Technically, flaming arrows are impractical and nearly impossible to use. I'm pretty sure the archery people on the forums will give evidence. I'm not sure if it works, but you might be able to drink healing potions with your BA.
Because magic items are explicitly excluded, the list of things you can do with your bonus action is very short, and a lot of it is optional equipment, like a bomb. From a quick google search, here's the list of options from the PHB:
Flasks of Oil offer literally no guidance on how they work when you pour them rather than throw them - you can explicitly pour them, but whether you pour them as an action, bonus action, both (e.g. the reload rules for modern-era guns give an example of both, where you get to choose), or neither (like grunting, or dropping a held object) is a complete mystery. In a world where oil flasks take an action, you can mitigate that to a bonus action. Note that both throwing the flask and splashing the oil out of it are the attack action, not use item.
Ball Bearings
Caltrops
Climber's Kit
Healer's Kit
Hunting Trap
Hooded Lantern (i.e. operating the hood)
Tinderbox
By extension, anything you light with one, like a lamp or lantern.
Basic Poison
Note that this is the only poison in the game that follows the rules laid out for it. Every poison in the DMG a) requires a dose per ammo, not a dose per 3 ammos, b) lasts forever until used or washed off, not 1 minute, and most importantly c) has no rules governing how time-consuming applying it is. See Oil Flasks for the usual language about how your b.a. may or may not help you based on your GM's ruling.
Draw/Sheathe a Weapon (i.e. you can consume your bonus action to functionally gain the draw/sheathe benefit from two-weapon fighting)
Notable excluded items:
Alchemist's Fire only has rules for throwing the flask as a ranged weapon - there are no rules at all for pouring it, onto, say, an arrow, as you suggest. See Flasks of Oil in the above list if you can convince your GM to let you pour it.
Same thing for Holy Water.
Same thing for a vial of acid, but unlike the above two, there's no plausible justification for pouring this on an arrow to help you. In case you encounter a situation where pouring it would plausibly help, same thing.
And so on and so forth for all things contained in flasks in general - e.g. the rules stop you from using Use Object to drink a potion, but they're silent on pouring one into the gutter while giving the original owner a staredown.
You can indeed shoot flaming arrows - you'll need a special quiver with an oil flask on the bottom so your drawn arrows come pre-soaked, but at that point, you can bonus action light them, shoot them, and then turn to your GM, as they have no rules. I would house rule them as working like candles but with less duration: if you hit, the target is illuminated by 5' radius bright light and 10' radius dim light for 1 minute. Particularly flammable targets - like one already soaked in oil from an oil flask - catch fire, just like with the flaming bolt cantrip (in the case of an oil soaked person, I'd have them take 5 points of fire damage).
But if you really want to get clever, an Arcane Trickster can functionally do everything we're discussing here but more, since their Mage Hand's abilities (once the spell is cast, so it's out) are a strict superset of your Thief bonus action, so that's a better path to funky bonus action stuff.
I like the BA Use an object on Healers kits add in the healer feat for some extra boosts.
I also like dropping caltrops when running through a door way. it can be fun if being chased or setting a distraction. The bonus action alchemist fire or acid vial for a little extra bonus damage. You can throw a regular oil flask to increase fire damage for a few rounds.
I like the BA Use an object on Healers kits add in the healer feat for some extra boosts.
I also like dropping caltrops when running through a door way. it can be fun if being chased or setting a distraction. The bonus action alchemist fire or acid vial for a little extra bonus damage. You can throw a regular oil flask to increase fire damage for a few rounds.
No, you can't throw fire, acid, or oil - the throw is an attack. Grenades can be thrown using Use Item, but I left them out as they're optional.
No, you can't throw fire, acid, or oil - the throw is an attack. Grenades can be thrown using Use Item, but I left them out as they're optional.
This is wrong. Use an object does not exclude damage or even an attack roll. Use an object can sometimes include other rolls.
