I found two definition of whenever on dictionary.com:
"when? (used emphatically):" and "at whatever time; at any time when:"
and this definition of when: "at the time or in the event that:"
This means that rules are vague, as my interpretation makes sense by the first definition, and yours by the second.
I have, however managed to find an example that uses whenever.
Whenever you cast a Wizard spell from the Evocation school, you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of that spell.
What, according to you, is preventing the wizard from adding their int modifier repeatedly?
"To one damage roll of that spell" "One damage roll" meaning a single time added, "of that spell" meaning of that single cast spell, not any others spells". The difference is that this Wizard feature clearly states the limits in black and white. There is no room for misunderstandings or misgivings. Spells do not roll damage multiple times and spells are cast only a single time. Multiattack allows mutiple attacks during a single action. In 2024, the rules state clearly that only a single "sloted" spell may be cast during a turn.
What would be the benefit of using this metamagic twice. The 24 hours does not stack. Bad example.
"When you cast a spell that has a duration of 1 minute or longer, you can spend 1 Sorcery Point to double its duration to a maximum duration of 24 hours."
Say you cast a spell with a 1 minute duration. 2 * 1 minute < 24 hours.
I found two definition of whenever on dictionary.com:
"when? (used emphatically):" and "at whatever time; at any time when:"
and this definition of when: "at the time or in the event that:"
This means that rules are vague, as my interpretation makes sense by the first definition, and yours by the second.
I have, however managed to find an example that uses whenever.
Whenever you cast a Wizard spell from the Evocation school, you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of that spell.
What, according to you, is preventing the wizard from adding their int modifier repeatedly?
"To one damage roll of that spell" "One damage roll" meaning a single time added, "of that spell" meaning of that single cast spell, not any others spells". The difference is that this Wizard feature clearly states the limits in black and white. There is no room for misunderstandings or misgivings. Spells do not roll damage multiple times and spells are cast only a single time. Multiattack allows mutiple attacks during a single action. In 2024, the rules state clearly that only a single "sloted" spell may be cast during a turn.
According to the person I was responding to, whenever means at any time during that action. Therefore, while you are casting the spell you can use this feature arbitrarily many times. This means you can add your intelligence modifier to that one roll arbitrarily many times.
I found two definition of whenever on dictionary.com:
"when? (used emphatically):" and "at whatever time; at any time when:"
and this definition of when: "at the time or in the event that:"
This means that rules are vague, as my interpretation makes sense by the first definition, and yours by the second.
I have, however managed to find an example that uses whenever.
Whenever you cast a Wizard spell from the Evocation school, you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of that spell.
What, according to you, is preventing the wizard from adding their int modifier repeatedly?
"To one damage roll of that spell" "One damage roll" meaning a single time added, "of that spell" meaning of that single cast spell, not any others spells". The difference is that this Wizard feature clearly states the limits in black and white. There is no room for misunderstandings or misgivings. Spells do not roll damage multiple times and spells are cast only a single time. Multiattack allows mutiple attacks during a single action. In 2024, the rules state clearly that only a single "sloted" spell may be cast during a turn.
According to the person I was responding to, whenever means at any time during that action. Therefore, while you are casting the spell you can use this feature arbitrarily many times. This means you can add your intelligence modifier to that one roll arbitrarily many times.
Incorrect, there is no rule, example, mechanic, or anything else in the entirety of DND that allows one to add or include a single ability modifire more than one time. That person is just arguing for funsies now.
I found two definition of whenever on dictionary.com:
"when? (used emphatically):" and "at whatever time; at any time when:"
and this definition of when: "at the time or in the event that:"
This means that rules are vague, as my interpretation makes sense by the first definition, and yours by the second.
I have, however managed to find an example that uses whenever.
Whenever you cast a Wizard spell from the Evocation school, you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of that spell.
What, according to you, is preventing the wizard from adding their int modifier repeatedly?
