Any rogue with two short swords and the two weapon fighting style can do more damage than a soulknife due to both attacks doing a d6+dex instead of d6 and d4. Where did you get 4 attacks from?
He is probably thinking of the combination of using a Light Weapons, the Nick weapon mastery, extra attack, and the Dual-Wielder feat. If you have two light weapons, with one having the Nick weapon mastery (common pairing is Shortsword and Scimitar) you can make four attacks on a turn. Your attack sequence looks like this:
First Attack->Nick Attack->Extra Attack->Bonus Action Attack (After the first attack, the other attacks can be in any order)
The only benefits to using a Soul Knife's Psychic Blades is that they deal psychic damage instead of piercing, and you automatically get to add your ability modifier to the offhand attack (don't need the two-weapon fighting style).
I think people are overthinking this particular issue.
In Tasha's, it states "The blade vanishes immediately after it hits or misses its target, and it leaves no mark on its target if it deals damage."
This statement makes it clear that the knife does vanish after a single attack. You can't use it the same knife for a second attack.
But, the very next sentence states: "After you attack with the blade, you can make a melee or ranged weapon attack with a second psychic blade as a bonus action on the same turn."
If you can summon a second blade for a bonus action, why can't you summon a second blade for a second attack with the attack action?
RAW, I don't think there is a clear answer to this question, because, as other people notes, the rule makers didn't take into account multiclassing. But, I think the wording for summoning a second blade for the bonus action, indicates RAI, that a second blade can be summoned for a second strike with the attack action.
Why not? You manifest the blade before the first attack, what’s keeping you from manifesting another during the attack action? The manifestation is part of the attack.
You are saying that the blade vanishing doesn't matter because we summoned it earlier?
No ... I say that all that the blade vanishing means is that there is no projectile for your enemy to throw back, if you throw it ... If you stab with it, i concider it fairly irellevant ... since the only thing it does is that it frees your hand for anything else you might want to do.
Maybe the person I actually quoted does? Either way, if the blade vanishes and is only summoned when you take the attack action, what is there to use for the second attack?
Finally, it would be fairly trivial to trigger those abilities more than once a turn without the restriction
Yes ... So what? :D
Quite litterally any other Rogue can achieve same amount of attacks, and even more amount of damage ... What is the point in restricting one of them from doing so?
So it's an edge case and is not comparable to the examples of the person I quoted. Also, your statement is quite incorrect. This Rogue/other character could do up to 4 attacks on a turn compared to the 3 of a single classed rogue. Also, we are talking about a multiclass that has numerous benefits, such as an action surge and second wind. Why should they be buffed?
Any rogue with two short swords and the two weapon fighting style can do more damage than a soulknife due to both attacks doing a d6+dex instead of d6 and d4. Where did you get 4 attacks from?
Attack, extra attack, soul knife bonus action, light weapon nick.
Why not? You manifest the blade before the first attack, what’s keeping you from manifesting another during the attack action? The manifestation is part of the attack.
Because that is not what the ability tells you to do. It is when you take the attack action, not whenever you attack as part of the attack action.
Someone please point me towards what i read wrong ... Bcs i would argue that you can.
Psychic Blades.
"Whenever you take the Attack action, you can manifest a psychic blade from your free hand and make the attack with that blade."
I mean ... when i take attack action, i manifest the blade ... so far we all agree. Then i attack with said blade and it dissapears ... so far so good. But then i would say that if i use Extra-Attack ... wich is part of Attack Action > ergo i am using Attack action, and "whenever" i do that, i manifest the blade ... and since its the same blade as before (still 1d6 and all those other stuff) its fair to say its still "fist blade". Afterwards that blade dissapears again.
Then i can use my Bonus Action to manifest a "second blade" (second, bcs its different blade ... difference is 1d4 this time) ... and attack with that aswell. It once again dissapear once i attack.
It seems quite logical to me. O_o
I agree. The second attack is still part of the attack action thus you can manifest a blade. The blade vanishing after a hit or miss is not relevant because the blade was not manifested during the initial attack, it manifests before you attack. Additionally in the 2024 version, many abilities that can only be used once per turn are explicitly stated as such including the monk’s stunning strike, the cleric’s blessed strikes, the druid’s primal strike, etc. Psychic blades have no such specific written limits.
I don't see your logic. You are saying that the blade vanishing doesn't matter because we summoned it earlier? How does that work?