In contrast, weapons do not require an action They require an attack. Attacks are allowed by the attack action but in many instances may allow for more based on class or dual wielding so they do not require an "Action"
Use an Object
You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.
Acid (Vial)
As an action, you can splash the contents of this vial onto a creature within 5 feet of you or throw the vial up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. In either case, make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the acid as an improvised weapon. On a hit, the target takes 2d6 acid damage.
Alchemist's Fire (flask)
This sticky, adhesive fluid ignites when exposed to air. As an action, you can throw this flask up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. Make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the alchemist's fire as an improvised weapon. On a hit, the target takes 1d4 fire damage at the start of each of its turns. A creature can end this damage by using its action to make a DC 10 Dexterity check to extinguish the flames.
Some additional proof is the key wording is "treating it as a improvised weapon". This means it is not an improvised weapon But It's successful use is determined in the same way via an improvised attack roll.
No, you can't throw fire, acid, or oil - the throw is an attack. Grenades can be thrown using Use Item, but I left them out as they're optional.
This is wrong. Use an object does not exclude damage or even an attack roll. Use an object can sometimes include other rolls.
In contrast, weapons do not require an action They require an attack. Attacks are allowed by the attack action but in many instances may allow for more based on class or dual wielding so they do not require an "Action"
Use an Object
You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.
Acid (Vial)
As an action, you can splash the contents of this vial onto a creature within 5 feet of you or throw the vial up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. In either case, make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the acid as an improvised weapon. On a hit, the target takes 2d6 acid damage.
Alchemist's Fire (flask)
This sticky, adhesive fluid ignites when exposed to air. As an action, you can throw this flask up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. Make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the alchemist's fire as an improvised weapon. On a hit, the target takes 1d4 fire damage at the start of each of its turns. A creature can end this damage by using its action to make a DC 10 Dexterity check to extinguish the flames.
Some additional proof is the key wording is "treating it as a improvised weapon". This means it is not an improvised weapon But It's successful use is determined in the same way via an improvised attack roll.
The best part about the above is, since you're still making a ranged attack with an Improvised Weapon, you get to add your Dexterity modifier to the damage. The only hitch is you lack proficiency unless you also have Tavern Brawler.
No, you can't throw fire, acid, or oil - the throw is an attack. Grenades can be thrown using Use Item, but I left them out as they're optional.
This is wrong. Use an object does not exclude damage or even an attack roll. Use an object can sometimes include other rolls.
In contrast, weapons do not require an action They require an attack. Attacks are allowed by the attack action but in many instances may allow for more based on class or dual wielding so they do not require an "Action"
Use an Object
You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.
Acid (Vial)
As an action, you can splash the contents of this vial onto a creature within 5 feet of you or throw the vial up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. In either case, make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the acid as an improvised weapon. On a hit, the target takes 2d6 acid damage.
Alchemist's Fire (flask)
This sticky, adhesive fluid ignites when exposed to air. As an action, you can throw this flask up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. Make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the alchemist's fire as an improvised weapon. On a hit, the target takes 1d4 fire damage at the start of each of its turns. A creature can end this damage by using its action to make a DC 10 Dexterity check to extinguish the flames.
Some additional proof is the key wording is "treating it as a improvised weapon". This means it is not an improvised weapon But It's successful use is determined in the same way via an improvised attack roll.
The best part about the above is, since you're still making a ranged attack with an Improvised Weapon, you get to add your Dexterity modifier to the damage. The only hitch is you lack proficiency unless you also have Tavern Brawler.
That's unquestionably false in the case of Alchemist's Fire, which doesn't even deal any damage at all on hit, so there's nothing to add your dex mod to. Same thing for oil. For Acid and Holy Water, be aware that in order to add your dex mod, your GM has to declare them a ranged weapon, which is simultaneously the prereq for adding dex mod to damage and one of the prereqs for sneak attack - there is no way out of that rules bind without a special rule (e.g. monks have a way to add dex without also adding sneak attack). Declaring them a ranged weapon will probably imply shields are melee weapons, and then the Dual Wielder fest is OP af. Make sure your GM thinks things through before adding the melee and ranged types to improvised weapons willy nilly.