"To one damage roll of that spell" "One damage roll" meaning a single time added, "of that spell" meaning of that single cast spell, not any others spells". The difference is that this Wizard feature clearly states the limits in black and white. There is no room for misunderstandings or misgivings. Spells do not roll damage multiple times and spells are cast only a single time. Multiattack allows mutiple attacks during a single action. In 2024, the rules state clearly that only a single "sloted" spell may be cast during a turn.
According to the person I was responding to, whenever means at any time during that action. Therefore, while you are casting the spell you can use this feature arbitrarily many times. This means you can add your intelligence modifier to that one roll arbitrarily many times.
Incorrect, there is no rule, example, mechanic, or anything else in the entirety of DND that allows one to add or include a single ability modifire more than one time. That person is just arguing for funsies now.
That is quite the unprovable statement. In fact, a scenario where you can do this that is discussed in this thread is if you take agonizing blast with true strike, you add your ability modifier twice. Also, you can add your intelligence modifier to true strike twice if you are an evocation wizard
I found two definition of whenever on dictionary.com:
"when? (used emphatically):" and "at whatever time; at any time when:"
and this definition of when: "at the time or in the event that:"
This means that rules are vague, as my interpretation makes sense by the first definition, and yours by the second.
I have, however managed to find an example that uses whenever.
Whenever you cast a Wizard spell from the Evocation school, you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of that spell.
What, according to you, is preventing the wizard from adding their int modifier repeatedly?
"To one damage roll of that spell" "One damage roll" meaning a single time added, "of that spell" meaning of that single cast spell, not any others spells". The difference is that this Wizard feature clearly states the limits in black and white. There is no room for misunderstandings or misgivings. Spells do not roll damage multiple times and spells are cast only a single time. Multiattack allows mutiple attacks during a single action. In 2024, the rules state clearly that only a single "sloted" spell may be cast during a turn.
According to the person I was responding to, whenever means at any time during that action. Therefore, while you are casting the spell you can use this feature arbitrarily many times. This means you can add your intelligence modifier to that one roll arbitrarily many times.
Incorrect, there is no rule, example, mechanic, or anything else in the entirety of DND that allows one to add or include a single ability modifire more than one time. That person is just arguing for funsies now.
That is quite the unprovable statement. In fact, a scenario where you can do this that is discussed in this thread is if you take agonizing blast with true strike, you add your ability modifier twice. Also, you can add your intelligence modifier to true strike twice if you are an evocation wizard
You are, once again, incorrect. Ability modifiers to either attack or damage are only applied once. Never twice. Agonizing blast does not stack with true strike at all.
Incorrect, there is no rule, example, mechanic, or anything else in the entirety of DND that allows one to add or include a single ability modifire more than one time. That person is just arguing for funsies now.
That is quite the unprovable statement. In fact, a scenario where you can do this that is discussed in this thread is if you take agonizing blast with true strike, you add your ability modifier twice. Also, you can add your intelligence modifier to true strike twice if you are an evocation wizard
You are, once again, incorrect. Ability modifiers to either attack or damage are only applied once. Never twice. Agonizing blast does not stack with true strike at all.
Well, there is this thread that was linked to in the thread I linked to that contains numerous people who disagree with you, as well as a sage advice disproves you.
Let me list all the ways you can add an ability modifier to a roll twice that I know of currently:
Agonizing blast + true strike (debatable)
radiant soul + agonizing blast
devotion paladin sacred weapon + pact of blade/true strike
Even without these, in order to prove this statement: "Ability modifiers to either attack or damage are only applied once. Never twice.", you would need to check every ability and feature in the game and every combination thereof to make sure there is no way to do this. Alternatively, if you could present a rule that tells us this, that would also work.
Incorrect, there is no rule, example, mechanic, or anything else in the entirety of DND that allows one to add or include a single ability modifire more than one time. That person is just arguing for funsies now.
That is quite the unprovable statement. In fact, a scenario where you can do this that is discussed in this thread is if you take agonizing blast with true strike, you add your ability modifier twice. Also, you can add your intelligence modifier to true strike twice if you are an evocation wizard
You are, once again, incorrect. Ability modifiers to either attack or damage are only applied once. Never twice. Agonizing blast does not stack with true strike at all.