Additionally, everybody is talking about the 2014 rules, so examples from the 2024 rules are inapplicable. Finally, it would be fairly trivial to trigger those abilities more than once a turn without the restriction, whereas at least a 5 level multiclass is required here.
It’s really not that complicated. “When you take the attack action or make an opportunity attack, you can manifest a psychic blade and make the attack with that blade”. If you multiclass and have the extra attack ability it states “you attack twice instead of once when you take the attack action”. So, when you take the attack action two things happen, you manifest a psychic blade AND get to attack twice. Therefore, Because manifesting the blade is part of the attack, the blade disappearing is a moot point. Where it matters is when feats or abilities such as the fighter’s riposte maneuver or the defensive duelist feat which both require you to have a weapon in your hand to reduce damage with a reaction. Since the psychic blades do not exist outside of the attack action or opportunity attack, you cannot use these feats.
That's a non sequitur. Being able to attack twice doesn't affect the ability at all. It still says "When you take the attack action..."
First Attack->Nick Attack->Extra Attack->Bonus Action Attack (After the first attack, the other attacks can be in any order)
Quite sure i have seen it written somewhere, that Nick is supposed to only free your Bonus Action for other things, but not for yet another BA attack. So this dont really seems valid. :-/
In Tasha's, it states "The blade vanishes immediately after it hits or misses its target, and it leaves no mark on its target if it deals damage."
This statement makes it clear that the knife does vanish after a single attack. You can't use it the same knife for a second attack.
Not necessarily ... Two arguments:
1) Specific beats the general!
Extra Attack is defined as: "Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn." Ergo making an extra attack is part of taking Attack Action ... And since both features clearly states "whenever you do..." they should work same way.
And Psychic Blade never states that primary blade can be only used once per round, with first strike, or anything like it ... What is not forbidden, is allowed. ;)
2) There are other examples that work in simmilar way:
Say that the blade vanish after the swing, or throw ... means that it only exist when its used, but for whole rest of all eternity, you have free hands to do anything else!
It is the same thing as when you are holding Two-Handed weapon ... you do have free hand all the time, except for EXACTLY THAT MOMENT when you strike, that is when you need to hold your weapon by both hands.
Why not? You manifest the blade before the first attack, what’s keeping you from manifesting another during the attack action? The manifestation is part of the attack.
Attack, extra attack, soul knife bonus action, light weapon nick.
That dont feels right ... If you are holding Nick Weapon, you dont have free hand to form a Soul Knife ... if you dont, you cant make an attack with it. O_o
Maybe in different order? Throwing Steel Dagger > Offhand Steel Dagger > Psychic Blade > Offhand Psychic Blade?
You are still screwed in meele tho ... unles you throw away perfectly fine dagger, just bcs you allready stabbed with it. :D
Attack, extra attack, soul knife bonus action, light weapon nick.
That dont feels right ... If you are holding Nick Weapon, you dont have free hand to form a Soul Knife ... if you dont, you cant make an attack with it. O_o
Maybe in different order? Throwing Steel Dagger > Offhand Steel Dagger > Psychic Blade > Offhand Psychic Blade?
You are still screwed in meele tho ... unles you throw away perfectly fine dagger, just bcs you allready stabbed with it. :D
Attack with light weapon
Attack with any weapon, stow this weapon as part of the attack
Attack with psychic blade
Draw light nick weapon using free object interaction and do nick attack
That's admittedly a weird order, but you can just do the nick attack before the psychic blade attack.
In Tasha's, it states "The blade vanishes immediately after it hits or misses its target, and it leaves no mark on its target if it deals damage."
This statement makes it clear that the knife does vanish after a single attack. You can't use it the same knife for a second attack.
Not necessarily ... Two arguments:
1) Specific beats the general!
Extra Attack is defined as: "Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn." Ergo making an extra attack is part of taking Attack Action ... And since both features clearly states "whenever you do..." they should work same way.
And Psychic Blade never states that primary blade can be only used once per round, with first strike, or anything like it ... What is not forbidden, is allowed. ;)
2) There are other examples that work in simmilar way:
Say that the blade vanish after the swing, or throw ... means that it only exist when its used, but for whole rest of all eternity, you have free hands to do anything else!
It is the same thing as when you are holding Two-Handed weapon ... you do have free hand all the time, except for EXACTLY THAT MOMENT when you strike, that is when you need to hold your weapon by both hands.