No, you can't throw fire, acid, or oil - the throw is an attack. Grenades can be thrown using Use Item, but I left them out as they're optional.
This is wrong. Use an object does not exclude damage or even an attack roll. Use an object can sometimes include other rolls.
Wait, so you're saying we don't know? We must. E.g. there must be a rule telling us swinging a sword is Attack, not Use an Object (Sword). It's an important question who can throw more flasks, an L5 fighter or an L3 thief. Lemme go look.
*Comes up for air* Well, I... found the stats for attacking the acid vial (Ac 13, 2 hp). Oil flasks are made of clay, which isn't a listed material, and the other two flasks don't have materials described at all. 13/2 seems reasonable all around. DnD doesn't have collision damage - you don't risk damaging your sword on every swing, no matter how hard you swing it - but it certainly has falling damage, so presumably you could lob these things improvised weapon style - you'd have more range at 20/60, but you'd also need a parabolic arc to ensure at least 10 feet of falling (for a 5/6 chance of breaking the flask).
That sounds awfully convoluted, if you're saying the above uses the Attack action, but throwing them normally uses "Use Object". Unfortunately, I can't find a definitive answer anywhere. All I can really do is list the consequences: if throwing them is Use an Object, everyone can throw two at once base, since everyone gets a free Use an Object. Thieves and Arcane Tricksters (functionally) get a third Use, making them better at sustained throwing after the initial volley of 2.
*shrug* I'm growing more and more used to hugely important questions in dnd5e having no actual known solution. I'll go ask my GM to house rule for us.
I think we do know clearly and I think your mis-understanding free object interaction.
The reason we know what is a weapon is by the table its located in in the players hand book OR called out in other source material (EG. DMG). The most common point of confusion is the naming of "attack action" and "attack". They are separate entities but one often leads to the second. The reverse "an attack means you have taken the attack action" is untrue. Otherwise any object is potentially an improved weapon.
However, in the instance of a vial, the exception already exists telling you how to use it. This exception eliminates things like multi attack. Notice how normal weapons with restrictions for one attack are worded differently. Loading property or the nets are some examples. So yes the lv3 thief(2) can use more vials than a LVL5 fighter(1 or 2 with surge).
If it requires a Full/regular action it is an object. Unless its magical Item they have their own rules Laid out elsewhere But magical items still follow the Action restriction as a whole. scrolls can be an action, bonus action or several actions or a reaction to use so it makes sense that they would be excluded and treated more like an improvised action.
IF an object does not require a full action it may fall under the "free object interaction" (or possibly improvised action) which is not the same as "Use an object".
No, you can't throw fire, acid, or oil - the throw is an attack. Grenades can be thrown using Use Item, but I left them out as they're optional.
This is wrong. Use an object does not exclude damage or even an attack roll. Use an object can sometimes include other rolls.
In contrast, weapons do not require an action They require an attack. Attacks are allowed by the attack action but in many instances may allow for more based on class or dual wielding so they do not require an "Action"
Use an Object
You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.
Acid (Vial)
As an action, you can splash the contents of this vial onto a creature within 5 feet of you or throw the vial up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. In either case, make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the acid as an improvised weapon. On a hit, the target takes 2d6 acid damage.
Alchemist's Fire (flask)
This sticky, adhesive fluid ignites when exposed to air. As an action, you can throw this flask up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. Make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the alchemist's fire as an improvised weapon. On a hit, the target takes 1d4 fire damage at the start of each of its turns. A creature can end this damage by using its action to make a DC 10 Dexterity check to extinguish the flames.
Some additional proof is the key wording is "treating it as a improvised weapon". This means it is not an improvised weapon But It's successful use is determined in the same way via an improvised attack roll.
