
The Volley is part of the same Multiattack feature as similarly worded Whirlwind Attack, which an official ruling in Sage Advice state is a single attack with multiple attack rolls.
Volley. You can use your action to make a ranged attack against any number of creatures within 10 feet...
Whirlwind Attack. You can use your action to make a melee attack against any number of creatures within 5 feet...
Whirlwind Attack is unusual, in that it’s a single attack with multiple attack rolls.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Since the rules state: "You can use your action to make a ranged attack against any number of creatures within 10 feet of a point you can see within your weapon’s range. You must have ammunition for each target, as normal, and you make a separate attack roll for each target."
Does this mean you can do two volleys per turn at the level that you gain this feature?
"Can use your action" therefore not the attack action, so no extra attack.
Correct though you can pair it with Hunter's Mark and get extra damaging on one target or pair it with lighting arrow and have one attack in that volley be really powerful (and do more AOE damage).
You can find my published homebrew Spells here.
Thank you. Strange follow-up question but if you could use twice how would it have been worded? I think it would help me reduce future similar questions. Thank you.
It would be something like "when you attack" or "when you take the attack action, you can replace the attack..."
In my opinion they would have said: "for each attack you make, you may..." But they aren't going to just add this kind of multi-target to anything short of an artifact (bow for instance) and very few other things are going to stack onto each attack. Haste may give you the chance to do two Volleys, since it gives you another full action, though that may be on DM's discretion.
Reminds me of the stuff about Hasting a rogue, delaying one action to get another sneak attack on a different turn.
There are copy and past from e5 handbook:
Making an attack/attack action: "If there’s ever any question whether something you’re doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you’re making an attack roll, you’re making an attack."
Ranged Attacks: "When you make a ranged attack, you fire a bow or a crossbow, hurl a Handaxe, or otherwise send projectiles to strike a foe at a distance. A monster might shoot spines from its tail. Many Spells also involve making a ranged attack."
Volley: "You can use your action to make a ranged attack against any number of creatures within 10 feet of a point you can see within your weapon's range."
Extra Attack: "you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn."
Since Ranged Attack is using an action to make a ranged attack and Volley is making a ranged attack, Volley is an attack. Furthermore, Volley makes attack roll, so it is an attack.
The answer is yes. You can use Volley twice.
No. Making an attack isn't the same as taking the attack action.
Copy and paste from the handbook:
It literally refers to "Making an Attack" in the "Attack action" section.
All the attacks from volley are ranged attacks, that is true.
But the thing is extra attacks is only triggered when you take the attack action to attack.
Volley is taking an action to use, but not an attack action. Once volley is used then every attack made with it is a ranged attack.
The only way I can think of using it twice is if you multi class with fighter to gain action surge. Each action can be used to trigger volley, neither action being an attack action.
A car has wheels.
A bicicle has wheels.
Is a bicycle a car?
Volley is an attack.
Taking the attack action is an attack.
Is Volley taking the attack action?
Using your action for Volley is not taking the attack action, it's using your action for Volley.
More simply, it states VOLLEY is an ACTION and therefore does not benefit from the Extra Attack feature, which only the ATTACK ACTION can benefit from. This is a simple way to remember if something can be used more than once.
Actions:
Attack (Extra Attack allows additional attacks)
Melee/Ranged
Grapple
Shove
Volley
Melee/Ranged Attacks
Cast a Spell
Disengage
Help
Hide
Dodge
Dash
I love when year-old questions get love...
I appreciate this post
Hunter ranger's volley is a single action that lets you make an attack with a ranged weapon, it is NOT the attack action. Even though it lets you make many attack rolls it is still considered part of the same single action. It is for this reason that under effects of the haste spell , while you can't use extra attack, you can take an action to attack with a weapon. It is for this reason you can use the additional attack to use hunter ranger's multiattack action Volley. Hunter ranger's volley is closer to casting a fireball then extra attack. extra attack lets you make 2 (or more considering fighter class) attacks, where as volley is a single attack that hits multiple targets, instead of them making a DC save you roll a separate attack roll on each, but it is still a single attack. The link leads to a ruling that Jeremy Crawford made saying just what i said more or less.... dnd 5e - Is the Hunter ranger's Volley feature considered a single attack or multiple attacks? - Role-playing Games Stack Exchange
You have a move, an action, a possible bonus action and a possible reaction each round. With the action you have a number of possibilities - cast a spell, attack, or, in this case use the ranger’s volley action. It’s not the standard attack action that would allow a second attack (against the same or a different foe) but a separate type of action allowing you to attack all the creatures within a 10’ distance of a point in range of your ranged weapon. That is you could make upto 48 separate attacks if all the squares were filled with small creatures. Because of that there is no actual need for a second attack.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
I would say making an attack is the same as an attack action, but also edit the rules to make sure volley isn't overpowered.
It is supposed to be a multiattack. So each target is a a separate attack roll.
The Volley is part of the same Multiattack feature as similarly worded Whirlwind Attack, which an official ruling in Sage Advice state is a single attack with multiple attack rolls.
Volley. You can use your action to make a ranged attack against any number of creatures within 10 feet...
Whirlwind Attack. You can use your action to make a melee attack against any number of creatures within 5 feet...