Your major misunderstanding is you seem to think "whenever you do..." refers to attacking, while it actually refers to taking the attack action, which you do only once.
I wish it only vanished when thrown, instantly reappearing in your hand after a hit or miss. it would fit the picture better, it is easier to understand its just a weapon that works like all other weapons, you don't need workaround rules for attacks of opportunity etc. They should have based it more on pact of the blade instead of creating something new that works weird and kind of sucks due to its quirks.
Your major misunderstanding is you seem to think "whenever you do..." refers to attacking
Nope ...
"Whenever you do" means "at any point during activity" ... Taking an Attack Action is activity you do ... that activity may have several parts, that may split it into several parts ... but its still the same activity.
Extra Attack is part of Attack Action ... as said like thousand times by now. :D I dont know how else to say it. :-/
Its like ... hells i really dont know. :D Fliping a pancake ... You have to flick your pan, move a bit to the front, catch front side of pancake, move that pan a bit higher, let rest of the pancake rest on your pan > that whole process is "fliping a pancake".
When you are "taking the attack action" You swing/thrust your weapon ... and that is Attack Action.
If you have Extra Attack feature ... You swing/thrust your weapon ... and then you swing/thrust that weapon again ... AND THAT WHOLE PROCESS IS ATTACK ACTION!
Attack Action sustains from all individual attacks you do with your action for heavens, hells, and all between's sake. -_- That is why its called "attack action" and not just "attack".
"Attack" is what you do only once ... that is that single swing/thrust ... its allready defined, and all and every thing in this game that are tied to exactly that single strike, says "when you do an attack" never "when you do attack action". -_-
You might have an argument if it didn't say that the blade vanishes after the attack. With that, or you just making the second attack with air?
That was allready answered aswell ...
You manifest your blade right before you strike ... and loose it right after. Just like you grip your Halbeard/Glave/Greathammer/Greatsword/and like hundert other 2h weapons ... right before you strike, and loose it right after.
There is nothing deeper in that.
//Edit: Just for my curiosity ... Why do you mind so much? o_O
Do you feel like 1d6+Dex extra damage is too much for Rogue? Like they are too OP allready? xD
Or do you hate it when character have clearly defined style and holds onto it, rather than mixing it with entirely different themes just to work as any other multiclass? :D
Or why exactly do you insist on this interpretation so vehemently?
Your major misunderstanding is you seem to think "whenever you do..." refers to attacking
Nope ...
"Whenever you do" means "at any point during activity" ... Taking an Attack Action is activity you do ... that activity may have several parts, that may split it into several parts ... but its still the same activity.
Extra Attack is part of Attack Action ... as said like thousand times by now. :D I dont know how else to say it. :-/
Its like ... hells i really dont know. :D Fliping a pancake ... You have to flick your pan, move a bit to the front, catch front side of pancake, move that pan a bit higher, let rest of the pancake rest on your pan > that whole process is "fliping a pancake".
When you are "taking the attack action" You swing/thrust your weapon ... and that is Attack Action.
If you have Extra Attack feature ... You swing/thrust your weapon ... and then you swing/thrust that weapon again ... AND THAT WHOLE PROCESS IS ATTACK ACTION!
Attack Action sustains from all individual attacks you do with your action for heavens, hells, and all between's sake. -_- That is why its called "attack action" and not just "attack".
"Attack" is what you do only once ... that is that single swing/thrust ... its allready defined, and all and every thing in this game that are tied to exactly that single strike, says "when you do an attack" never "when you do attack action". -_-
You might have an argument if it didn't say that the blade vanishes after the attack. With that, or you just making the second attack with air?
That was allready answered aswell ...
You manifest your blade right before you strike ... and loose it right after. Just like you grip your Halbeard/Glave/Greathammer/Greatsword/and like hundert other 2h weapons ... right before you strike, and loose it right after.
There is nothing deeper in that.
//Edit: Just for my curiosity ... Why do you mind so much? o_O
Do you feel like 1d6+Dex extra damage is too much for Rogue? Like they are too OP allready? xD
Or do you hate it when character have clearly defined style and holds onto it, rather than mixing it with entirely different themes just to work as any other multiclass? :D
Or why exactly do you insist on this interpretation so vehemently?