The best part about the above is, since you're still making a ranged attack with an Improvised Weapon, you get to add your Dexterity modifier to the damage. The only hitch is you lack proficiency unless you also have Tavern Brawler.
That's unquestionably false in the case of Alchemist's Fire, which doesn't even deal any damage at all on hit, so there's nothing to add your dex mod to. Same thing for oil. For Acid and Holy Water, be aware that in order to add your dex mod, your GM has to declare them a ranged weapon, which is simultaneously the prereq for adding dex mod to damage and one of the prereqs for sneak attack - there is no way out of that rules bind without a special rule (e.g. monks have a way to add dex without also adding sneak attack). Declaring them a ranged weapon will probably imply shields are melee weapons, and then the Dual Wielder fest is OP af. Make sure your GM thinks things through before adding the melee and ranged types to improvised weapons willy nilly.
You're still making a ranged weapon attack, even if they're not Ranged (Simple or Martial) Weapons, so your Dexterity modifier still applies. And, in the specific case of alchemist's fire, Crawford has weighed in on the subject.
Sneak Attack still won't apply, however, since you're only making a ranged attack with an improvised weapon. You need to attack with a proper Ranged (Simple or Melee) weapon; or one that has the Finesse property. Improvised weapons are neither of these things.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm wondering what the most creative uses for the thief's 'use an object' bonus action would be. Particularly for an archer thief.
My immediate thoughts went to flaming arrows (wrapped in alcohol-soaked cloth for ease of lighting). Light them before you fire them.
Chilling kinda vibe.
Technically, flaming arrows are impractical and nearly impossible to use. I'm pretty sure the archery people on the forums will give evidence. I'm not sure if it works, but you might be able to drink healing potions with your BA.
I have a weird sense of humor.
I also make maps.(That's a link)
Because magic items are explicitly excluded, the list of things you can do with your bonus action is very short, and a lot of it is optional equipment, like a bomb. From a quick google search, here's the list of options from the PHB:
Notable excluded items:
You can indeed shoot flaming arrows - you'll need a special quiver with an oil flask on the bottom so your drawn arrows come pre-soaked, but at that point, you can bonus action light them, shoot them, and then turn to your GM, as they have no rules. I would house rule them as working like candles but with less duration: if you hit, the target is illuminated by 5' radius bright light and 10' radius dim light for 1 minute. Particularly flammable targets - like one already soaked in oil from an oil flask - catch fire, just like with the flaming bolt cantrip (in the case of an oil soaked person, I'd have them take 5 points of fire damage).
But if you really want to get clever, an Arcane Trickster can functionally do everything we're discussing here but more, since their Mage Hand's abilities (once the spell is cast, so it's out) are a strict superset of your Thief bonus action, so that's a better path to funky bonus action stuff.
I like the BA Use an object on Healers kits add in the healer feat for some extra boosts.
I also like dropping caltrops when running through a door way. it can be fun if being chased or setting a distraction. The bonus action alchemist fire or acid vial for a little extra bonus damage. You can throw a regular oil flask to increase fire damage for a few rounds.
No, you can't throw fire, acid, or oil - the throw is an attack. Grenades can be thrown using Use Item, but I left them out as they're optional.
This is wrong. Use an object does not exclude damage or even an attack roll. Use an object can sometimes include other rolls.
In contrast, weapons do not require an action They require an attack. Attacks are allowed by the attack action but in many instances may allow for more based on class or dual wielding so they do not require an "Action"
Use an Object
You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.
Acid (Vial)
As an action, you can splash the contents of this vial onto a creature within 5 feet of you or throw the vial up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. In either case, make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the acid as an improvised weapon. On a hit, the target takes 2d6 acid damage.
Alchemist's Fire (flask)
This sticky, adhesive fluid ignites when exposed to air. As an action, you can throw this flask up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. Make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the alchemist's fire as an improvised weapon. On a hit, the target takes 1d4 fire damage at the start of each of its turns. A creature can end this damage by using its action to make a DC 10 Dexterity check to extinguish the flames.