Well, there is this thread that was linked to in the thread I linked to that contains numerous people who disagree with you, as well as a sage advice disproves you.
Let me list all the ways you can add an ability modifier to a roll twice that I know of currently:
Agonizing blast + true strike (debatable)
radiant soul + agonizing blast
devotion paladin sacred weapon + pact of blade/true strike
Even without these, in order to prove this statement: "Ability modifiers to either attack or damage are only applied once. Never twice.", you would need to check every ability and feature in the game and every combination thereof to make sure there is no way to do this. Alternatively, if you could present a rule that tells us this, that would also work.
I could say the same to you. Give me the rule that states you can add the same ability modifier multiple times to anything. Please tell me which sage advice gives this statement. I feel you’re just arguing for the sake of arguing by deviating from the topic at hand.
Incorrect, there is no rule, example, mechanic, or anything else in the entirety of DND that allows one to add or include a single ability modifire more than one time. That person is just arguing for funsies now.
That is quite the unprovable statement. In fact, a scenario where you can do this that is discussed in this thread is if you take agonizing blast with true strike, you add your ability modifier twice. Also, you can add your intelligence modifier to true strike twice if you are an evocation wizard
You are, once again, incorrect. Ability modifiers to either attack or damage are only applied once. Never twice. Agonizing blast does not stack with true strike at all.
Well, there is this thread that was linked to in the thread I linked to that contains numerous people who disagree with you, as well as a sage advice disproves you.
Let me list all the ways you can add an ability modifier to a roll twice that I know of currently:
Agonizing blast + true strike (debatable)
radiant soul + agonizing blast
devotion paladin sacred weapon + pact of blade/true strike
Even without these, in order to prove this statement: "Ability modifiers to either attack or damage are only applied once. Never twice.", you would need to check every ability and feature in the game and every combination thereof to make sure there is no way to do this. Alternatively, if you could present a rule that tells us this, that would also work.
I could say the same to you. Give me the rule that states you can add the same ability modifier multiple times to anything. Please tell me which sage advice gives this statement. I feel you’re just arguing for the sake of arguing by deviating from the topic at hand.
You don't need a rule that tells you to follow the rules. If an ability tells you to do something you do it. As for the sage advice, (easy to find in the thread I linked) this is it:
@danthebran Does the Arcana Cleric's Potent Spellcasting add +WIS mod damage to the 1st target of Green-Flame Blade, the 2nd, or both? @JeremyECrawford Potent Spellcasting adds to dmg. dealt by a cantrip. GFB: add to 2nd target, then to both targets at 5th lvl.
This clearly shows that it is possible to add your ability modifier to something twice.
Incorrect, there is no rule, example, mechanic, or anything else in the entirety of DND that allows one to add or include a single ability modifire more than one time. That person is just arguing for funsies now.
That is quite the unprovable statement. In fact, a scenario where you can do this that is discussed in this thread is if you take agonizing blast with true strike, you add your ability modifier twice. Also, you can add your intelligence modifier to true strike twice if you are an evocation wizard
You are, once again, incorrect. Ability modifiers to either attack or damage are only applied once. Never twice. Agonizing blast does not stack with true strike at all.
Well, there is this thread that was linked to in the thread I linked to that contains numerous people who disagree with you, as well as a sage advice disproves you.
Let me list all the ways you can add an ability modifier to a roll twice that I know of currently:
Agonizing blast + true strike (debatable)
radiant soul + agonizing blast
devotion paladin sacred weapon + pact of blade/true strike
Even without these, in order to prove this statement: "Ability modifiers to either attack or damage are only applied once. Never twice.", you would need to check every ability and feature in the game and every combination thereof to make sure there is no way to do this. Alternatively, if you could present a rule that tells us this, that would also work.
I could say the same to you. Give me the rule that states you can add the same ability modifier multiple times to anything. Please tell me which sage advice gives this statement. I feel you’re just arguing for the sake of arguing by deviating from the topic at hand.