Your assertion that "'Whenever you do' means 'at any point during activity'" is ridiculous and leads to absurd conclusions. One example I was able to find is the extended spell metamagic. It says, "When you cast a spell that has a duration of 1 minute or longer, you can spend 1 Sorcery Point to double its duration to a maximum duration of 24 hours." Does that mean if you cast a spell you can use this metamagic several times? The rules for metamagic would allow it: "You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it unless otherwise noted in one of those options.", as extended spell is "only one Metamagic option".
It seems like I get asked a lot about why I participate in rules debates, with people saying that it wouldn't be broken, so I shouldn't care. I have already noted in this thread that this is trying to take advantage of a multiclass build. I also just enjoy debates.
Your assertion that "'Whenever you do' means 'at any point during activity'" is ridiculous and leads to absurd conclusions.
It is not and it does not ...
Looking forward if you can find at least one.
"When you cast a spell that has a duration of 1 minute or longer, you can spend 1 Sorcery Point to double its duration to a maximum duration of 24 hours." Does that mean if you cast a spell you can use this metamagic several times?
Ofc not ... It says "when you cast a spell" ... you only cast spell when said spell comes to existence. Rest of the time, you no longer cast it ... you either maintain concentration, or it exists on its own, but you dont cast that spell anymore. ;)
So ... bad example, my point still stands.
For your atempt to make a point, it would need to say something like "whenever a spell that has a duration of 1 minute or longer that was casted by you still exists". ;)
Longer Casting Times
Certain spells—including a spell cast as a Ritual—require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. While you cast a spell with a casting time of 1 minute or more, you must take the Magic action on each of your turns, and you must maintain Concentration (see the Rules Glossary) while you do so. If your Concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don’t expend a spell slot. To cast the spell again, you must start over.
1) Dont use quotes please ... its unreadable. -_- Not sure what is wrong here, but it completely messes up posts. :-/
2) You just described process of longer casting ... What was that supposed to change?
Metamagic still says "when you cast" ... wich is still defined as point when cast-ING is done ... And when it is done, you no longer cast ... So its still not aplicable multiple times.
Ergo, that quote dont really change a thing. :-/ So ... im not really sure what was its point in the first place.
You are very clearly casting the spell the whole time, whereas that is less clear for taking the attack action, if it is even true at all. You can tell this from the phrase "While you cast a spell..." There is no "while" if it is a single instant.
You are "cast-ing" the whole time ... and that whole process, no matter how long ... is a single cast ... Metamagic say that when you cast ... aka preform whole cast-ing ... you may do *xy* ... If intentions of devs would be that you can add metamagic for each 6s of cast-ing they would say something like "whenever you spend your action to continue casting you may add Metamagic" ... wich they didnt, ergo you cant.
Simmilarly, just so we dont forget what is this topic about ...
You are attack-ing several times ... and that whole process, no matter how many times you attack ... is your attack action ... Psychic Blade states that whenever you take an attack action ... aka preform any part of said action ... you may do *xy* ... If intentions of devs would be that you can use Psychic Blades only once per turn, it would say something like "each blade can be only manifested once per turn" ... just like they did with Sneak Attack, extra damage for basicaly all Ranger subclasses, and i dunno like bzillion other things ... wich they didnt.
You are "cast-ing" the whole time ... and that whole process, no matter how long ... is a single cast ... Metamagic say that when you cast ... aka preform whole cast-ing ... you may do *xy* ... If intentions of devs would be that you can add metamagic for each 6s of cast-ing they would say something like "whenever you spend your action to continue casting you may add Metamagic" ... wich they didnt, ergo you cant.
Simmilarly, just so we dont forget what is this topic about ...
You are attack-ing several times ... and that whole process, no matter how many times you attack ... is your attack action ... Psychic Blade states that whenever you take an attack action ... aka preform any part of said action ... you may do *xy* ... If intentions of devs would be that you can use Psychic Blades only once per turn, it would say something like "each blade can be only manifested once per turn" ... just like they did with Sneak Attack, extra damage for basicaly all Ranger subclasses, and i dunno like bzillion other things ... wich they didnt.
When you take the attack action, you take it only once. If the devs would've wrote whenever you attack as part of the attack action if they meant that. Your proposal that they should've said "each blade can be only manifested once per turn" doesn't work, as you can use your Psychic Blades more than once per turn via the bonus action attack.
When you take the attack action, you take it only once.
Yes ... And it sustains from as many attacks as your multiclass provies ... each of those attacks is part of Attack Action ... whenever (see the difference? when > once ... whenever > multiple times) you do Attack Action, you can manifest your Psychic Blade.