Some additional proof is the key wording is "treating it as a improvised weapon". This means it is not an improvised weapon But It's successful use is determined in the same way via an improvised attack roll.
The best part about the above is, since you're still making a ranged attack with an Improvised Weapon, you get to add your Dexterity modifier to the damage. The only hitch is you lack proficiency unless you also have Tavern Brawler.
That's unquestionably false in the case of Alchemist's Fire, which doesn't even deal any damage at all on hit, so there's nothing to add your dex mod to. Same thing for oil. For Acid and Holy Water, be aware that in order to add your dex mod, your GM has to declare them a ranged weapon, which is simultaneously the prereq for adding dex mod to damage and one of the prereqs for sneak attack - there is no way out of that rules bind without a special rule (e.g. monks have a way to add dex without also adding sneak attack). Declaring them a ranged weapon will probably imply shields are melee weapons, and then the Dual Wielder fest is OP af. Make sure your GM thinks things through before adding the melee and ranged types to improvised weapons willy nilly.
Wait, so you're saying we don't know? We must. E.g. there must be a rule telling us swinging a sword is Attack, not Use an Object (Sword). It's an important question who can throw more flasks, an L5 fighter or an L3 thief. Lemme go look.
*Comes up for air* Well, I... found the stats for attacking the acid vial (Ac 13, 2 hp). Oil flasks are made of clay, which isn't a listed material, and the other two flasks don't have materials described at all. 13/2 seems reasonable all around. DnD doesn't have collision damage - you don't risk damaging your sword on every swing, no matter how hard you swing it - but it certainly has falling damage, so presumably you could lob these things improvised weapon style - you'd have more range at 20/60, but you'd also need a parabolic arc to ensure at least 10 feet of falling (for a 5/6 chance of breaking the flask).
That sounds awfully convoluted, if you're saying the above uses the Attack action, but throwing them normally uses "Use Object". Unfortunately, I can't find a definitive answer anywhere. All I can really do is list the consequences: if throwing them is Use an Object, everyone can throw two at once base, since everyone gets a free Use an Object. Thieves and Arcane Tricksters (functionally) get a third Use, making them better at sustained throwing after the initial volley of 2.
*shrug* I'm growing more and more used to hugely important questions in dnd5e having no actual known solution. I'll go ask my GM to house rule for us.
I think we do know clearly and I think your mis-understanding free object interaction.
The reason we know what is a weapon is by the table its located in in the players hand book OR called out in other source material (EG. DMG). The most common point of confusion is the naming of "attack action" and "attack". They are separate entities but one often leads to the second. The reverse "an attack means you have taken the attack action" is untrue. Otherwise any object is potentially an improved weapon.
However, in the instance of a vial, the exception already exists telling you how to use it. This exception eliminates things like multi attack. Notice how normal weapons with restrictions for one attack are worded differently. Loading property or the nets are some examples. So yes the lv3 thief(2) can use more vials than a LVL5 fighter(1 or 2 with surge).
If it requires a Full/regular action it is an object. Unless its magical Item they have their own rules Laid out elsewhere But magical items still follow the Action restriction as a whole. scrolls can be an action, bonus action or several actions or a reaction to use so it makes sense that they would be excluded and treated more like an improvised action.
IF an object does not require a full action it may fall under the "free object interaction" (or possibly improvised action) which is not the same as "Use an object".
You're still making a ranged weapon attack, even if they're not Ranged (Simple or Martial) Weapons, so your Dexterity modifier still applies. And, in the specific case of alchemist's fire, Crawford has weighed in on the subject.
Sneak Attack still won't apply, however, since you're only making a ranged attack with an improvised weapon. You need to attack with a proper Ranged (Simple or Melee) weapon; or one that has the Finesse property. Improvised weapons are neither of these things.