You don't need a rule that tells you to follow the rules. If an ability tells you to do something you do it. As for the sage advice, (easy to find in the thread I linked) this is it:
@danthebran Does the Arcana Cleric's Potent Spellcasting add +WIS mod damage to the 1st target of Green-Flame Blade, the 2nd, or both? @JeremyECrawford Potent Spellcasting adds to dmg. dealt by a cantrip. GFB: add to 2nd target, then to both targets at 5th lvl.
This clearly shows that it is possible to add your ability modifier to something twice.
Nope, he’s just stating what the rules are. Notice he didn’t say “stack the modifier twice”. So, add Wis to first target since the second target is already taking modifier damage. This isn’t really that hard. Additionally, why would stacking modifiers twice (according to you) disprove the psychic blade working with multi attack? How quickly you ask for rules but back pedal when you are asked for rules as well.
Let me list all the ways you can add an ability modifier to a roll twice that I know of currently:
Agonizing blast + true strike (debatable)
radiant soul + agonizing blast
devotion paladin sacred weapon + pact of blade/true strike
Even without these, in order to prove this statement: "Ability modifiers to either attack or damage are only applied once. Never twice.", you would need to check every ability and feature in the game and every combination thereof to make sure there is no way to do this. Alternatively, if you could present a rule that tells us this, that would also work.
I could say the same to you. Give me the rule that states you can add the same ability modifier multiple times to anything. Please tell me which sage advice gives this statement. I feel you’re just arguing for the sake of arguing by deviating from the topic at hand.
You don't need a rule that tells you to follow the rules. If an ability tells you to do something you do it. As for the sage advice, (easy to find in the thread I linked) this is it:
@danthebran Does the Arcana Cleric's Potent Spellcasting add +WIS mod damage to the 1st target of Green-Flame Blade, the 2nd, or both? @JeremyECrawford Potent Spellcasting adds to dmg. dealt by a cantrip. GFB: add to 2nd target, then to both targets at 5th lvl.
This clearly shows that it is possible to add your ability modifier to something twice.
Nope, he’s just stating what the rules are. Notice he didn’t say “stack the modifier twice”. So, add Wis to first target since the second target is already taking modifier damage. This isn’t really that hard. Additionally, why would stacking modifiers twice (according to you) disprove the psychic blade working with multi attack? How quickly you ask for rules but back pedal when you are asked for rules as well.
It is quite strange that all of the proofs I provide end up half read. "Potent Spellcasting adds to dmg. dealt by a cantrip. GFB: add to 2nd target, then to both targets at 5th lvl."
Also, you seem to have forgotten why you brought up the idea that you can't add an ability modifier to a roll twice. I quoted the post higher up in this thread for your convenience.
I found two definition of whenever on dictionary.com:
"when? (used emphatically):" and "at whatever time; at any time when:"
and this definition of when: "at the time or in the event that:"
This means that rules are vague, as my interpretation makes sense by the first definition, and yours by the second.
I have, however managed to find an example that uses whenever.
Whenever you cast a Wizard spell from the Evocation school, you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of that spell.
What, according to you, is preventing the wizard from adding their int modifier repeatedly?
"To one damage roll of that spell" "One damage roll" meaning a single time added, "of that spell" meaning of that single cast spell, not any others spells". The difference is that this Wizard feature clearly states the limits in black and white. There is no room for misunderstandings or misgivings. Spells do not roll damage multiple times and spells are cast only a single time. Multiattack allows mutiple attacks during a single action. In 2024, the rules state clearly that only a single "sloted" spell may be cast during a turn.
According to the person I was responding to, whenever means at any time during that action. Therefore, while you are casting the spell you can use this feature arbitrarily many times. This means you can add your intelligence modifier to that one roll arbitrarily many times.
Incorrect, there is no rule, example, mechanic, or anything else in the entirety of DND that allows one to add or include a single ability modifire more than one time. That person is just arguing for funsies now.
Let me list all the ways you can add an ability modifier to a roll twice that I know of currently:
Agonizing blast + true strike (debatable)
radiant soul + agonizing blast
devotion paladin sacred weapon + pact of blade/true strike
Even without these, in order to prove this statement: "Ability modifiers to either attack or damage are only applied once. Never twice.", you would need to check every ability and feature in the game and every combination thereof to make sure there is no way to do this. Alternatively, if you could present a rule that tells us this, that would also work.