We are runing in circles, i cant say it any simplier. And i think im done trying ... if you refuse to see it, that is your problem not mine.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
He is probably thinking of the combination of using a Light Weapons, the Nick weapon mastery, extra attack, and the Dual-Wielder feat. If you have two light weapons, with one having the Nick weapon mastery (common pairing is Shortsword and Scimitar) you can make four attacks on a turn. Your attack sequence looks like this:
First Attack->Nick Attack->Extra Attack->Bonus Action Attack (After the first attack, the other attacks can be in any order)
The only benefits to using a Soul Knife's Psychic Blades is that they deal psychic damage instead of piercing, and you automatically get to add your ability modifier to the offhand attack (don't need the two-weapon fighting style).
I think people are overthinking this particular issue.
In Tasha's, it states "The blade vanishes immediately after it hits or misses its target, and it leaves no mark on its target if it deals damage."
This statement makes it clear that the knife does vanish after a single attack. You can't use it the same knife for a second attack.
But, the very next sentence states: "After you attack with the blade, you can make a melee or ranged weapon attack with a second psychic blade as a bonus action on the same turn."
If you can summon a second blade for a bonus action, why can't you summon a second blade for a second attack with the attack action?
RAW, I don't think there is a clear answer to this question, because, as other people notes, the rule makers didn't take into account multiclassing. But, I think the wording for summoning a second blade for the bonus action, indicates RAI, that a second blade can be summoned for a second strike with the attack action.
Why not? You manifest the blade before the first attack, what’s keeping you from manifesting another during the attack action? The manifestation is part of the attack.
Attack, extra attack, soul knife bonus action, light weapon nick.
Because that is not what the ability tells you to do. It is when you take the attack action, not whenever you attack as part of the attack action.
That's a non sequitur. Being able to attack twice doesn't affect the ability at all. It still says "When you take the attack action..."
Quite sure i have seen it written somewhere, that Nick is supposed to only free your Bonus Action for other things, but not for yet another BA attack.
So this dont really seems valid. :-/
Not necessarily ...
Two arguments:
1) Specific beats the general!
Extra Attack is defined as:
"Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn."
Ergo making an extra attack is part of taking Attack Action ...
And since both features clearly states "whenever you do..." they should work same way.
And Psychic Blade never states that primary blade can be only used once per round, with first strike, or anything like it ...
What is not forbidden, is allowed. ;)
2) There are other examples that work in simmilar way:
Say that the blade vanish after the swing, or throw ... means that it only exist when its used, but for whole rest of all eternity, you have free hands to do anything else!
It is the same thing as when you are holding Two-Handed weapon ... you do have free hand all the time, except for EXACTLY THAT MOMENT when you strike, that is when you need to hold your weapon by both hands.
Exactly.
That dont feels right ...
If you are holding Nick Weapon, you dont have free hand to form a Soul Knife ... if you dont, you cant make an attack with it. O_o
Maybe in different order?
Throwing Steel Dagger > Offhand Steel Dagger > Psychic Blade > Offhand Psychic Blade?
You are still screwed in meele tho ... unles you throw away perfectly fine dagger, just bcs you allready stabbed with it. :D
That's admittedly a weird order, but you can just do the nick attack before the psychic blade attack.
Your major misunderstanding is you seem to think "whenever you do..." refers to attacking, while it actually refers to taking the attack action, which you do only once.
Is this a case of Specific overides General?
"Whenever you take the Attack action, you can manifest a psychic blade from your free hand and make the attack with that blade."
So General rule - When you take the attack acttion make THE ATTACK with the psychic blade.
Possible Specific Rule - Extra attack, when you take the attacxk action you make two attacks instead of one.
Soooo - does that pan that the specific extra attack trumps the 1 attack so you make all attacks with the PB?
Life's hard - get a helmet!
You might have an argument if it didn't say that the blade vanishes after the attack. With that, or you just making the second attack with air?
I wish it only vanished when thrown, instantly reappearing in your hand after a hit or miss. it would fit the picture better, it is easier to understand its just a weapon that works like all other weapons, you don't need workaround rules for attacks of opportunity etc. They should have based it more on pact of the blade instead of creating something new that works weird and kind of sucks due to its quirks.
"Whenever you do" means "at any point during activity" ...
Taking an Attack Action is activity you do ... that activity may have several parts, that may split it into several parts ... but its still the same activity.