I could say the same to you. Give me the rule that states you can add the same ability modifier multiple times to anything. Please tell me which sage advice gives this statement. I feel you’re just arguing for the sake of arguing by deviating from the topic at hand.
You don't need a rule that tells you to follow the rules. If an ability tells you to do something you do it. As for the sage advice, (easy to find in the thread I linked) this is it:
@danthebran Does the Arcana Cleric's Potent Spellcasting add +WIS mod damage to the 1st target of Green-Flame Blade, the 2nd, or both? @JeremyECrawford Potent Spellcasting adds to dmg. dealt by a cantrip. GFB: add to 2nd target, then to both targets at 5th lvl.
This clearly shows that it is possible to add your ability modifier to something twice.
Nope, he’s just stating what the rules are. Notice he didn’t say “stack the modifier twice”. So, add Wis to first target since the second target is already taking modifier damage. This isn’t really that hard. Additionally, why would stacking modifiers twice (according to you) disprove the psychic blade working with multi attack? How quickly you ask for rules but back pedal when you are asked for rules as well.
It is quite strange that all of the proofs I provide end up half read. "Potent Spellcasting adds to dmg. dealt by a cantrip. GFB: add to 2nd target, then to both targets at 5th lvl."
Also, you seem to have forgotten why you brought up the idea that you can't add an ability modifier to a roll twice. I quoted the post higher up in this thread for your convenience.
I found two definition of whenever on dictionary.com:
"when? (used emphatically):" and "at whatever time; at any time when:"
and this definition of when: "at the time or in the event that:"
This means that rules are vague, as my interpretation makes sense by the first definition, and yours by the second.
I have, however managed to find an example that uses whenever.
Whenever you cast a Wizard spell from the Evocation school, you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of that spell.
What, according to you, is preventing the wizard from adding their int modifier repeatedly?
"To one damage roll of that spell" "One damage roll" meaning a single time added, "of that spell" meaning of that single cast spell, not any others spells". The difference is that this Wizard feature clearly states the limits in black and white. There is no room for misunderstandings or misgivings. Spells do not roll damage multiple times and spells are cast only a single time. Multiattack allows mutiple attacks during a single action. In 2024, the rules state clearly that only a single "sloted" spell may be cast during a turn.
According to the person I was responding to, whenever means at any time during that action. Therefore, while you are casting the spell you can use this feature arbitrarily many times. This means you can add your intelligence modifier to that one roll arbitrarily many times.
Incorrect, there is no rule, example, mechanic, or anything else in the entirety of DND that allows one to add or include a single ability modifire more than one time. That person is just arguing for funsies now.
Read the spell. You're still deviating from the original topic.
Read the spell. You're still deviating from the original topic.
"On a hit, the target suffers the weapon attack’s normal effects..."
And...modifires don't stack my dude or dudette. 5e 101. If you want to power game, go for it but modifires do not stack. Just like Barbarian and Monk unarmored defences do not stack. Modifires do not stack. Soulknife Psychic blade and extra attack are not modifires thus, they work off of each other.
Read the spell. You're still deviating from the original topic.
"On a hit, the target suffers the weapon attack’s normal effects..."
And...modifires don't stack my dude or dudette. 5e 101. If you want to power game, go for it but modifires do not stack. Just like Barbarian and Monk unarmored defences do not stack. Modifires do not stack. Soulknife Psychic blade and extra attack are not modifires thus, they work off of each other.
So you have found a rule that says you add your ability modifier to a weapon's damage rule.
Even if that means you can't add any other modifiers to the roll, that only accounts for damage rolls and not attack rolls.
Even if that means you can't add any other modifiers to the roll, it is the same modifier.
It doesn't mean that, it just tells you to add your ability modifier to the roll.
There are many examples of rules saying modifiers in plural, and there is even one under the same subheading.
A damage roll is a die roll, adjusted by any applicable modifiers, that deals damage to a target. See also “Playing the Game” (“Damage and Healing”).
Each weapon, spell, and damaging monster ability specifies the damage it deals. You roll the damage dice, add any modifiers, and deal the damage to your target. If there’s a penalty to the damage, it’s possible to deal 0 damage but not negative damage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I found two definition of whenever on dictionary.com:
"when? (used emphatically):" and "at whatever time; at any time when:"
and this definition of when: "at the time or in the event that:"
This means that rules are vague, as my interpretation makes sense by the first definition, and yours by the second.
I have, however managed to find an example that uses whenever.
What, according to you, is preventing the wizard from adding their int modifier repeatedly?
"To one damage roll of that spell" "One damage roll" meaning a single time added, "of that spell" meaning of that single cast spell, not any others spells". The difference is that this Wizard feature clearly states the limits in black and white. There is no room for misunderstandings or misgivings. Spells do not roll damage multiple times and spells are cast only a single time. Multiattack allows mutiple attacks during a single action. In 2024, the rules state clearly that only a single "sloted" spell may be cast during a turn.
What would be the benefit of using this metamagic twice. The 24 hours does not stack. Bad example.
"When you cast a spell that has a duration of 1 minute or longer, you can spend 1 Sorcery Point to double its duration to a maximum duration of 24 hours."
Say you cast a spell with a 1 minute duration. 2 * 1 minute < 24 hours.
According to the person I was responding to, whenever means at any time during that action. Therefore, while you are casting the spell you can use this feature arbitrarily many times. This means you can add your intelligence modifier to that one roll arbitrarily many times.
Incorrect, there is no rule, example, mechanic, or anything else in the entirety of DND that allows one to add or include a single ability modifire more than one time. That person is just arguing for funsies now.
That is quite the unprovable statement. In fact, a scenario where you can do this that is discussed in this thread is if you take agonizing blast with true strike, you add your ability modifier twice. Also, you can add your intelligence modifier to true strike twice if you are an evocation wizard
You are, once again, incorrect. Ability modifiers to either attack or damage are only applied once. Never twice. Agonizing blast does not stack with true strike at all.
Well, there is this thread that was linked to in the thread I linked to that contains numerous people who disagree with you, as well as a sage advice disproves you.
Let me list all the ways you can add an ability modifier to a roll twice that I know of currently:
Even without these, in order to prove this statement: "Ability modifiers to either attack or damage are only applied once. Never twice.", you would need to check every ability and feature in the game and every combination thereof to make sure there is no way to do this. Alternatively, if you could present a rule that tells us this, that would also work.
I could say the same to you. Give me the rule that states you can add the same ability modifier multiple times to anything. Please tell me which sage advice gives this statement. I feel you’re just arguing for the sake of arguing by deviating from the topic at hand.
You don't need a rule that tells you to follow the rules. If an ability tells you to do something you do it. As for the sage advice, (easy to find in the thread I linked) this is it:
This clearly shows that it is possible to add your ability modifier to something twice.
Nope, he’s just stating what the rules are. Notice he didn’t say “stack the modifier twice”. So, add Wis to first target since the second target is already taking modifier damage. This isn’t really that hard. Additionally, why would stacking modifiers twice (according to you) disprove the psychic blade working with multi attack? How quickly you ask for rules but back pedal when you are asked for rules as well.
It is quite strange that all of the proofs I provide end up half read. "Potent Spellcasting adds to dmg. dealt by a cantrip. GFB: add to 2nd target, then to both targets at 5th lvl."
Also, you seem to have forgotten why you brought up the idea that you can't add an ability modifier to a roll twice. I quoted the post higher up in this thread for your convenience.
Read the spell. You're still deviating from the original topic.
"On a hit, the target suffers the weapon attack’s normal effects..."
And...modifires don't stack my dude or dudette. 5e 101. If you want to power game, go for it but modifires do not stack. Just like Barbarian and Monk unarmored defences do not stack. Modifires do not stack. Soulknife Psychic blade and extra attack are not modifires thus, they work off of each other.
Do you have any source for that claim whatsoever?
So you have found a rule that says you add your ability modifier to a weapon's damage rule.