Extra Attack is part of Attack Action ... as said like thousand times by now. :D
I dont know how else to say it. :-/
Its like ... hells i really dont know. :D
Fliping a pancake ...
You have to flick your pan, move a bit to the front, catch front side of pancake, move that pan a bit higher, let rest of the pancake rest on your pan > that whole process is "fliping a pancake".
When you are "taking the attack action"
You swing/thrust your weapon ... and that is Attack Action.
If you have Extra Attack feature ...
You swing/thrust your weapon ... and then you swing/thrust that weapon again ... AND THAT WHOLE PROCESS IS ATTACK ACTION!
Attack Action sustains from all individual attacks you do with your action for heavens, hells, and all between's sake. -_-
That is why its called "attack action" and not just "attack".
"Attack" is what you do only once ... that is that single swing/thrust ... its allready defined, and all and every thing in this game that are tied to exactly that single strike, says "when you do an attack" never "when you do attack action". -_-
That was allready answered aswell ...
You manifest your blade right before you strike ... and loose it right after.
Just like you grip your Halbeard/Glave/Greathammer/Greatsword/and like hundert other 2h weapons ... right before you strike, and loose it right after.
There is nothing deeper in that.
//Edit:
Just for my curiosity ...
Why do you mind so much? o_O
Do you feel like 1d6+Dex extra damage is too much for Rogue?
Like they are too OP allready? xD
Or do you hate it when character have clearly defined style and holds onto it, rather than mixing it with entirely different themes just to work as any other multiclass? :D
Or why exactly do you insist on this interpretation so vehemently?
Your assertion that "'Whenever you do' means 'at any point during activity'" is ridiculous and leads to absurd conclusions. One example I was able to find is the extended spell metamagic. It says, "When you cast a spell that has a duration of 1 minute or longer, you can spend 1 Sorcery Point to double its duration to a maximum duration of 24 hours." Does that mean if you cast a spell you can use this metamagic several times? The rules for metamagic would allow it: "You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it unless otherwise noted in one of those options.", as extended spell is "only one Metamagic option".
It seems like I get asked a lot about why I participate in rules debates, with people saying that it wouldn't be broken, so I shouldn't care. I have already noted in this thread that this is trying to take advantage of a multiclass build. I also just enjoy debates.
2 things:
1) Dont use quotes please ... its unreadable. -_-
Not sure what is wrong here, but it completely messes up posts. :-/
2) You just described process of longer casting ...
What was that supposed to change?
Metamagic still says "when you cast" ... wich is still defined as point when cast-ING is done ...
And when it is done, you no longer cast ...
So its still not aplicable multiple times.
Ergo, that quote dont really change a thing. :-/
So ... im not really sure what was its point in the first place.
You are very clearly casting the spell the whole time, whereas that is less clear for taking the attack action, if it is even true at all. You can tell this from the phrase "While you cast a spell..." There is no "while" if it is a single instant.
Yes ...
You are "cast-ing" the whole time ... and that whole process, no matter how long ... is a single cast ...
Metamagic say that when you cast ... aka preform whole cast-ing ... you may do *xy* ...
If intentions of devs would be that you can add metamagic for each 6s of cast-ing they would say something like "whenever you spend your action to continue casting you may add Metamagic" ... wich they didnt, ergo you cant.
Simmilarly, just so we dont forget what is this topic about ...
You are attack-ing several times ... and that whole process, no matter how many times you attack ... is your attack action ...
Psychic Blade states that whenever you take an attack action ... aka preform any part of said action ... you may do *xy* ...
If intentions of devs would be that you can use Psychic Blades only once per turn, it would say something like "each blade can be only manifested once per turn" ... just like they did with Sneak Attack, extra damage for basicaly all Ranger subclasses, and i dunno like bzillion other things ... wich they didnt.
When you take the attack action, you take it only once. If the devs would've wrote whenever you attack as part of the attack action if they meant that. Your proposal that they should've said "each blade can be only manifested once per turn" doesn't work, as you can use your Psychic Blades more than once per turn via the bonus action attack.
And it sustains from as many attacks as your multiclass provies ... each of those attacks is part of Attack Action ... whenever (see the difference? when > once ... whenever > multiple times) you do Attack Action, you can manifest your Psychic Blade.
We are runing in circles, i cant say it any simplier.
And i think im done trying ... if you refuse to see it, that is your problem not mine.